NVIDIA GeForce RTX 30 Series | RTX 3090 3080 3070 | Discussion

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Sphinx2000, Sep 1, 2020.

  1. groovetek

    groovetek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,195
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It's all good, I've been rocking the Aorus Xtreme for a few weeks now, but always on the look out haha, more out of interest than anything else.

    These higher end custom 3080's are fun to tinker with, even if benchmarks don't mean anything haha.

    Almost 13k in Port Royal without much effort NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 video card benchmark result - Intel Core i7-10700KF Processor,Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. Z490M GAMING X (3dmark.com)

    And over 18500 in Time Spy NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 video card benchmark result - Intel Core i7-10700KF Processor,Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. Z490M GAMING X (3dmark.com)
     
  2. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    2650
    Heh, yeah, fair point :)

    I was going to go the whole hog and replace my whole PC, but I'm not sure I can be bothered now.
    Maybe it's just the post-Christmas-and-it's-raining-at-the-cricket blues. Will re-evaluate in a few months time :D
     
    jjjc_93 likes this.
  3. raincloudx

    raincloudx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Location:
    Victoria
    Damnit missed out on the white Strix
     
  4. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,821
    Location:
    South East QLD
    Any word on when re size bar support is coming for nvidia? Interestingly I had to manually enable it in BIOS as it was off by default.
     
    nope likes this.
  5. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,347
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I saw that too, would love the white strix... but just ordered the regular lol.
     
  6. ominae

    ominae Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,283
    That's 100+ points above my score with GPU core at +230 fixed at 1.1 V. Wild.

    https://www.3dmark.com/pr/717089
     
  7. jvalente

    jvalente Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    The hybrid kits are back in guys on ebay. I just bought one. Wish me luck I've never pulled apart a GPU and though it comes with instructions I'll be shitting myself.

    upload_2021-1-7_17-36-17.png
     
  8. Geno

    Geno Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,116
    Location:
    Perth
    I had a look on the leader boards, it looks like Port Royal favours Intel systems by a strong margin?
     
  9. groovetek

    groovetek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,195
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Looks like 3dmark didn't log your gpu data? What was average core MHz thru the run?
     
  10. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,347
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I shat bricks when I had to pull the EVGA 1070 apart to apply the thermal pads a few years ago due to the recall. But in reality if you can assemble your own pc, you already have the skills to apply thermal paste and that’s the only hard bit.... as long as you can keep track of the screws.
     
  11. ominae

    ominae Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,283
    https://www.3dmark.com/pr/747357

    Here's a more recent run where I enabled all the hardware info stuff.
     
  12. jvalente

    jvalente Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    thanks skamrit! Yeah had practice putting my i7-9700f and new heat sink (dark rock pro 4).

    This guy showed the process thank god for that
     
    Skramit likes this.
  13. groovetek

    groovetek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,195
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Wow... how did you get it to hold a static 2250mhz for the entire run? Mine has no chance of running over 2200mhz without crashing out. Must be because it doesn't use MLCC caps! hahaha.
     
    Madllama likes this.
  14. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    Kinda glad I didn't buy ampere or anything else since I've quit gaming again on that topic I might just wait and see if anything good comes out this year so I can pre pre order a 4080ti for next year and get Dissapointed so hard by cyberpunk mp (pirated jk) that I quit gaming again
     
    jvalente likes this.
  15. macktheknife

    macktheknife Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,615
    Far Cry 6 should be interesting. Probably do open world shooter than 2077 did tbh.
     
  16. PiNoY

    PiNoY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,301
    Location:
    doncaster east, vic
     
    coolroy likes this.
  17. Strix

    Strix Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2020
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Sydney
    Has anyone used FormulaMod site?

    It seems they are bigger retailer that sells Barrow and Bykski product. How is their shipping??

    Just placed the order using DHL express shipping , but want to know how long it would take to process the shipping
     
  18. illu

    illu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Yea, they are quite reliable and fast if you select DHL express.

    I usually go there and get the stuff that I can't get from local Barrow and Bykski seller from eBay only.
     
  19. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,410
    One of us, one of us

    [​IMG]
     
  20. ominae

    ominae Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,283
    Lol you water cool it? Lock it at 1.1 V via the voltage curve in afterburner. I also power modded it but you don’t really need to if you have a bios > 450 w i think.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: