OCAU Guitar Players Club 3

Discussion in 'Musicians' started by sandwichamwin, Jun 11, 2010.

  1. shino

    shino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    440
    got a new s/h guitar with a rocksmith cable. slight volume with garageband but no sound out of logic pro x.
     
  2. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9,695
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Roll the cable around (is there some split wires) whilst playing a power chord.
     
  3. Cererus

    Cererus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,536
    Location:
    ≥∞
    ASIO driver will not let other sound sound sources work?

    I have been messing around with Amplitube which is a Amp/stomp pedal/cabinet emulator for the PC
    I am connecting my guitar to this with a rocksmith real tone cable, to make this usable without lag I'm either selecting Windows direct sound (exclusive mode) or ASIO4all drivers.

    My issue is that these driver selections in Amplitube will block any other sound device like media players or Youtube. I would like to have Youtube or downloaded video tutorials running at the same time to practice.
    I understand ASIO shunts the audio signal direct to the sound card bypassing the OS to avoid lag, people are using 3rd party software like https://www.vb-audio.com/Voicemeeter/
    to get around the limitation of ASIO4all and have multiple sound sources.
    I've been messing around with this all weekend but can't get it working and I'm getting out of my depth and frustrated.

    Would anyone be able to help or point me to a tutorial, I have tried a guide form the Amplitube forum using Voicemeeter which is supposed to work with no luck.

    My sys is Win10 1903, using the on-board realtek sound chip, I have tried updating the sound chip drivers.
     
  4. shino

    shino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    440
    Suppose a audio intereface like focusrite will make it work....
     
  5. jclei

    jclei Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I've heard that's a pretty common issue with those types of cables.

    Better off just buying an audio interface. They can be had pretty cheap these days. Can buy new basic ones for $80
     
  6. Cererus

    Cererus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,536
    Location:
    ≥∞
    FWIW, I wound up buying a Behringer UCG102 guitar link. Theres even chinese clone versions on ebay that seem to work the same for $10. But I wanted it now so shelled out $50 at an online AUS music store.
    This solved the issue
     
    spokeydokey likes this.
  7. alexb618

    alexb618 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,873
    Location:
    adelaide
    ive been playing my acoustic for like 3 weeks now with strings that are in dire need of replacement but i CANNOT BE BOTHERED. ughhhhhhhhh
     
  8. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,147
    Location:
    Perth
    You need a roadie. :D
     
  9. alexb618

    alexb618 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,873
    Location:
    adelaide
    honestly i dont even have an excuse because i am on holidays at the moment but ughhhhhhhh

    could have changed 5 sets in the time ive spent moaning about it here
     
  10. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,147
    Location:
    Perth
    I like doing it, I like polishing everything and making it all shiny.
     
  11. alexb618

    alexb618 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,873
    Location:
    adelaide
    my address is...
     
  12. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,147
    Location:
    Perth
    hahahaha, if you were local, I'd do it. I used to try to get my guitar teacher to let me do his guitar. He ended up getting it serviced and the guy cleaned it up as part of that.
     
  13. ndt

    ndt Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Perth
    Pretty sure the strings on one of my lesser used guitars are like 6 years old at this point.
     
  14. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,147
    Location:
    Perth
    but they don't just go bung sitting about, do they? I've just dug out one of mine and the strings would be old, it sounds ok to me....
     
  15. Perko

    Perko Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,426
    Location:
    NW Tasmania
    Depends on the strings and the environment they're in.

    I pulled out my Tele once when it had been in its case for a couple of years with a set of Elixirs on it, and thought I should change them, and I couldn't tell the difference tonally before and after.

    But then my king v uses really heavy D'addario NYXL uncoated strings to run C tuning, and they're as dead as a door nail and start feeling crappy after a month of light use.
     
  16. Radley

    Radley Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,758
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    Strings rust in their packaging after a year or 2 where I live.
     
  17. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,147
    Location:
    Perth
    oh yes, location makes sense. North/tropical can be harsh on stuff, can't it?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: