NVIDIA Announces the GeForce RTX 20 Series | RTX 2080 Ti 2080 2070 | Discussion

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Aug 21, 2018.

  1. Plonkflopped

    Plonkflopped Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Recently got a 2070 Super and just had some questions about it. The power limit in games seems to hover around 80-88%. Does that seem normal ? Also is there any point to raising the core limit on these ?
     
  2. Nethiuz

    Nethiuz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2019
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    QLD
    It's still a heap of shit in comparison! 1080Ti isn't even remotely good enough for VR (Using Index first hand experience here) so the slight improvement 2080Ti makes will still be garbage FPS in VR sims. (I do not play just built for VR games i sim).

    Real benches!

    I need more powah! More Future now!!
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2020
    nope likes this.
  3. Chamelion

    Chamelion Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    11,074
    Location:
    Strathpine, Brisbane.
    ChinoPD likes this.
  4. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,725
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    oy vey gaymings u must get 360hz monitor and 3080ti for 2500aud to get the best gaming experience

    so your citing 2 year old benchmarks? You do realise most games performance improves over time AND you can turn settings DOWN right? Shit post.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2020
    munchkin1 likes this.
  5. chewbacca

    chewbacca Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    926
    Location:
    Sydney
    Bonus points if it is available in time for Cyberpunk 2077
     
    Nethiuz and macktheknife like this.
  6. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,725
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    afterburner
     
  7. Plonkflopped

    Plonkflopped Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Already at max but it still hovers around 88% in all games at 3440x1440
     
    nope likes this.
  8. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,725
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    doesnt sound right at all what temps you getting on that gpu? PSU throttling maybe
     
  9. munchkin1

    munchkin1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,563
    yes. 2080ti shits on 1080ti. Any claims to the contrary are simply ignorant or delusional. Rather than shitposting weekly about how VR and 4K performance isn’t good enough, why not buy one or even two 2080ti’s and at least get significantly closer to this demanded performance level while you wait perpetually for ‘the next generation’

    i know that sounds a bit rude, I’m not intending to be an asshole. But it’s just the blunt truth
     
    nope likes this.
  10. Plonkflopped

    Plonkflopped Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Temps don't go above 65 degrees. PSU is a 4 month old RM750x.


    Click to view full size!
     
  11. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,725
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    definitely something strange mate doesnt it have a 112%+ option? Consider updating your bios for it before you rma
     
  12. Plonkflopped

    Plonkflopped Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It's at 111%. I'll look for a bios.
     
  13. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,725
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    yeah thats odd does it give a power cap reason in gpuz? upload_2020-1-12_17-54-43.png
     
  14. Plonkflopped

    Plonkflopped Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Brisbane
    A few blue lines here and there which is Vrel. I just ran 3dmark and it goes all the way to 110% but in any game it always hovers around 85-88%.


    Click to view full size!


    Updated bios but still the same. I have a friend with the same card and his is the same he reckons after looking at his usage.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2020
  15. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,725
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    So it is the card, if its a non oc bin your pretty sol what u can do is swap it for a OC bin and crank voltage OR hope a custom/factory bios works, just wait until ampere
     
  16. Plonkflopped

    Plonkflopped Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The card goes up to max power in benches. Just strange not in games.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2020
  17. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,725
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    OH right just select max power in nvidiot distard panel upload_2020-1-13_17-23-44.png
     
  18. Plonkflopped

    Plonkflopped Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Already tried that. To be fair though the card is smashing any game I throw at it just the power has thrown me off guard.
     
  19. friction_point

    friction_point Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    N.S.W
    It might be that the game simply isn't maxing out the card.
     
    macktheknife likes this.
  20. Radley

    Radley Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    I'm getting frustrated I don't have my GPU under water, but a new block is $300 for it. Does anyone know if FE blocks fit it? What blocks fit on reference PBC 2070S cards? Might be easier getting one termporarily and selling my 2080.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: