OCAU SSD Owners Club

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by goodguy82, Oct 16, 2009.

  1. RhysG

    RhysG Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,010
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Add me to the list please :Pirate::leet:!
    OCZ-VERTEX 60GB
     
  2. jalyst

    jalyst Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    670
    Anyone? Thanks!

    Some more insight being garnered here for those whom are interested
    http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/f...rforming-30-32-GB-SSD-s-atm&p=483339&posted=1
     
  3. sanjay

    sanjay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    16,052
    Location:
    Maribyrnong, Melbourne
    intel x-25m g1 80gb for my new PC build

    patriot warp v2 64gb most likely to go in my acer aspire 3810T

    OCZ solid series 60gb to go in my acer aspire one 751H when acer support returns it to me after theyve finished their bukakke session on it :mad:
     
  4. jalyst

    jalyst Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    670
    Doesn't G1 have no trim support?

    What controller/NAND does this use?
    Similar to the OCZ Vertex?

    Eeiiiww, not the bukakke I mean the drive, jk! :D
     
  5. Dark_chaos

    Dark_chaos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Victoria
    Just got mine today, Intel X25-M G2 80GB.
    Its Awesome.
     
  6. c0rr

    c0rr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    finally got around to upgrading my e5200 setup so I can see what all this SSD fuss is about...

    i7-860
    P55A-UD3R
    G.Skill F3-16000 4GBRH
    and most importantly a 128gb G.Skill Falcon II

    hoping the move to SSD from what is a normal sata(1) hdd for my system drive is even half as good as I'm led to believe, only wishing I didnt have about 12 drinks before I decided I'm not going out tonight and Ill essentially build a whole pc while somewhat unsober (in fact it would probably be easier building a whole new pc rather then having to remove all the old components first :() Gonna do a straight up fresh install, anything (settings wise) I should know about these drives that isnt already done for me by windows out of the box?

    *edit* upon a bit of reading i see theres a newer firmware, is this on all falcon II's out of the box? model I've got is FM-25S2I-128GBF2
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2010
  7. jalyst

    jalyst Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    670
    @Sanjay, did you see this?
    You reckon you could take a minute to respond?
    Much appreciated!
     
  8. FatBoyNotSoSlim

    FatBoyNotSoSlim Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Location:
    SE Melbourne
    goodguy82, please revise my drive list to include the Kingston 40GB, decided to keep it since it now support TRIM, thanks to some craft firmware hacks. :)
     
  9. sanjay

    sanjay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    16,052
    Location:
    Maribyrnong, Melbourne
    not a minute, but i can spare 30 seconds ;)

    yes, the G1 has no trim support but i got it for $200USD and to be honest i can live with the degradation in performance, as it'll still beat an equivalent HDD.

    the patriot warp v2 uses the revised jmicron controller with the extra cache, i believe.

    and yes, the OCZ solid series isnt great, but its going into what is already a slow netbook, so for me its more about increasing battery life (beyond the 8 hours i can already get from it) than lightning-fast response times. plus i bought that one about 6 months ago for $100USD (love ebay US :D)
     
  10. jalyst

    jalyst Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    670
    K thanks, thought it might be based on the Indilinx Barefoot.
    No go for me, thanks for letting me know!
     
  11. OP
    OP
    goodguy82

    goodguy82 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,861
    Location:
    Adelaide
    No worries boys, update soon.

    Where did you manage to get your hands on that intel drive from sanjay? :D
     
  12. deva_da_man

    deva_da_man Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'm a proud new owner of a G-skill Falcon (1) 64GB, has made a world of difference to my macbook.

    yay for ssd ownership! :D
     
  13. VTi-RT

    VTi-RT Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Looking to become a SSD owner myself. Is it better to buy a highspeed single 128GB or get 2x64GB / 4x32GB for use a system drive?

    I won't be storing any No critical files on this drive.

    Has anyone had any experience with A-Ram SSDs?
    Looks like they're only being sold in Aus as google doesn't have any hits on them anywhere else.

    http://www.i-tech.com.au/products/60858_A_RAM_SSD_PRO_32GB_2_5__MLC__240_.aspx
     
  14. Dr1fty

    Dr1fty Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,718
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Get a couple of smaller ones, and raid them.

    I've had 2x 30gb's in raid-0 and a single 64gb as well. 2x30's was very nice, and the single 64 was still nice..

    But for me, an SSD is not worth the expense anymore, nor is it big enough for my games etc.. So raptor's for me still.
     
  15. VTi-RT

    VTi-RT Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Thanks for your thoughts Dr1fty. Yeah SSD's for me are really just to experience the technology and to also look at getting rid of load times.

    Anyone experience noticeable degradation of SSD’s performance in RAID 0 over longer periods of time (due to not having TRIM)?
     
  16. painkiller

    painkiller Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Add me to the list :D 2 x Kingston 40gb in RAID0
     
  17. EC MEISTER

    EC MEISTER Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,759
    Location:
    Ivalice
    Come on Member Number 99

    EC MEISTER - Patriot Torqx 128GB
     
  18. bhobba

    bhobba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    I have 2 Falcon 64gb drives in raid and its great. But that is not my suggestion. It would be 3 A-Ram pro 32gb drives in raid. They can be picked up for about $130-140 at a number of places eg
    http://www.myshopping.com.au/PR--337785_A_RAM_32GB_Pro_Series_SSD

    Don't bother with the A-Ram ultra. In a raid set up you simply wont notice the difference. Also don't go for any more than 3 - people who have bench-marked this have found 4 or more does not give any appreciable gains except when using expensive raid controllers rather than the one one you already probably have in on your motherboard.

    Don't worry about performance degradation. It really only applies to writes and if you enable write caching any degradation will not be noticeable except when mucking around with really large files. IMHO Trim and all that sort of stuff is a bit of a beat up - especially for raid. Check out:
    http://communities.intel.com/messag...E2C555140852A363C596050CD877A.node5COMS#24652
    'I actually do understand the issues of TRIM and SSDs fully. I've posted several times about this topic on past threads. However, I'll emphasize my point, too: The gains you get from using TRIM are minimal in real-world use. Sure, you can see slight differences by running benchmarks, but odds are the system will not operate this way in real-world conditions. RAID benefits significantly by having a built-in cache, thus the difference between enterprise-level controllers and 'low-cost' home consumer controllers. Gaining RAID performance isn't just a matter of 'going wrong' but a matter of using the right combination of hardware. It's a proven science, not open to much theory. A RAID cache will benefit your write performance more than the TRIM will, and that's a fact of I/O, period. If you wish to wait for TRIM to be fully implemented, that's your choice, of course, but I will guarantee your wait will be rewarded with very little satisfaction, except perhaps on the cheapest of SSD components. However, I only speak for the majority of systems operating out there. Perhaps you have a very unique situation where you're constantly writing gigabytes of data on an hourly basis to your SSDs. But, if it happens to be for your system pagefile or temporary files, perhaps an additional RAMDISK would be the next best upgrade to your system.'

    That said, with the drives I suggested you have garbage collection on idle. Simply leaving your computer on overnight every now and then corrects it any way. And if you are not constantly thrashing the computer all the time when using it leaving it on overnight is probably not even necessary, it will find enough idle time during normal use.

    Bottom line - forget about it. That's what I am doing except when I explain it to others.

    I have experienced zero degradation either noticeable or from running benchmarks which I do every month or so. I do not leave it on overnight so garbage collection may be working fine for me without it. However during normal use I often leave it idle for a few hours while I watch TV etc. But I am only using about 17gb of that 128gb any way (I devote a few minutes every day to keeping my system really clean by running stuff like CCleaner and getting rid of temp files - it accumulates 1 to 2 gb of junk each day). Without going into the details why, if you don't use much of a solid state drive performance degradation does not really exist anyway.

    Thanks
    Bill
     
  19. bhobba

    bhobba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Forgot to mention. Put me down for 2 falcon 64gb raided. Looking to upgrade to fusion I/O once they become boot-able.

    Thanks
    Bill
     
  20. bhobba

    bhobba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Just to give you an idea of the type of speed you would get with the 3 A-RAM's check out:
    http://i4memory.com/f9/4x-32gb-ocz-ssd-core-2-5-sataii-solid-state-disks-tests-8944/index10.html.
    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=608727

    The A-RAM's use exactly the same hardware as the OCZ's. Its faster than my setup and mine is blisteringly fast. The only issue I have is for some reason my 4k performance is not 2/3 - it is about 1/3 - why that is I have zero idea. Anyway it will give you an idea of the type of performance you can get. The SSD specific benchmark AS SSD is about 2/3 though and is probably a more reliable indicator of actual performance.

    Thanks
    Bill
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2010

Share This Page

Advertisement: