NVIDIA GeForce 900-Series (Maxwell) | 990 980 970 960 950 | Discussion

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Sep 4, 2014.

  1. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    11,740
    Location:
    Canberra

    Very nice. Which card did you use? I'm planning to switch cc to take advantage of international/conversion rate fees since I purchase a fair bit OS.
     
  2. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Ok mate they ran out of stock even though I had placed an order and rang twice to confim BEFORE driving 45 minutes.
    Turn up to CA and, oh sorry we have no stock, we just sold the last 2.

    So I asked about the Strix, oh no we don't have them in stock, they are due next week.
    But the website says you do, and was politely told it was a mistake.

    The girl there was more than helpful pushing the point I had an order, but what can you do if they have no stock.

    So driving 45 minutes (each way) with the family lead me to no Gaming or Strix card, a pissed off wife and a reference Asus GTX980 (though they gave me a deal for the stuff around).
    My first time buying from them in 3 years, and very last time buying from them again.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2014
  3. fleetfeather

    fleetfeather Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Just my ANZ debit card. I don't think you eat any extra fees outside of what Amazon charges per currency conversion

    Although, I really haven't looked all that carefully

    I have a EVGA ACX SC. I shall report how it goes tomorrow. :)
     
  4. anthonyl

    anthonyl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,205
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Was this this evening? Exact same thing happened to me... might pen a nice email to the manager! You got a deal? Wow you did better than I did... I got sweet FA!! Not even a $1:00 discount

    Just wrote a nice little piece on their facebook site.. im not happy! The Asus GTX 980 STRIX version is still showing as IN STOCK.... so beware when ordering!!

    And FFS the guy just had to see how much I have already spent there over the years.. I have myself and 4 boys that I buy PC upgrades for and have spent thousands there... im pissed<<<
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2014
  5. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Mate I was there a 6:30pm.
    I rang once before I left after submitting the order at 4:40pm and once on the road at 6pm, both times I was told they were in stock.
    I remember the guys name because its my name..lol..

    Got the Asus for the same price as a MSI (had none of them when I asked either).

    I actually left with nothing to start with, but talked to the wife (she agreed I could water cool it for my birthday in October), and went back in, the girl served me straight away even though there were others waiting.
    Couldn't fault her service, but the sales staff that kept saying they have the MSI Gaming cards in stock need to be spoken to.

    edit:
    Posted under your comment too..
    Wife will kill me if I missed cancelling the PCCG order, guess if I did there will be a GTX980 for sale next week..lol
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2014
  6. anthonyl

    anthonyl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,205
    Location:
    Brisbane

    You must have walked in just after I walked out...I was in the car at 6:25
     
  7. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Was a LONG trip, 40 minutes turned into 1 1/2 hours, kids were cranky, wife was cranky, when I walked out with nothing wife was looking for the closest shape object :Paranoid:

    But though its not the model I wanted, the reference card runs exactly the same frames as the GTX780ti Matrix, both are giving me the same results at stock speeds. (Just remember the matrix was factory overclocked so when I say stock, I mean factory stock.)

    If the reference cooler was in 3 parts I would of stuck the NZXT G10 on the card, but its 1 part, so no vrm cooling if I did put it on.. :thumbdn:
     
  8. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,392
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Please do.

    :thumbup:
     
  9. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Ok so now I'm stuck with a reference card, got any tips for a first time water cooler.
    Putting it together is no problems, but what easier ordering separate parts or a kit

    Would a Alphacool NexXxoS Cool Answer 360 LT/ST Kit and the GTX980 Block be ok, or would you go completely custom.

    I have a Phantek Enthoo Primo case, so there's plenty of room to water cool.
     
  10. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,392
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    A kit is a good way to start if your a noob, then full custom is the ultimate.

    :thumbup:
     
  11. fleetfeather

    fleetfeather Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Draft your loop, several times. Prototype your build in paint. Check out the schematics for your different parts. Don't rush your shopping list.
     
  12. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    For a noob grabbing a kit just to watercool the GPU does this look ok?

    http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=wish_lists&wlcId=356158&action=wish_lists

    Stupid question this, I have a seasonic 1200w modular power supply, now each of the GPU power cable come with 2 8 pin connecter on a single cable.
    Now that Maxwell uses less power would it be safe to use 1 cable instead of 2 cables.
    Seriously ALL the gpu power cables came with double heads, there isn't a single head cable in the kit.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2014
  13. zehoo

    zehoo Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    632
    Finally got home from work, might have a play around with my 970's :D.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Philll

    Philll (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    10,920
    Location:
    NSW
  15. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
  16. Philll

    Philll (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    10,920
    Location:
    NSW
    It still has an ETA, either meaning a few people cancelled, they got more stock notice, or they're bullshitting ETAs like most other places

    I'm hoping for the 1st or 2nd reason :tired:
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2014
  17. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    The wait is horrible, I thought I scored when I saw the MSI Gaming at CA,
    but alas I was screwed and am now stuck with the reference model.

    Not to say its not a good card, I'm getting a 1250Mhz base clock overclock on it.
    It's just that you have to crank the loud reference cooler up to 70%, temps are about 75/76c
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2014
  18. Aratahu

    Aratahu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    Melbourne VIC
    Just picked up my two 980 Superclocked ones from Scorptec.

    EDIT: No SLI connectors included! Argh, ok, well, might just have to get that fancy one then.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2014
  19. Philll

    Philll (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    10,920
    Location:
    NSW
    What did you upgrade from and what's the difference like?

    The wait IS killing me, but it's better then yesterday when absolutely nobody had an ETA on this specific card
     
  20. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    I upgraded/side grade from a GTX780ti Matrix, that card is factory overclocked though.

    I'm actually getting with stock GTX980 speeds the same as the GTX780ti Matrix, with a small 20mhz overclock on the GTX980 I'm getting a little higher.

    With the 4GB's of vram, personally I noticed gives Watch_Dogs a boost and was able to max out the settings.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: