Nvidia 3-Way SLI Released | Benchmarks | Reviews | Discussion

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Dec 13, 2007.

  1. DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    NVIDIA have unveiled their 3-Way SLI technology. NVIDIA’s new 3-way SLI delivers up to a 2.8x performance increase over a single GPU system, giving high-end gamers 60 frames per second at resolutions as high as 2560x1600 and with 8x antialiasing. 3-way SLI technology means you no longer have to dial back the image quality settings on the newest PC games. For example, gamers with 3-way SLI can play Crysis at high resolutions such as 1920x1200 with all the advanced DirectX 10 effects such as motion blur, ambient occlusion, and soft shadows turned on.

    Bit-Tech Review: http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/2007/12/13/nvidia_3-way_sli_on_nforce_680i_preview/1
    Guru3D Review: http://www.guru3d.com/article/Videocards/481/
    Hot Hardware Review: http://www.hothardware.com/Articles/NVIDIA_3Way_SLI_Performance_Preview/
    PC Perspective Review: http://www.pcper.com/article.php?type=expert&aid=495


    From VR-Zone:

    Link to the (German) article: http://www.pcgameshardware.de/?article_id=624620
    Link to the picture-galerie: http://www.pcgameshardware.de/?menu=browser&article_id=624620&image_id=747468

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2007
  2. Rabe

    Rabe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,395
    Location:
    Sydney
  3. Sebstar

    Sebstar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,504
    Location:
    Sydney
    holy shit! heat would be a massive problem there!
     
  4. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Imagine trying to to watercool those three babies :D
     
  5. Sebstar

    Sebstar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,504
    Location:
    Sydney
    damn, 37.9 avg (14 min) fps in paradise lost crysis level with 1920x1200, v high and 1xfsaa/1xaf

    single SLI got 27.1 (7)

    single card got 14.8 (4)

    still. who can justify spending 2k +mobo for that setup?
     
  6. Smashwa

    Smashwa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,545
    Location:
    Melbourne

    If it was someone elses on the other hand...

    on that topic, can any1 lend me some money? :p

    If it was guarenteed to last me say 2-3 years. Id be temped. But i mean, they way computers are advancing, give it a year and 1 card will be that powerful. and then why not buy 3 of that card and do the same..... rinse/repeat till you either die/run out of money
     
  7. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    1000W at the plug. OMG :)

    It's a pure brute force thing.
     
  8. dcyloo

    dcyloo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It looks like it could take off. When will it fly me to the moon? :D
     
  9. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Seriously i'd imagine some of the pros that break those high 3dmark benchmarks to be loving this.
     
  10. anthony256

    anthony256 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    10,781
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Did anyone's pants raise when they opened this post?

    :weirdo: :thumbup:
     
  11. FB008

    FB008 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,185
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    nope. since a card 1~2 years later will be able to outperform that, and i don't get hard-ons for hardware :p
     
  12. Warpy

    Warpy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3,947
    Errr.... :tongue:

    Were is the cooling for those animals? They are a little close together :leet:
     
  13. MrSpanky

    MrSpanky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    315
    Watercooling would be the go here.
    Going by those benchies, your looking at 2.5x the performance compared to a single card.
    Fuck it. Im gonna do this with 3x9800GTX next year.
    Heres hoping they use less juice than 8800Ultra cause I dont want to change my PSU.

    :leet: :D :lol: :cool:
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2007
  14. WooKiE_MaN

    WooKiE_MaN Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,013
    Location:
    Craigieburn
    i would consider running that PC in a fridge :thumbup: :rolleyes:

    seriously overkill:wired:
     
  15. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Man if you could get all those three to fold plus a nice quad core folding :D that would be a monster...
     
  16. dcyloo

    dcyloo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Has anyone ever modded a working bar-fridge to house a PC?

    Would there be any risk of a PC's components getting condensation and such?
     
  17. Shinanigans

    Shinanigans Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,833
    Location:
    Central Coast
  18. ChauChauNam

    ChauChauNam (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Sydney CBD
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2007
  19. Critical_Impact

    Critical_Impact Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    967
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It certainly would be especially at the resolutions they are running it.
    You can get Very High running a single gtx if you tweak it a bit.
     
  20. elementalelf

    elementalelf Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,467
    Location:
    Newcastle, warnersbay
    yes and no respectively.
    condensation only occurs when the temp of the vapour is lower then the ambient. if the temp is the same throughout the system, no condensation will occur.
    however fridges dont have the power to keep something like that cooled, so the heatsinks will heat up, causing condensation.

    i did this a while ago hence knowing the results.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: