OCAU Ryzen Overclocking discussion/ Guide / Owners Thread

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by mAJORD, Mar 3, 2017.

  1. Rammoth

    Rammoth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Melbourne
    ASUS cashin us outside again;

    PRIME X370-PRO BIOS 0515
    1.Improve system stability.
    2.Enhance memory compatibility
    3.Improve CPU temperature monitor function

    About to load and see if the temp offset is finally fixed.
     
  2. Rammoth

    Rammoth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ok, so - UEFI seems to report temps correctly now. NEAT. Now to see if it has stopped the hard resets under OC with inaccurate temps at 4ghz issue.

    nb. Ryzen Master app still has a high figure for temps. Slowly slowly we get fixes.
     
  3. Bertross

    Bertross Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    13,759
    Location:
    East Gipps
    Anyone mucked around with Asus Crosshair Hero 6 1002?

    FOr me its not as good as 0902... I cant get memory to even 2666 now with both non CPU OC or even BCLK overclock.

    Currently im at 2400Mhz 4x8 15/16/16/35 T2 @3.8Ghz.
     
  4. MoMaN69

    MoMaN69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,131
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hi All,

    Joined the Ryzen bandwagon

    Currently im at 2,926Mhz 2x8 CPU @3.9Ghz.

    Specs:
    Ryzen 1700
    ASUS PRIME B350M-A
    Corsair Vengeance 3000mhz Black
     
  5. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,122
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    I'm running it now, memory is running the same for me now as it was on 0902
     
  6. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,064
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Same with me. Gerry ur doing it wrong.
     
  7. phantompisser

    phantompisser Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    977
    Location:
    Perth
    Finally got the last of my parts after a wait of pretty much bang on a month (I pre-ordered ) . I originally ordered the Asrock K4 but after nearly 3 weeks I cancelled that and ordered the Asus x370 Prime . It's very flimsy and cheaply built without an Led error display but it's what I could get at the time . The bios seems very un-intuitive but maybe thats just me . The RGB seems completely pointless but meh .

    Just using Ryzen Master I got my 1700 up to 3800@1.35V . At least thats what I set it to but Ryzen master and cpuid are both showing voltages that fluctuate to >1.40 volts . So when you guys are posting your results are you posting set voltage or actual voltage ?
    My temps were hitting 90c with the stock Wraith Spire HSF . I have an evo212+ fom my old build but I don't have an AM4 adapter for it yet . I'll get serious about cranking it up when that's strapped on .

    The Kingston HX424C15FB2K2/16 Ram works at 2400/15/15/15/35 . I was quite surprised it just worked first time on the original shipping bios . I did try for 2666@1.2V but that was an instant fail . I'm a bit confused as to where in Ryzen Master that you pump that one up .
     
  8. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,090
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Anyone think these CPUs and boards are pretty well behaved compared to there Intel counterparts?

    I'm on a B350 board so it lacks a lot of the fancy overclocking stuff but I stuck 1.35v on the core and the highest I've seen it is 1.375v :shock: (Cinebench full load), considering I have no LLC or anything that's better then my 2500K or 3570K which need LLC on extreme and a bunch of other tweaks to be stable.

    RAM's playing nice as well, 14-14-14-34 @2400MHz, I haven't tried pushing it more but I may in the coming weeks, waiting on some more BIOS updates first.

    Temps haven't been the greatest but my room is pretty hot and I'm on air and I have a 290 air cooled so... basically I have a heater under my desk :lol:.

    So far I'm pretty happy with my build although it is a bit ugly at the moment, have yet to put it under stress but I'll be doing that soon enough.
     
  9. MoMaN69

    MoMaN69 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,131
    Location:
    Sydney
    I think there slightly more fiddly, but easy to setup and get going.

    Upping my ram to the 3000mhz and cpu @ 3.9ghz was no hassle at all.

    Seems super stable with the air cooler also, been playing wildlands all day.
     
  10. phantompisser

    phantompisser Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    977
    Location:
    Perth
    That is definitely not why I went AMD .
    Quite frankly the experience has been quite flakey so far but I'm rooting for AMD and really hope they get it together .
     
  11. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,090
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Maybe I'm just lucky, I haven't had any serious problems except on a fresh Windows install and that wasn't exactly the hardware I just had to have a specific update installed before it would stop giving me a BSOD.

    The only real hardware problems I've had is it hangs for about 30 seconds on the RAM at boot and the PCI-e lane for my GPU says 8x 1.1. The RAM thing I can live with and the PCI-e I think is just reading wrong.

    Aside from that my build seems to be fine. I haven't however tried overclocking because my temps hit 90° during Cinebench (70° if we factor in the stupid offset).
     
  12. OP
    OP
    mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    11,548
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    Just board teething problems..

    uCode updates have already been pushed out for problematic CPU errata. All standard stuff for a new uArch.
     
  13. itsmydamnation

    itsmydamnation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    10,680
    Location:
    Canberra
    yeah ASUS seem to be the worst at the moment in terms of BIOS/memory support. Seems everyone else is better. Hopefully they pick up their game.

    Also hopefully the big update in may helps alot.
     
  14. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,122
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    Really?

    I've had both 32GB and 16GB running 3200Mhz on my Hero pretty easy.
     
  15. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,064
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yup, the C6H is probably one of the better RAM clocking boards out there.

    What are you basing that silly comment on itsmydamnation?
     
  16. itsmydamnation

    itsmydamnation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    10,680
    Location:
    Canberra
    Just general comments across lots of forums/reddit. Where people are either fine or stuck @ 2133/2400. Most of those people stuck @ 2133 seemed to be running ASUS boards. They also seemed to be slower at getting new AGESA updates out ( which could be the very reason for people with slower memory speeds).

    Its not that they cant run just as fast, its just that it seems that across a large section of memory chips ASUS seem to have more chips that cant clock as high as there competitors.

    Ultimately it will probably just be a time thing and it will all come out in the wash.

    I haven't play with zen myself yet, was going to buy several 1700's to replace my esxi boxes, now im waiting to see the price of 12 or 16 core.....lol hopefully its not much more then the price of the 6 core doubled + 20-25% ( so if they did a 12core non x around the 800 to 900 AUD mark).
     
  17. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,064
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Not sure what forums you're looking at but check the first post on overclock.net and see what speeds people are getting on the C6H

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1624603/rog-crosshair-vi-overclocking-thread

    There is a good mix of RAM kits there as well.

    I'm at 3200 myself.
     
  18. Rammoth

    Rammoth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Of all the board manufacturers ASUS have been the most prompt with fixes and updates. Gigabyte are still trailing so far behind. :thumbdn:
     
  19. FatBoy

    FatBoy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,156
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Unfortunately this is true
     
  20. Rammoth

    Rammoth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Melbourne
    <tinfoilhat>

    The conspiracy theory is that Intel are the root cause of this platforms painfully slow progression via their heavy influence and that ASUS have been the only major player unswayed by their influence.

    </tinfoilhat>
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: