OCAU Ryzen Overclocking discussion/ Guide / Owners Thread

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by mAJORD, Mar 3, 2017.

  1. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,415
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Gskill trident neo z 3200 cl16
     
  2. headin2001

    headin2001 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,397
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    if you can download typhoon burner. It will tell what IC the ram is. This will give an idea of where your ram can go.
     
  3. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Melbourne
  4. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,415
    Location:
    Melbourne
  5. headin2001

    headin2001 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,397
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    They can be different. I’d suggest using typhoon burner to confirm.

    If they are Hynix AFR, they will go a bit further but don’t expect miracles

    hynix MFR they will be at their limit

    Hynix CFR are capable surprising ram. I ran a 2x16gb 3600 kit recently at 4333c18-21-21 (1.35v) and 3800C16-19-19 (1.35v).

    i believe there is an M-Die but haven’t touched any of these yet.
     
  6. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Melbourne
    See above. As per headin’s post, it depends on the ICs. But at that price point, they are most likely MFRs.

    http://www.softnology.biz/

    Download thaiphoon burner and post a screenshot for us.
     
  7. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,415
    Location:
    Melbourne
  8. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2019
    headin2001 likes this.
  9. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,415
    Location:
    Melbourne
    How can you tell they are CJRs anyway? What are you looking for specifically?

    BTW i booted and ran a few basic tests with 3600mhz and CL16. Seems ok. Havent run any serious stress tests yet though.
     
  10. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Screenshot -> DRAM components -> Part number: The last few characters in the part number.

    Use memtest for a thorough test or AIDA64 stability test and tick memory only for a quicker, dirtier test.

    Also don't be afraid to push a little voltage through the RAM. Anything up to 1.5V is safe for 24/7 use.
     
  11. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,415
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Even at 3600 RAM and 1800 Infinity fabric, cpuz reports my dram ratio as 3:54. :/// should be 1:1!!
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2019
  12. M1ck1

    M1ck1 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Ipswich Qld
    No thats the ratio of your FSB to your ram and cpu's don't have a Front Side Bus as such anymore, it's pretty irrelevant your ram is 1800 x2 double data rate = 3600 1800mhz to infinity fabric 1800 is 1:1
    if you look under SPD in CPU Z your memory under XMP will be 1600mhz (x2=3200) but it hasn't got your OC as its reading the stock table from your ram module. Your sweet
     
  13. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    DJR might be the other one you're thinking of, pretty new and I've only seen them on a couple of kits so far but I can agree with the rest, CJR is good daily, AFR and MFR tend to cap out around 3200-3400 with reasonable timings

    Need to use Ryzen Master to check fclk (Infinity Fabric clock), CPU-Z will tell you uclk (Memory controller) and mclk (Memory clock)
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  14. headin2001

    headin2001 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,397
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    3800c16-19-19 at 1.35v should be possible.

    if you want them to get interesting , try 3800C16-19-16-19-38-51.
    Just make sure you set FCLK and Memory clock to 1:1, memory divider won’t ever be 1:1
     
  15. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,415
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I reduced the core down to 1.375 and 4.4ghz is still happy. I noticed on auto it was sitting at 1.4v a lot of the time.
     
  16. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,415
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Got the 3200 ram happy at 3600 by loosening timings to 18-22-22-42 1.35v

    Was unstable at CL16 at any voltage.
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  17. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,415
    Location:
    Melbourne
    What cpu core voltage are people running for daily use over locked or stock?

    When I set everything to stock auto the vcore fluctuates between 1.1 when sleeping and 1.4v when at 4.1ghz - which seems high to me considering I can get it stable at 1.35v at 4.4ghz or 1.25v for 4.3ghz

    Is my motherboard just throwing extra voltage at the cpu unnecessarily?
     
  18. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Anything up to 1.45V is perfectly fine.
     
  19. 335 GT

    335 GT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    W.A.
    When your chip is running in auto, watch it. Ryzen master is the only really accurate voltage monitoring tool AFAIK.

    The power control on these chips is fascinating. You will get a pattern of high voltage with low to no load and low(er) voltages with really heavy loads.
    It's all to do with how much current they are pulling. It somehow load balances, it's very clever.

    And nothing to worry about. EDIT. On 2nd thoughts in saying that, be careful manually running your voltage because these things really do drop their VID and ramp current when the pedal hits the metal. I don't know what is considered 'safe' when set manually.

    Happy New Year!
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2020
  20. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,415
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yeah I see the voltage jumping all over the place. it is very different to my 2600k!

    Ive settled into 1.25v for 4.3ghz oc for daily use. It barely touches 55c under load which is nice.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: