NVIDIA GeForce RTX 30 Series | RTX 3090 3080 3070 | Discussion

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Sphinx2000, Sep 1, 2020.

  1. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Some interesting results so far with my 3080 ftw3 Ultra.

    - using Precision OC scanner, my result is 127.
    - cranking Volts and Power to MAX (+118 power), did not overclock great, didn't hold +75, odd crash at even +60!
    - setting both to max helps hold higher a minimum (base) clock speed; didn't dip below 2015mhz.
    - memory seems stable at +1100.
    - 3dmark Port Royal ~11800 points.
    - peak power draw 454w in gpuz!

    Somewhat frustrated, I started from scratch to isolated and understand what's going on.

    - stock volts, +118 power resulted the same.
    - Max volts, stock power was stable +60.
    - Max volts and increased power to +105, which allowed me to hold slightly higher base frequency.
    - Port Royal 12064 points.

    So that's where I'm up to.

    Maxing every may not be optional for both power consumption and performance, at least on my system. I might do some tests and try push further, but im feeling overclocking fatigue now.

    Other PC spec:
    i7 3930k @4.6ghz
    32GB ddr1600 ram
    Enermax 900w 87+ Gold PSU
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2021
  2. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    65,644
    Location:
    brisbane
    finally a solution to not being able to easily buy a 30 series, just wait for the 40 series and then nvidia will remake the 30's!

    https://www.techpowerup.com/277507/nvidia-to-re-introduce-geforce-rtx-2060-and-rtx-2060-super-gpus

     
  3. Onyx

    Onyx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4,307
    Location:
    SE Melb, VIC
    Yeah I've seen the RTX 2060 pop up unexpectedly from a vendor I was waiting to get 3060Ti's in stock from. It's priced at $580. Staticice suggests prices start from $4xx, but clicking on one listed as $490 takes me to their page which has it updated at $560. So don't think the 2060s are going to be cheap fill in solution. Price gouge maximum mode is in full swing at the retailers.
     
  4. dzajroo

    dzajroo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,051
    ricmc, Skramit and power like this.
  5. Elchupacabraj

    Elchupacabraj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2017
    Messages:
    645
    Scalpers don't tend to use their gpu for months before they sell it.
     
    8MadDog8 and Skramit like this.
  6. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,329
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Not really. I mean I'm in this situation and I dont feel like I'm a scalper....I define a scalper in GPU context as those people buying up cards they dont want to use themselves to sell at MASSIVE profit. i.e. 50-100% markup. Pure comodity trading.

    I dont think folks like me trying to get a 3080 to use, PC enthusiasts, with pre-orders from PLE, who managed to snipe a card from another store in between and kept the PLE pre-order, are really 'scalpers'.

    But happy to concede that selling a card then for a profit because the market is so fucked can be seen as 'scalping'. But I think it's a little harsh....
     
    8MadDog8 likes this.
  7. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,707
    Location:
    South East QLD
    I could sell my months old used PS5 for a profit today... but I won't.

    Your own personal code of ethics is your own, do what you want :)
     
    Skramit likes this.
  8. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,329
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I wouldnt really call that 'scalping' if you actually used it for a few months then sold it it for for a small profit.
     
  9. groovetek

    groovetek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,096
    Location:
    Melbourne
    What are your temperatures like?

    If you're drawing 450W, surely be able to achieve higher than 12k Port Royal... as it's not impacted by your 3rd gen CPU.
     
    netlord likes this.
  10. cbwolf

    cbwolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,798
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The 3080 is really quite different to previous generations and that's not the best way to overclock them.

    What's your max core clock?

    Give the following a go:

    Voltage: +50%
    Power: +118%
    Core: Custom Curve. Set your core to peak at 2100Mhz at 950mv with flat after that
    Memory: +1000
    Fan: 80%

    If that works, raise to 2150Mhz at the same voltage and try again. If not, raise the voltage bit by bit.

    It's really a fine balancing act of staying within power envelope and feeding the card just enough voltage to make it stable.
     
    netlord likes this.
  11. TRG.dOinK

    TRG.dOinK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,627
    Location:
    Melb East
    Sorry GTX770, seems as though you will go around for another year my friend :cool:
     
  12. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,983
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
  13. Ndsspex

    Ndsspex Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    59
  14. Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,783
    Location:
    Melbourne 3103
    Doh . You havent been following the ozbargain thread..
    Its been listed there since yesterday..

    the fact it hasnt been ozbargained already (ie out of stock) is indicative of non existent stock controls..

    good luck on getting your money back from that retailer.. given their chequered reputation..

     
  15. Ndsspex

    Ndsspex Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    59
    Just kidding XD
     
  16. azz

    azz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,884
    Location:
    Heidelberg, Melbourne
    Lots of info here and at overclock.net, hopefully my Galax 3080 SG can oc well with a 370w bios.

    Finally got my Heatkiller block and 5800x installed. Booting tonight hopefully. 20210121_204609~2.jpg
     
  17. @sia@home

    @sia@home Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,502
    893mv 1950mhz should work. If that crashes up the mV by one bin or drop the Mhz by one bin
     
    azz likes this.
  18. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Interesting, never knew about this voltage curve till now. I did look into it and its typically for undervolting?
    I did have a go (with your suggestion) and havent seen any difference. +60Mhz is stable but +75mhz crashes 3dmark to desktop.

    Also, i did a successful test at default settings; look at the PerfCap reason (circled) - this normal?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 22, 2021
  19. jekel

    jekel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Looks nice and tidy :), what brand radiators are those? I don't usually see many nickel looking ones used.
     
    azz likes this.
  20. groovetek

    groovetek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,096
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Looks normal; there are multiple reasons for PerfCap, the different colours represent the reasons. Grey = idle, other colours will refer to "Power", "Thermal" or "Voltage".
     
    netlord likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: