NVIDIA VOLTA Announced

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by mesaoz, May 11, 2017.

  1. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,287
    Location:
    Twitch / Brisbane
    Fair warning to all, I'll be reporting trolling dickery, had enough of it in this sub forum. Be good...

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/11367...v100-gpu-and-tesla-v100-accelerator-announced

    The first GPU to be detailed is the GV100

    5367 Cuda Cores
    HBM2 memory - 4093bit
    815mm2 die (apparently the biggest ever nvidia gpu, and the max size the fab will support)
    21.1b transistors
    12nm FFN fab

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2017
  2. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    51,981
    Location:
    brisbane
    what a beast.

    Be interesting to see when consumer gets added to the public roadmap just how powerful it will be.
     
  3. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,534
    Location:
    Canadia
    Hopefully not the biggest ever cards to go with it :Paranoid:
     
  4. OP
    OP
    mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,287
    Location:
    Twitch / Brisbane
    With how nvidia have talked about it in their release I'm guessing the GV100 isn't the consumer chip, seems like the one that's been detailed is a datacenter chip so I guess we'll see it on a consumer board at the back end of the volta product life cycle.

    With nvidias hard on for over speccing power delivery components, it'll be a big boy for sure :p
     
  5. Sipheren

    Sipheren Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Damn, that is one beast of a GPU, even cut down a bit it will be pretty nice :)
     
  6. OP
    OP
    mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,287
    Location:
    Twitch / Brisbane
    In the article linked in the OP it also suggests that even the detailed one isn't the full fat chip so they're still saving a little bit extra for later... crazy.
     
  7. Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,863
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    that is a mammoth die this will take some of the Wind out of AMD's sails on the Vega launch
     
  8. OP
    OP
    mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,287
    Location:
    Twitch / Brisbane
    Yeah that will be the intention of unveiling it now, to keep some buzz up around their brand while we're still a year out from seeing a new consumer GPU from them. Getting some serious per-GPU grunt for compute work now.
     
  9. Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,863
    Location:
    Gold Coast

    yes and no, that is the ultra high end compute part that I and (most likely) you will never buy, who know what the cut down consumer part will look like as I dont think it will have these Tensor cores no it.

    it will probably come down to what their yields are like -- which as in the article will be low on such a massive die.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,287
    Location:
    Twitch / Brisbane
    For sure, the detailed gpu is the new 'volta' datacentre chip. Pascal was a pretty significant bump up from maxwell I feel like we won't see that big a jump again so soon on the consumer level... but who knows.
     
  11. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,534
    Location:
    Canadia
    I remember the days when I couldn't physically fit some of their cards in my case :lol: Modifications had to be made.
     
  12. Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,863
    Location:
    Gold Coast
  13. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    5,973
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    If you want to be an early adopter, you can get hold of the Tesla version in Q3.. well 8 of them actually. You'd need to be keen though..

     
  14. OP
    OP
    mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,287
    Location:
    Twitch / Brisbane
    I just pre ordered mine, hopefully EK announce their waterblock soon...
     
  15. Radley

    Radley Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,252
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    What is a Tensor core?
     
  16. OP
    OP
    mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4,287
    Location:
    Twitch / Brisbane
    Looks like another type of stream processor (like cuda), probably optimised for their deep learning stuff.
     
  17. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    6,596
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Read the link and it will tell you :)
     
  18. SnooP-WiggleS

    SnooP-WiggleS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,831
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    Intersting this is coming out in Q3, possibly so they can see how yields are on this huge chip and give TSMC chance to refine before commencing any consumer volta on 12nm. Recall that the pascal referesh with minor clock boosts is out later in the year.

    I'd bet the consumer cards won't have any of the tensor cores, way cut down FP64 and INT, halving the die space per SM unit. I'd like to see consumer volta do 2xFP16 that the ps4 pro and vega can do, but I'll guess nvidia won't unfortunately. I'd suspect the top consumer volta to be around similar CUDA counts perhaps slightly higher clocked, 15-17tflops of FP32 at a guess.
     
  19. Paulie_AU

    Paulie_AU Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    3,457
    Location:
    Brisbane
    8k 144hz will be your bitch.
     
  20. Dragonfly

    Dragonfly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    4,291
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Interesting point from the Anandtech article in op.

    Guess that's why the Volta DGX-1 supercomputer costs 150k.

    https://www.arnnet.com.au/article/6...percomputer-puts-400-servers-box/?fp=2&fpid=1
     

Share This Page