NVIDIA GeForce RTX 30 Series | RTX 3090 3080 3070 | Discussion

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Sphinx, Sep 1, 2020.

  1. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
  2. shmity

    shmity Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    994
    The bandwidth on GDDR6X on a 3080 is 25%-30% higher than the GDDR6 on the 3060, so even if we only look at ram it wills till be slower.
     
    jjjc_93 and combatant3219 like this.
  3. jjjc_93

    jjjc_93 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,384
    Location:
    Perth
    Yeah this point has been made multiple times in here in response to the 3060 having 12gb. It's a shame people keep raising the 3060 12gb crap like it's a nail in the coffin of the 3080, sure would be a lot of clickbait writers among us.
     
  4. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    I was more point out how they are pumping the 12GB thing, how many times do they say mention 12GB's on that product page :lol:

    Shit I'm lucky to see over 9GB's of vram used on the 3090 while gaming.
     
  5. phi

    phi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    202
    Location:
    Sydney
  6. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,565
    Location:
    2650
    It's a mess, huh? 3060ti is really a cut down 3070, rather than a beefed up 3060. Naming schemes FTW!
     
  7. maxrig

    maxrig Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    712
    I think the RTX 3080 have around 50% more memory bandwidth than rtx 3060 12gb.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2021
  8. shmity

    shmity Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    994
    14-16 Gbit\s vs 19-21 Gbit\s
     
  9. maxrig

    maxrig Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    712
    RTX 3080 on a 320bit bus ( 760 Gbit/s) VS RTX 3060 192 bit bus ( 336Gbit/s)
     
  10. The Beast

    The Beast Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,443
    Location:
    Gaufres. Bière. Chocolat. Moules Frites.
    WTF is Resizable BAR?

    GeForce RTX 30 Series Performance To Accelerate With Resizable BAR Support (nvidia.com)

    Seems like this is the generic name for AMD's Smart Access Memory (SAM), so in a complete role reversal AMD have made something open-source in something proprietary and given in a new name (ala G-Sync), whereas NVidia are sticking with the generic name and opening their cards up to work with all supported hardware. We live in interesting times.

    Seems like 3060 is getting it, and other 3000 series via bios update:

    This article is useful too:

    ✅ What is and how does Resizable BAR technology work? (hardwaresfera.com)

    I just checked my bios and my X570 board already has support for Resizeable BAR so looks like I'm good to go as soon as eVGA update their bios and NVidia release drivers with support.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2021
  11. shmity

    shmity Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    994
    Great, thats the Bus not the raw memory bandwidth. The two combined really make a difference but we were talking specifically about the memory bandwidth alone since people keep overlooking the raw speed difference of GDDR6 vs 6x
     
  12. maxrig

    maxrig Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    712
    Memory raw speed is 760 Gbit/s Vs 336 Gbit/s so nearly double the memory bandwidth. Keep in mind that GDDR5X on a 384bit bus can have more memory bandwidth than GDDR6 on a 192bit bus.
     
  13. PiNoY

    PiNoY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,358
    Location:
    doncaster east, vic
    next cold melbourne day let’s have a bench off lol...
     
    groovetek likes this.
  14. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Take it you're a little impressed with what it can do. :lol:
    I see why they gimped the card, it's getting very close to FTW territory..

    Still not 100% happy with the vram temps, topping 78c, but way better than the 86c-90c+ I was seeing before.

    PCCGear just made the Inno3D RTX 3090 iChill x4 $2999 :Paranoid:
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2021
    PiNoY likes this.
  15. groovetek

    groovetek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,364
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I think PiNoY is quietly confident of winning this bench off vs Supersize - should make it a Twitch live stream like J2C vs GN, haha.

    However, just when he thinks he's got it in the bag, someone like Strix will come along last minute and wipe the floor with his rig ha.
     
    PiNoY likes this.
  16. m0n4g3

    m0n4g3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,741
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    You tried the KFA2 bios on the inno card?
     
  17. phi

    phi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    202
    Location:
    Sydney
    Anyone de-shrouded their graphics card for better cooling/temps/noise?

    Example below is a Asus TUF RTX series with zip ties used to hold fans onto card

    1.png 2.jpg
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2021
    pH@tTm@N and groovetek like this.
  18. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,612
    Location:
    Melbourne
    If you have thermal issues with your TUF, your case probably has poor airflow.

    EDIT: for reference, I have the 3080 TUF OC in a Phanteks Evolv X DRGB, gaming in Warzone in 30 deg heat and the max the card got was 72deg. The Evolv X isn't the greatest for airflow either.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2021
    heslo and combatant3219 like this.
  19. wolfie870

    wolfie870 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    I did this with my 970 for a while, I feel like you'd only see better temps and sound performance if you went for 120mm fans. 90mm as pictured will probably be as loud if not louder than the OEM fans.

    Unfortunately the protruding sections of the heatsink make this harder to achieve.
     
  20. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Wouldn't be game to, that card was HOT.
    It's gone to a new home now, from what I was told they plan to adding it to their already existing wc loop.

    The KFA2 BIOS is meant to be more compatible though, the Gigabyte BIOS you'd loose vram temps and a display port, where the KFA2 you don't loose anything.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: