NVIDIA GeForce RTX 30 Series | RTX 3090 3080 3070 | Discussion

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Sphinx2000, Sep 1, 2020.

  1. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,329
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Nice upgrade
     
    MR CHILLED likes this.
  2. clAssymeerKat

    clAssymeerKat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Now I have to make it fit :D
     
  3. Strix

    Strix Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2020
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Sydney
    Did you get Alphacool Block for 3090 xtreme model??
     
  4. James086

    James086 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,071
    Location:
    Melbourne
    No, I bought a MSI Ventus and bought this block. The thermal pad layout is the same though when looking at the instructions, it's probably not far off reference.
     
  5. Strix

    Strix Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2020
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks for your info.

    This Bykski block does not contact any mosfet and coil (red cirle zone on my pic). So it is impossible to use any thermal pad on there. Guess Bykski did not make the block properly like Alpahcool.
     
  6. Annihilator69

    Annihilator69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,082
    Location:
    Perth
    Arghhh still waiting on my pre-order since 24/9 and it's doing my head in.
    my 1600p monitor has come in now so now I'm sub 60fps on some games hahah.
    When it was 1080p I didn't have a problem so I didn't care as much.
     
  7. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,971
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Have you been looking around to see if you can randomly pick one up elsewhere? Or is it a case of the price was very good back then and you want to hold out?
     
  8. FuzwaldQO

    FuzwaldQO Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,248
    Location:
    Near Hobart...
    The whole 3080 skew is a limited edition run lol.
    Shit, I actually thought that was covered in water and I was going to see a bleeding heart story of dropping a 3080 into a toilet or something lol.
     
  9. clAssymeerKat

    clAssymeerKat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    :D:D
    Just a lot of plastic. Managed to cram it into my H210 to test it's working, stripped it back down and modifying the case for better airflow.

    Then moving to the Ncase M1.
     
  10. groovetek

    groovetek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,096
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Are you planning to pair your future RTX3080 with your i5-2500K? If so, that's cool haha.
     
  11. DJTrev

    DJTrev New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    How are you modding your H210 for better airflow?
     
  12. The Beast

    The Beast Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,013
    Location:
    Gaufres. Bière. Chocolat. Moules Frites.
    [​IMG]
     
    ricmc, Onyx, Teddidao and 6 others like this.
  13. clAssymeerKat

    clAssymeerKat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2020
    Messages:
    35

    Exactly this.

    Stripped the case, took it into work with me, got out the angle grinder and cut out a big hole in the bottom where the 3.5" drives (I'm all SSD & NVME) fit, then put an old dust filter over it.

    Edit: It's in.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2021
    ricmc, Onyx, netlord and 7 others like this.
  14. BIG DWIFTER

    BIG DWIFTER Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    5152
  15. DJTrev

    DJTrev New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Ah right - thanks. So basically the front half of the bottom of the case. I assume you have an sfx psu in there as well. Will be interesting to see what it does to the thermals - don't suppose you did some tests beforehand?

    I have a H210i and waiting for the same card. But I am air cooling a 10700k, so I don't have that big rad in there. Just a couple of 140mm Noctuas. Hoping that airflow is sufficient
     
  16. th3_hawk

    th3_hawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,369
    Location:
    Kilsyth 3137
    I did a custom side panel with extra 140mm fan on my case to pull out more heat. It has lowered motherboard temps by a bit and the GPU seems cooler too, although I have also been tweaking the voltages so don't have a good baseline.

    upload_2021-1-16_15-15-31.png
     
    OC d and walker_2003 like this.
  17. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Melbourne
    With a sigh of relief, my 3080 arrived and was able to pick it up!

    [​IMG]

    Another Evga 3080 ftw Ultra it seems.
     

    Attached Files:

    Skramit, Trizae, The Beast and 5 others like this.
  18. DJTrev

    DJTrev New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Congrats!
    Seems the FTW3s are coming thru, the XC3s are a bit slow
     
    netlord likes this.
  19. clAssymeerKat

    clAssymeerKat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2020
    Messages:
    35

    Pretty much, and no I'm using an ATX PSU, which doesn't help.
    You should be much better off without a radiator worsening the airflow. And no tests, it's really just temporary until moving a a new case, which will be smaller and still have better thermals.

    Unfortunately this case just has poor airflow.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2021
    DJTrev likes this.
  20. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Few 3dmark benchies just to get a sense of the evga 3080 ftw3 ultra, and it typically gets 1950mhz clock.

    While watching the card, I noticed the fans weren't spinning at all until a little way into the tests. Peak temps according 3dmark app said 70deg.

    Early days, fun times ahead.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: