NVLink / SLI on 20180tis - is this working in game?

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by super kermit, Feb 20, 2019.

  1. super kermit

    super kermit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Sydney Pyrmont
    In some games I only get 11G Vram, while in others I get 22G Vram for both cards.

    Far Cry 5 New Dawn is meant to be built for NVLINK.

    Is something wrong?

    I thought NV Link adds the memory together.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. sTeeLzor

    sTeeLzor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,939
    If you have spent this much money on your PC, you really should know how your PC works.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    super kermit

    super kermit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Sydney Pyrmont
    LOL, so you know how everything you spend your money on works, wow, super smart guy, wish I was you...…..

    So back to my Q, any helpful replies would be appreciated.
     
  4. DarkSnipa

    DarkSnipa Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    425
    Location:
    Perth
    For gaming cards it is basically SLI via NVLink which provides a bigger bandwidth, VRAM do not stack just like AMD crossfire though some games will show double the VRAM like GTA5 which is not true.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2019
  5. OP
    OP
    super kermit

    super kermit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Sydney Pyrmont
    Awesome, thanks. Some games did exactly as above like you said and this confused me.

    Cheers
     
  6. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4,375
    I dont think it's ever stacked the memory.
     
  7. sTeeLzor

    sTeeLzor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,939
    Yes. Its called research. I especially dont drop $4K on two stupidly overpriced cards then ask a basic question about them thats been known since the start of the SLI program.
     
    conroe likes this.
  8. dr_deathy

    dr_deathy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,575
    Same way lambo owner needs to know exactly how a engine works and should be able to do a rebuild themselves.

    Stop being jellies.
     
  9. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,787
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    Many games will request allocation of nearly all of the available memory from the GPU's, regardless of how much that happens to be. That doesn't mean they actually need or use it. That's my understanding of it anyway, happy to be corrected.
     
  10. sTeeLzor

    sTeeLzor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,939
    Ease up tiger. I could buy them if I liked blowing money that hard.

    I guess if mummy and daddy buying though... I wouldn't say no either.
     
  11. dr_deathy

    dr_deathy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,575
    Sure you could.

    Some guy buys some high end gear and starts looking into actual enthusiast platforms/setups and your gate keeping.
     
  12. weak beta male

    weak beta male Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    do u think these guys know what the word research means?

    super hermit got rich precisely so he doesn't need to waste time researching the best bang for buck
     
  13. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4,375
    Poor analogy it should be like knowing if 98 ton gives better performance then 95, or e85

    It's literally only a Google away, not a whole thread worthy
     
  14. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,698
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    some games memory pool some dont
    >spending 4k on gpus
    why?
     
  15. OP
    OP
    super kermit

    super kermit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Sydney Pyrmont
    Because I make money and then can spend money....jeeeez.

    Why do people care so much what people spend their money on.....
     
    c4dderly and darkbastard like this.
  16. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,525
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    In the pro world, NVLink can do that - high enough bandwidth with low enough latency that the GPUs can address each others resources over it.
    However, in the consumer world, only one NVLink is operational, capping the cross card communications to just (LOL) 100GBps. Still, compared to HB SLI at 2GBps and regular original SLI at 1GBps, its huge.

    However, game support and consumer interest in SLI has been waning for the last few generations so fewer and fewer games support it properly - with very few seeing the huge performance gains we saw in the early years when it was new. In theory, NVLink will remove a lot of the code specificity required for SLI by putting the GPUs and their resources much closer together but its still very early days for such things.

    My guess is that you're just too far ahead of the curve and dwelling in the "we're still working this out" phase of game development (just like ray tracing) so proper support is still patchy and most games that support SLI are pretty much relying on SLI happening over the NVLink. I couldn't find anything specific about FC5 and NVlink, do you have a link I can read up on?

    SLI never did, no. NVLink is not SLI.
    Except this is not SLI. Its NVLink. You might as well be complaining that the OP doesn't know jack about AGP before dropping coin on PCIe :rolleyes:
     
  17. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    10,737
    Location:
    Canberra
    SLI is all but dead, partly thanks to UE4's lack of support for it and how many games use that now. (Though I think they may have just added support in an recent update).

    I think its awesome he can afford 2 x 2080ti's even though 90% of the time he will get performance of just 1. Power to you!

    What we need is the chipset/GPU/API support for true multi GPU setups where it is all treated as 1 card without any scaling or anything and memory stacks. Would be heaven getting a 100% performance boost in everything with multi gpu setups and TBH I think we need for true 4k 144hz gameplay.

    One can dream.. (I'm sure itl happen eventually)
     
  18. VTi-RT

    VTi-RT Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I might be completely wrong (can recall reading somewhere a long time ago), but doesn't DirectX 12 have multi-GPU support where you can add GPUs from different vendors and take advantage of them all?
     
  19. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    10,737
    Location:
    Canberra
    A feature yes but not used probably due to how tricky it is.

    I recall seeing it somewhere, maybe it was Ashes of Singularity?
     
  20. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,525
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    I've you've been around long enough, first it was rumored with DX10, then DX11, then DX12, then whatever that new tech thingo was called.

    So, SLI maybe probably will be awesome with DX13!
     

Share This Page