NVIDIA GeForce RTX 30 Series | RTX 3090 3080 3070 | Discussion

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Sphinx2000, Sep 1, 2020.

  1. PiNoY

    PiNoY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,278
    Location:
    doncaster east, vic
    fantastic reference card, supports a few waterblocks, either flash the bios with the gigabyte oc which unlocks 390watt limit or you can use the xoc 1000w bios which will give you a maximum of 660watt limit which you can control in msi ab.

    I’m using both on my gainward reference design 2x8pin 3090 which has recently been put under water, I posted ts and pr scores on the previous page.

    strix/ftw3 killer
     
    Supersize likes this.
  2. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,971
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    I figure the Gigabyte Bios would be a little safer with the 390w limit.
    You're talking about the Gaming OC bios right?
    https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/225490/gigabyte-rtx3090-24576-200904

    This is one waterblock I found, don't know how good they are though.
    https://www.bykski.us/collections/g...r-inno3d-rtx-3080-3090-ice-dragon-n-ich3090-x
     
  3. cbwolf

    cbwolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,798
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Did you play with the voltage? You're trying to find the minimum voltage that it'll run stable at 2100Mhz. You now know it won't do it at 950mv, so try 975mv. If that doesn't work, then 1000mv.

    Obviously this is only if you want to play around overclocking. If you're just looking for a solid daily, set it to something like 900mv and 1950Mhz and enjoy the card running cool and quiet.
     
    netlord likes this.
  4. PiNoY

    PiNoY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,278
    Location:
    doncaster east, vic
  5. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,971
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    I'll check them out too.
    The block I previously posted is the stock one Inno3D use on their watercooled version of the same card.

    I was going to use one of these RAD/Pump combo's, they seem to work really well in the 011, well it's the 011 Mini, hence the need for watercooling.
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B...MPYT6&linkId=10858f9abeeaa13f06e5400b256f3f11

    Was able to find a good 1000w SFX-L power supply, it's the reason I'm not really worried about overclocking the 3090 too much, so the 390w bios should keep it all safe.
     
  6. PiNoY

    PiNoY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,278
    Location:
    doncaster east, vic
    Nice setup! Yeah I think either block will do the job just make sure you get a decent back plate to match cause the back gets very warm from the extra vram chips.

    I read the power draw efficiency is much improved by about 30-35watts so realistically 390watt should be around 415watts available with the much cooler temps on your vrms and gpu.

    I’m using the 1000w bios atm which is awesome as you get full control.
     
  7. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,971
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    I'll keep a eye out for a back plate as well, will run on air for a few week during the "just in case something dies" period, then piece together the water cooling setup.
    I figured the 390w BIOS should be perfectly fine for air, testing, seems most of the other entry level 2*8 pin air cooled cards (including the major brands) have defaulted their BIOS's to 370/390w anyway, so it seems to be the norm.
     
  8. groovetek

    groovetek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,096
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Out of interest, what happens to the RGB on the Inno3D iChill X4 RTX3080 if you load on a Gigabyte 390W BIOS?
     
  9. heslo

    heslo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Well, got an SMS earlier today saying DHL was delivering a package... odd on a Sunday I thought.

    Just got a door knock then, sure enough, DHL with my EK FTW3 block! Can't fit it until I get some parts from PCCG (hopefully that arrives tomorrow) but boy is it sexy! Very very keen to get this fitted!
     
    PiNoY likes this.
  10. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,971
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    I my case I hope it disables it, because I'm going with a NO RGB build, even got RAM with no RGB. :lol:
    Went with the ROG Crosshair Dark Hero, 6 black 120mm Corsair Maglev fans.
    Yeah odd build for a nearly all windowed case :)
     
  11. PiNoY

    PiNoY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,278
    Location:
    doncaster east, vic
    I run my 3090 on air for a couple weeks, worked fine but the stock cooler is so noisy and the temps were mid 80s and fan was always around 80-90% lol..

    now I’m around 58-59 load @400watts melb summer too.

    should still work, my gainward has rgb and worked fine on the gigabyte and xoc bios
     
  12. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I worked it out, it was the drivers!

    I had 456.38 installed. Reflecting back, I remember when we had capacitor-gate, aka the capacitors found on the rear of the PCB underneath the GPU that were thought to be the cause (of crashing). That was false and ended up remedied by a driver update.

    Updating to 460.09 and it solved my OC woes. That's not the end of the story though, as these drivers seem to smooth off the absolute peak fps, shaving 1-2fps, and my overclocks have to be higher than before for the same relative performance.

    Port Royal (old driver):
    12261
    56.77fps

    Port Royal (new driver):
    12189
    56.43fps

    Check out the comparison results here:
    https://www.3dmark.com/compare/pr/811264/pr/806929#
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2021
  13. Trizae

    Trizae Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    323
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I had some issues too with my 3080 crashing when I realised I had the windows stock nvidia non RTX 30 driver after a driver clean lol. btw 460.09 is an old set 461.33 are the latest drivers available you may one to give them a looksie: https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/geforce-461-33-hotfix-driver-download.html
     
    netlord likes this.
  14. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Some undervolting results - EVGA 3080 FTW3 Ultra:

    Timespy Score gfx 1 gfx 2 Clock max Clock ave Memory Power
    UNDERVOLT 13591 118.42 102.93 1920 1888 +1100 305w
    STOCK 13473 115.65 101.72 1995 1933 Default 382w

    Hope the formatting works, sent via phone.
     
    Trizae likes this.
  15. Trizae

    Trizae Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    323
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Formatting looks fine on my end! What was your graphics score in Timespy? nice UV :thumbup:
     
  16. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Im positively surprised by the UV results.

    Graphics Score
    STOCK 17743
    UNDERVOLT 18054
     
    Trizae likes this.
  17. ska'

    ska' Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,748
    UV is 100% the way to go.

    Lower temp, stable MHz usually much higher than stock.
     
    netlord likes this.
  18. PiNoY

    PiNoY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,278
    Location:
    doncaster east, vic
    Here is my #fullsend profile @1.1v locked

    upload_2021-1-25_12-5-58.png
     
    netlord likes this.
  19. PiNoY

    PiNoY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,278
    Location:
    doncaster east, vic
    Found a nice daily UV setting for the 3090 @850mv stable load temp is between 50-56c depending on the game @4k

    upload_2021-1-25_12-8-43.png
     
    netlord likes this.
  20. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Wow thats a great sample!

    The max I could get with a traditional overclock is 2135Mhz with max power/volts in some tests, however 2105Mhz was stable .
     
    PiNoY likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: