Not sure on what is happening

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Will S, Sep 1, 2019.

  1. Will S

    Will S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,022
    Location:
    Coniston (Wollongong)
    32GB DDR4 G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZB Trident Z (4x8G) 3200Mhz RAM

    XMP profile shows as DDR 3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V

    and shows as 2133MHz in BIOS and only 1066 in CPU-Z ....well it did until after I started this and now it is showing correctly as 1600.2 ( when doubled will be 3200 as it should be )...I looked in the bios and changed it back and then changed it again and when I saved and exited the PC basically did nothing.....no codes on the motherboard changed and the screen was a blank so I turned off the power and started it again

    Motherboard is an Aorus X570 Master with latest BIOS
     
  2. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,004
    Note down all your current bios settings (I sometimes just take photos)

    Reset to bios defaults.
    Work up from there.

    Could have just failed to boot and fallen back on defaults without you noticing.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Will S

    Will S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,022
    Location:
    Coniston (Wollongong)
    Well I am learning fast, I changed it in the easy BIOS and that failed but when I turned it off and on in the advance BIOS it worked

    Also noticed that it was using Precision Boost Overdrive which has my temperatures going up and down like a yoyo ...anything from 34 to 54 when just typing..........turned that off and it was then running at 800Mhz......ended up resetting all to optimise, then enable XMP and the turned off overboost and now its working

    I siad p[reviously I would never get another Gigabyte motherboard and I made the mistake of going back on that :-(
     
  4. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,004
    Always use the advanced bios.
    I had a gigabyte. Decent enough board for the most part. Nothing's perfect though.

    Now you're almost ready to have a shitload of fun BSODing while trying to clock your RAM up.

    I managed 3800 on Corsair LPX 3200 (Hynix with same timings as yours) with an Intel.

    Make a backup first.

    Good luck!
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Will S

    Will S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,022
    Location:
    Coniston (Wollongong)
    Going to sit back and wait until I see some nice guides on how to do it safely
     
  6. integralfx

    integralfx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Sydney
  7. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    59,408
    Location:
    brisbane
    cpu-z screens?

    this is my 3200 @ XMPII

    upload_2019-9-4_17-38-59.png

    upload_2019-9-4_17-39-16.png
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Will S

    Will S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,022
    Location:
    Coniston (Wollongong)
    They are working ok now...looks like same memory

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2019
    power likes this.
  9. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,004
  10. OP
    OP
    Will S

    Will S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,022
    Location:
    Coniston (Wollongong)
  11. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,004
    Time to try overclocking mate.
    Try my memory timings 18,20,20,38 and everything else on auto.

    Bump it up 3300, 3400, 3600 etc until it doesn't get to the bios and then back it off 1-2 notches.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Will S

    Will S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,022
    Location:
    Coniston (Wollongong)
    nah, am happy with what its doing at the moment and until more stability in the X570 series will just sit back and enjoy
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: