NVIDIA GeForce RTX 30 Series | RTX 3090 3080 3070 | Discussion

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Sphinx2000, Sep 1, 2020.

  1. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,376
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2021
  2. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,546
    I'd have to do some maths as im on time of use, not a fixed rate. Its the vram sitting at 80 degrees that means things are toasty, dunno how some people just let them cook at 100 - 110

    I played a little far cry 5 the other night at 4k with max detail and no dips below 60fps at all. Cyberpunk is a different story with out dlss.

    Need to install something like kingdomcome as i know that used to struggle with my titans at 4k but i think that mas more lack of sli support then anything
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2021
  3. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,376
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Shouldn't be too hard to estimate though, just need a small spreadsheet and plug in your costs for peak vs offpeak etc:

    Rough example:
    Offpeak 20c kWh
    12h x 350w = 4.2kWh
    4.2 x 20c = 84c

    Shoulder 25c kWh
    6h x 350w = 2.4kWh
    2.4 x 25c = 60c

    Peak 28c kWh
    6h x 350w = 2.4kWh
    2.4 x 28c = 67c

    = $2.11 per day

    I find even though Cyberpunk sometimes dips below 60fps for me, with a g-sync monitor it's still very smooth.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2021
  4. thecondor

    thecondor Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2,502
    This looks fantastic mate. Well done.

    What fans are they?
     
  5. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,546
    I wish my peak was 28c..... solar panels should help a bit as well when its sunny, but this is talk for the electricity and mining threads.


    but yeah need to make sure g-sync etc are on

    cryorig crona (ironic name giving the current pandemic) I think they're ok as fans but the controllers are average, instruction manual isn't great either.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2021
  6. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,439
    Location:
    2650
    So ..... can't actually remember the last time I saw any 3080 stock at any of the retailers I regularly check (which admittedly is only a few that I trust - none of which have even had ordering available for months).
    Is it actually going to improve, or is it just a lost cause at this stage?
     
  7. jekel

    jekel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Melbourne
    No idea seems bad all around. Hope it gets better soon, I want to buy a low end card and pricing seems pretty inflated lol
     
  8. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,439
    Location:
    2650
    Yeah, I'm happy with my RX6800, but if I could buy the 3080 I want from the retailer I want, I probably would - and trickle the 6800 down to the "family PC" .... but it's not looking likely any time soon.

    On Wednesday this week, it'll be 6 months since the 3080 launch :tongue:. Insane.
     
    Slug69 likes this.
  9. Trizae

    Trizae Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Melbourne
    6 months thats wild! 5 months for me, my 3080 arrived in nov from ple lol
     
  10. Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    9,954
    Location:
    Sydney
    I had an email from the US reseller I am purchasing two 3080's from. They said they might have to increase the pricing as the wholesale price has risen since I ordered...sigh...

    I knew it was too good to be true but will see what the price rise is and make a decision from there I ordered at $799 USD each. I am going to try hard to get an RX 6700 from an Australian reseller when they launch this week. I am curious, got a feeling it might be a great card but pricing yet to be determined.
     
  11. m3k

    m3k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,009
    sounds sus
     
  12. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,546
    whats the come to once you add GST and import tax?
     
  13. Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    9,954
    Location:
    Sydney
    It must be around $980 USD per card at my door. They are Gigabyte Gaming OC cards.

    ordered late Feb.

    They weren’t allowing purchases of more than fifty cards at a time...
     
  14. The Beast

    The Beast Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,259
    Location:
    Gaufres. Bière. Chocolat. Moules Frites.
    Well, there's the fucking problem.
     
    Slug69 likes this.
  15. @sia@home

    @sia@home Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,507
    I'd say 3 - 6 months after it's not profitable to mine on the hardware anymore things could return to normal. If something else is nearly as profitable to mine as eth well it could keep on going....
     
  16. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    158,365
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Anyone still waiting on their launch night order with PLE?
     
  17. Trizae

    Trizae Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Melbourne
  18. Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    9,954
    Location:
    Sydney
    LOL, Nvidia's beta driver 470.05 unlocks the 3060 Ethereum mining potential. The Verge has a story about it. I have downloaded the bios and have a 3060 to play with. Will let you know the hashrate. It's going in my daughters PC replacing a 970 GTX that isn't worth mining with. (yet.)

    Edit: changed word to driver. No special bios required.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2021
    Trizae likes this.
  19. Luke212

    Luke212 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,142
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hey where did you get the bios?
     
  20. Trizae

    Trizae Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Melbourne
    if you read through the link provided you shouldn't need to use the bios allegedly if you have the card connected to the main pcie slot and display w 470.05 driver but sure Slug69 is more well informed
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: