OCAU Ryzen Overclocking discussion/ Guide / Owners Thread

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by mAJORD, Mar 3, 2017.

  1. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    Happy to hear it! :D
     
    the_antipop likes this.
  2. the_antipop

    the_antipop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Haha - well, me again. New issue.

    For some reason, my overclock is never going past 3.65ghz. In my BIOS settings, I set my overclock to something like 3.85 or 3.8, and restart, it boots straight back up, however it has auto switched to 3.65... Has anyone ever had this issue? I have reset the bios defaults, reset cmos - but everytime I change the cpu core clock to anything above 3.65, it just auto defaults back down to it... I can change everything else fine (cpu voltage offset, ram overclock and ram voltage).
     
  3. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,479
    I had a similar issue with Crosshair VI extreme. It was a BIOS issue. Asus eventually released a BIOS that fixed it. Are you running the latest BIOS?
     
  4. the_antipop

    the_antipop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Yeah running the latest bios. Was tinkering til the late last night, and I think I fixed it. Seems that when you select the “Asus Optimal” setting it auto switches to 3.65ghz. Changing it back to normal, it enables a higher overclock. Interesting.
     
  5. Rod M

    Rod M Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,273
    Location:
    Sydney
    is using Prime 95 still a good way to test an oc?
     
  6. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5,798
    Location:
    4109
    Prime will always be a good test of part of the cpu but not all of it.
    IBT was another good one, as is looping of 3dmark etc
    You could run MemTest too

    But, doesnt Ryzen Master have a torture test built-in?

     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2018
    Rod M likes this.
  7. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    Realbench will be my go to for quite some time, there's a bit of everything in there :)
     
    Rod M likes this.
  8. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,479
    Prime95 blend test is still my go to. If it passes that for an hour it’s going to be stable for anything else you might throw at it work wise.
     
    Rod M likes this.
  9. Plonkflopped

    Plonkflopped Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Brisbane
    2700 non x OC guide on a b450 board ? My google skills suck.
     
  10. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,479
    there is no need to overclock. they overclock themselves if your cooling and power delivery is decent.
     
    WRX_STi likes this.
  11. shirl

    shirl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    sydney
    my 1700 tops out at 3965mhz voltage to achieve wasnt worth it,it turbos to 3750mhz stock volts so it will stay there cbf tinkering any more..
     
  12. WRX_STi

    WRX_STi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,705
    Location:
    Cairns
    Exactly, I get 4.3 GHZ on my 2600X doing nothing,
    When I try manual overlock I think 4200 is about it. I let the AMD do its thing.
     
  13. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,479
    My 2700X was boosting up to 4385 on some cores.
     
  14. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Picked up a 2700x and Asus x470 itx board yesterday. Used the stock cooler first then chucked it in a bigger case with a few rads and it helped a bit.
    Seems to be going ok so far.

    Click to view full size!
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2018
    1dongchen and museumman like this.
  15. darkbastard

    darkbastard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    Duranbah - near Kingsclif
    That’s a decent memory clock as well Ginn.

    Nice result especially on an itx board.

    Doesn’t it take the 9900k 4.7 or 5ghz on all cores to break 2000 in cinebench????
     
    1dongchen likes this.
  16. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Not sure on how the 9900k is at 5Ghz. Tried 4.5Ghz but not so good. Got to 4.44Ghz and 3866c16 on the mem.

    Click to view full size!
     
    museumman likes this.
  17. darkbastard

    darkbastard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    Duranbah - near Kingsclif
    4.44 is still well above the curve - as is 3866 on the ram
     
  18. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Slight bump in clocks. Needed c18 for 3913Mhz on the mem.
    Would need more volts for any kind of stability though.

    Click to view full size!
     
    MUTMAN and OJR like this.
  19. the_antipop

    the_antipop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Was able to get my ram to 3200 using the Ryzen ram calculator, but started to get crashes in games, and even chrome, including the odd BSOD. I reset bios and was able to get to 3133mhz without turning on XMP, or playing with the timings - just bumped the voltage to 1.35v. I think I'll leave it there :thumbup:
     
  20. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2018
    MUTMAN likes this.

Share This Page