OCAU Ryzen Overclocking discussion/ Guide / Owners Thread

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by mAJORD, Mar 3, 2017.

  1. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Melbourne
    What are you using to test stability?
     
  2. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,415
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Aida64

    anything else I should use?
     
  3. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I like prime95 blend test but Aida is pretty good too. Are you testing both cpu and ram?
     
  4. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,415
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Cpu ram cache and fpu at the same time. Is that how to do it?
    Back in the day I used prime95. I guess I assumed it was outdated now. Haha.
     
  5. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5,556
    Location:
    Straya
    I thought people had stopped using prime because it was damaging intel cpus a couple years back
     
  6. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I think Intel are doing a good job of that themselves. :lol:
     
  7. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5,556
    Location:
    Straya
    The year is 2022, AMD have started charging $1,000 for mid range parts... the people are crying out for intel to bring balance back to the force.
     
    Bold Eagle and OJR like this.
  8. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It wouldn't surprise me.
     
  9. Excellent Mong.

    Excellent Mong. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Not sure where to post a query like this, so I'm wondering the wisdom in this thread can help me. I'm speccing up a 3900X workstation build and looking for an X570 motherboard. Pretty much settled on the Gigabyte Aorus X570 Master, but it has an unusual power configuration. It uses 12 phase power with no doubler, unlike almost every other X570 board which uses a 6*2 or 7*2 layout with a doubler (going off this source).

    I'm considering a custom water loop mostly to benefit a future GPU which'll get hammered, so it makes sense to consider any issues to overclocking the CPU too. I'm aware that the 3900X has relatively low headroom for OC and will generate a lot of heat. The Aorus Master seems to be well regarded for VRM heatsinks, so I don't imagine a build-quality issue, but it also has two 8-pin power connectors in addition to the 24v which seems like a big need.

    I am uncertain whether the difference in power layout will have any effect on overclocking performance or long-term reliability. I'm hoping that personal experience in this thread might provide some pointers here.

    My queries are are these: does this matter at all? Is it a generational change that Gigabyte are slow to make, or is there some significance to the prospect of overclocking or heat management that I need to consider here?

    Thanks for any insight anyone can provide.
     
  10. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,054
    Location:
    4109
    ^ the vrm solution is in therory better. it allows better/finer control.

    have a look for the buildzoid video on best x570 mobos
     
    Pazzu likes this.
  11. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The Gigabyte boards have the best power delivery out of the X570 boards.
     
  12. Excellent Mong.

    Excellent Mong. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Melbourne
    That's good - it looks like a winner then. Thanks.

    Cheers for putting me on to this guy - checking out his stuff now.
     
  13. Pazzu

    Pazzu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    2602 Canberra
    Honestly, if I were to spend good money on a mobos, I would check out Buildzoids videos first, top notch in-depth technical information.

    Choose the GB X570i Aorus Pro, based on his overview.
     
  14. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,961
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Buildzoid i think spoke about a board that had memory slots really close to the CPU or something which was causing issues..
    anyone remember something like that? and which board it was?

    I'm having issues with my GB aorus Pro (1st channel not working), have sent it back for RMA
    But it has made me nervous about this board now...
     
  15. 335 GT

    335 GT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    W.A.
    Sounds to me like the board has a broken trace.
    This stuff happens sometimes. I wouldn't sweat it. More inconvenience than anything.
     
  16. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,961
    Location:
    Adelaide
    If i clear CMOS the BIOS 'sees' the RAM, and will boot into windows with 16GB, but will freeze soon after.
    Then the RAM isn't seen in BIOS or windows though CPU-z will see it (maybe reading the EEPROM?)
    But then i think if i clear CMOS again it will do the same again. (didn't get to test this as i had to pack it up and send it away)
     
  17. the_antipop

    the_antipop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,869
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I've started to do some overclocking via ZenStates (https://zenstates.protonrom.com/)
    Has anyone else used this new software? I've pushed my 3600 to 4.2ghz in Zenstates, however I'm not sure how stable it is. Temps were good during a cinebench test, and score was much better than just utilising PBO (via Asus bios).

    Anyone had any other success with it?
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  18. chook

    chook Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,551
    Haven't seen it until now but looks groovy. I ordered my PSU today (finally!) so hopefully it will get here this week and I can have a play on the weekend.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: