1. If you're receiving a message that you are banned from the Current Events or Politics forums, it's not you specifically: those forums have been hidden for all users. For more info, see here.
    Dismiss Notice

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 30 Series | RTX 3090 3080 3070 | Discussion

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Sphinx2000, Sep 1, 2020.

  1. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    11,433
    Then my question to the Vega/R7 owners stands.

    Vega 64 with 483.8 GB/s should get ~460fps

    R7 with 1024gbps should get 700~fps
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2021
  2. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,907
    Location:
    South East QLD
    Overclocked or standard gddr6 speed on the amd cards?

    Decent gddr6 chips can clock WELL above reference frequency.
     
  3. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,830
    The R7 would never achieve 700fps with 60 compute units and overall lower performance in comparison to a 2080Ti.

    Those figures are founders edition/reference. You are right though, the fps should be higher with an aftermarket AIB card.
     
  4. Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,040
    Location:
    Sydney
    Oh man, you think about the value of the card and that kind of crap. You can tell 2020 has been a crap year when you see this. Gigabyte has always been my goto for video cards, never had an issue.

    That is really disappointing.
     
  5. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,562
    Location:
    2650
  6. sanjeevlives

    sanjeevlives Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,893
    Location:
    Perth
    maybe wait another 35 days so we hit 6 months
     
    Gibbon likes this.
  7. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Well the EVGA Hybrid cooler showed up.

    The 3090 XC3 was meant to show up today (Paid for Fixed Price Premium), but then got delayed early this morning, I'm guessing the Covid outbreak in Melbourne, so the card is still at the airport..
    Have to wait until Monday.
     
    PiNoY and Trizae like this.
  8. Trizae

    Trizae Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    557
    Location:
    Melbourne
    the wait will be worth it! absolutely loving mine! had some adjustments to my case but the performane so much more worth it lol

    you order direct from evga usa too?
     
  9. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    No actually I got it from Budget PC, but ordered from their ebay store, it was $219 express shipping, ordered it yesterday it showed up today.
    Same with the evga RTX 3090 XC3, but I ordered that from Scorptec, so I say that got held up with everything that's going on down there.
    Though BPC Tech sent it Aus Post Express and Scorptec sent it Startrack Premium, Aussie post Express wins. :thumbup:

    That Hybrid kit is a impressive looking piece of gear, seems pretty straight forward to install.
    It's going to have better thermals than this Inno3D 3090, will put that one up for sale at a decent price... :lol:
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2021
    Trizae likes this.
  10. Trizae

    Trizae Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    557
    Location:
    Melbourne
  11. Trizae

    Trizae Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    557
    Location:
    Melbourne
    ah nice one! having it so far its extremely impressive performance and just cooling in general are excellent, take your time its pretty straight forward make sure you have a good phillips #1 for the rear IO SHIELD. And remove the stock cooler from pcb from the led connector side not the pcie side when prying it off :):thumbup:

    What is happening with the other 3090? got the xc3 for the size and now with the fitment i'm very happy my whole pc is silent haha
     
  12. Sunder

    Sunder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,425
    Missed a few weeks of posts so apologies if this has already been posted. But a few weeks ago, there was some outrage that only MSI was implementing resizeable bar support for Z390 motherboards.

    Just a heads up that Gigabyte do as well. Just downloaded F12k BIOS, and I can see the options to turn Resize Bar on. As I am already in UEFI mode, no OS reinstall required. Now a 3080Ti due for April is starting to sound tempting...
     
    Trizae likes this.
  13. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    I have the Gamers Nexus screwdriver kit, it's got all the proper tools to pull apart a GPU.
    [​IMG]

    Will test the card before putting on the cooler, just to make sure its all good.
    I watched a video on how to install the cooler, the guy in that said the same thing after trying to remove the stock cooler the wrong side.. :lol:

    I'm going to sell the Inno3D 3090, don't know if anyone will want it on here, might list it on the FB Marketplace or Gumtree.
     
    bobsled and Trizae like this.
  14. mrbean_phillip

    mrbean_phillip Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,090
    Location:
    Doreen (3754) Vic
    My EK Quantum Vector RTX block and backplate finally arrived. With the COVID chit again happening here in Vic, I found some time to quickly fit it. Jeepers, the PNY 3090 is actually a very small setup once the stock air-cooler is removed, here it is shown next to my Gigabyte Waterforce 2080TI:


    [​IMG]
     
    bobsled, PiNoY and WuzzA21 like this.
  15. The Beast

    The Beast Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,438
    Location:
    Gaufres. Bière. Chocolat. Moules Frites.
    Trizae likes this.
  16. PiNoY

    PiNoY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,358
    Location:
    doncaster east, vic
    what temps you getting?

     
  17. Trizae

    Trizae Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    557
    Location:
    Melbourne
  18. mrbean_phillip

    mrbean_phillip Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,090
    Location:
    Doreen (3754) Vic
    Idles at 33-34, running general gaming (iRacing in my case ) averaging 44deg C, and looping Bright Memory, averaging 52-53deg C, or thereabouts. I gained a few 100 points here and there in 3dMark benchies, everything else being equal. What I noticed though, the lower temps allowed a higher ave clock-speed, at the same 0.862Vgpu and 1905mhz clock-lock in afterburner.

    ‘Clocks were running at 1897mhz through the bank. Will up Vgpu to around 0.95v and see if I can coax a stable 2000-2050mhz from the 390w bios. Would be good, but anyway, quite a decent improvement from the stick bios and air-cooler.
     
    PiNoY likes this.
  19. PiNoY

    PiNoY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,358
    Location:
    doncaster east, vic
    try the 1000w bios, see how your loops holds up
    i'm around 70-80c
     
  20. mrbean_phillip

    mrbean_phillip Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,090
    Location:
    Doreen (3754) Vic
    Might give it a go a bit later, cheers Mate, but anyway a bit cpu-limited in iRacing at the moment, my 7900x at 4600mhz not getting the best out of the sim. Hopefully Rocket-Lake will allow me to do a bit better, even though the 3090 has allowed me to up eye-candy on the Reverb G2 quite significantly;)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: