1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 30 Series | RTX 3090 3080 3070 3060 3050 | Discussion

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Sphinx, Sep 1, 2020.

  1. 303-Acid

    303-Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,975
    Location:
    Grantville, Vic
  2. dzajroo

    dzajroo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    make perfect sense, high-end 3080 rocking 11GB while budget low-end card 12GB :rolleyes:
     
  3. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,882
  4. pH@tTm@N

    pH@tTm@N Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,302
    Location:
    BRISBANE
    10gb.

    also more confusion because the 3060 Ti is 8gb, and much faster, and the 3060 is 12gb. way to confuse the average punter...
     
  5. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    8,257
    Location:
    South East QLD
    Forget about that shit... how about the 3060 Ti rocking less memory than the non Ti lol

    Nvidia has lost the plot

    The 3060 ti, 3070 and 3080 must be getting phased out early for this move to make any sense at all.
     
  6. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,882
  7. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    8,257
    Location:
    South East QLD
    Yes, but the overwhelming majority of buyers don't know what any of that means and 12gb looks better than 8gb so now there is SKU confusion... I guess that is an nvidia trademark though.
     
  8. jjjc_93

    jjjc_93 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,859
    Location:
    Perth
    If buyers can't take 5 minutes prior to purchase to look at some basic performance reviews and just buy based off which has a bigger GB number on the box then they get what they get.
     
    ricmc likes this.
  9. akashra

    akashra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,980
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    Boy, do I have some fun news for you when it comes to the mobile 3080 part numbers :D
     
  10. Smegenstein

    Smegenstein Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,172
    Location:
    Hobart - TAS
    3070 Has arrived! now to just survive through work before I can go home an install it. The most minimal packaging ever. Card in anti static back, that is then in a cardboard wrap insert into a small foam thing on either side and chucked into the box. Certainly less than what I am used to!
     
    mesaoz likes this.
  11. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,557
  12. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    8,257
    Location:
    South East QLD
    You don't need to, unless you want extra performance for free :cool:
     
  13. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,557
  14. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    8,257
    Location:
    South East QLD
    My B450 board got it, I believe all 5xx board are getting it? Already enabled ready to go for me. Just waiting for the 3070 to get updated now.

    That's weird, my cheapo zotac came packaged reasonably well, wasn't a strix unboxing experience or anything but it was decent enough.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2021
  15. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,557
    Just updated my post before you responded. Seems you're right and my mobo already has the bios available for it though I don't think i've updated in about 4 or 5 months.

    Based on the link though my TUF 3080 may not have the bios available yet, or perhaps they're already installed...who knows and i'll forget by the time i get home lol
     
  16. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6,052
    Location:
    Melbourne
    There is a new BIOS for our card... well December new... I installed it as soon as I got the card.
    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards-C...Gaming/TUF-RTX3080-O10G-GAMING/HelpDesk_BIOS/
     
  17. Plonkflopped

    Plonkflopped Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It's there on mine but I would need to reinstall windows to enable it :(
     
  18. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    8,257
    Location:
    South East QLD
    ... Why?
     
  19. Smegenstein

    Smegenstein Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,172
    Location:
    Hobart - TAS
    How much of a performance increase will this actually result in? Any speculation?
     
  20. Plonkflopped

    Plonkflopped Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    Brisbane
    If you installed Windows without first turning CSM off, it will be configured as non-UEFI. It will NOT boot if you enable Resizable BAR Support (Smart Access Memory).

    You will need to reinstall Windows with CSM support disabled.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: