OCAU Ryzen Overclocking discussion/ Guide / Owners Thread

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by mAJORD, Mar 3, 2017.

  1. anthonyl

    anthonyl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,380
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Have plenty of air flow.. have 5 x 140mm fans all blowing outwards.. 2 at the front, 2 up top and 1 at the back all blowing out. The 2 front ones were blowing in but when i made them blow outwards it dropped idle temps by 4 degrees.

    Just played COD and load was around 40% on the CPU... temps were getting up in the 87 degree range..

    I have an Asus B550 ROG Strix and went into the BIOS but am unable to change the CPU voltage..
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2020
  2. anthonyl

    anthonyl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,380
    Location:
    Brisbane
    UPDATE...

    Lowered the voltage to 1.2V and now the highest temps are going during gaming is around 75 -78 degrees..
     
    mesaoz likes this.
  3. anthonyl

    anthonyl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,380
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Update:

    Just installed the Noctua NH-D-15 Chromax.black and HOLLY SHEET!!

    Idle temps are now in the mid 30's and playing COD all ULTRA settings temps are now topping in the high 50's..and for some strange reason my GPU temps have gone down by around 8 degrees!!
     
    stiben likes this.
  4. stiben

    stiben Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Glad to hear that :) I also run a D15
     
  5. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,397
    Location:
    Tas
    People just assume that AIO is the only option these days, but in many cases the high end air coolers are just as good if not better. I personally can't stand the pump noise from an aio so air cooler all the way.
     
    museumman likes this.
  6. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,199
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I have never heard “pump noise” on an AiO. But I don’t buy the cheap ones.
     
  7. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,397
    Location:
    Tas
    They're pretty much all the same
     
  8. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,199
    Location:
    Melbourne
    OK well in that case I have never heard pump noise on an Asetek AiO.
     
  9. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,397
    Location:
    Tas
    Yeah fairo, we all have different ears and each to their own. I really can't tune out the little high pitched revvy motor noise (PWM is especially maddening) even from across the room, give me fan noise any day. I've had quite a few different types coolermaster/corsair/alphacool and they all do it. That said I have an open loop on my main PC and that's not too bad, more of a lower pitch humm which doesn't bother me.
     
  10. DivHunter

    DivHunter Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,209
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The stock cooler is trash.

    My 5600X ran hot with the stock cooler so I put a Cryorig H7 on it, dropped temps immensely, the D15 is probably overkill :lol:

    Probably install them the right way around too.
     
  11. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,870
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    OK for some reason my Bus speed will not sit at 100 even when under load with my 3600, it only started a few months ago and before that it would sit at 100 but now it is sitting at 98.5ish

    I have manually set it to 100 in the bios and even tried 101 but it makes no difference. Any one know why this might be happening?

    oh and board and b450 i aurous pro

    2021-01-14 09_04_51-CPU-Z.png
     
  12. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,870
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    nevermind, appears it was a bios issue, updated and its all sweet now!
     
  13. self_slaughter

    self_slaughter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,697
    Location:
    4165
    ^ bus reads low if you have virtualisation enabled in the bios.
     
  14. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,870
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    Ooooooooo so I can just flick that bad boy on when it's testing time!

    I love you!
     
    self_slaughter likes this.
  15. neRok

    neRok Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,993
    Location:
    Perth NOR
    On my AM3 board, this was an option/feature that I think was called spread spectrum control, and it would vary the frequency ever so slightly to avoid electronic interference and stuff like that. Don't know if it applies to this ryzen and AM4 stuff.
     
  16. Rupet2019

    Rupet2019 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2019
    Messages:
    88
    Hi All, have a question about stock voltage on overclock. Using PBO to overclock to around 4400mhz all core. Voltage in cpuz showing as 1.41volts under load. Temps are mid 60s. Any issues with running this sort of volatage? In windows it sita round 1.08v normally. Using cinebench 20 or Cyberpunk its all core 4.4 and 1.4v at high 60s. Water cooled.
    thanks
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2021
  17. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,199
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Perfectly fine. I have seen voltage spikes of up to 1.5V. A lot of monitoring programs can't read the correct voltage anyway. What app are you using?
     
  18. Rupet2019

    Rupet2019 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2019
    Messages:
    88
    Cpu id..ill.check with cpuid hwmonitor
     
  19. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,326
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Running my 5800X @ 0.85v as a daily driver. So power efficient!!
     
  20. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,661
    Location:
    South East QLD
    What all core clocks are you getting at that voltage?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: