Note 4 rebooting intermittently

Discussion in 'Google Android (OS & Devices)' started by jackdaw, Dec 17, 2017.

  1. jackdaw

    jackdaw Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Geelong
    Note 4 rooted with Dr Ketans ROM. Connected to Boost. Reboots intermittently - sometimes 5 or 6 times in a row - sometimes 10 times a day. Can happen when charging too. Have seen posts on other forums re Note 4 rebooting/fast battery draining (have used different batteries in this phone with same problem)

    Strangest thing is I've just been in New Zealand for 3 weeks using their Vodafone provider.
    This phone didn't reboot by itself once. Anyone have a logical explanation for this?

    Happy with my Boost plan but might try an Aussie Vodafone sim to see if the problem persists.
     
  2. ChickenSausage

    ChickenSausage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Sounds cactus, have you tried taking the SIM out completely and see if it reboots?

    Also maybe try a full wipe including cache.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2017
  3. OP
    OP
    jackdaw

    jackdaw Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Geelong
    Done a wipe before. Will try sim out to see.
    Strange that it never rebooted at all while I was in NZ with vodafone though:confused:
     
  4. OP
    OP
    jackdaw

    jackdaw Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Geelong
    Had about 15 reboots today - 6 consecutively - pulled the sim about 5 hours ago - no reboots :(
    Could it be a shit sim?
     
  5. ChickenSausage

    ChickenSausage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Yeah sounds like it, or the SIM port is shagged somehow but if it didn't reboot while in NZ it does sound like a bad card.

    Weird issue. :wired:
     
  6. OP
    OP
    jackdaw

    jackdaw Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Geelong
    Ran phone with my wifes "Amaysim" sim in for 24 hrs - no reboots

    Contacted Boost and got a replacement sim. Upon activation, phone rebooted 3 times in the first hour! :rolleyes:

    Think I will swap my prepaid plan to Amaysim.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    jackdaw

    jackdaw Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Geelong
    Can report after using an Amaysim sim for a week now, not a single reboot. Stuffed if I know why boost/telstra sim caused me all the rebooting grief!
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: