Oculus Rift

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Scroosh, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. Suntzu

    Suntzu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,823
    Location:
    Canberra
    Ive had mine for almost a year. I have home made sim rig I modified for VR. See my sig.

    Do it in this order:

    sight-line the chair
    titans of space
    welcome to oculus
    dont let go
    80' arcade
    Live for speed

    and ffs buy Elite Dangerous and its friggin awesome on the Dk2. :leet:

    I'll think of some more.:thumbup:
     
  2. iteration

    iteration Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I got one about two weeks ago and have been really impressed so far. I also upgraded my GPU from Crossfire 6970's to a 290 and it has made a huge difference...

    The only actual game that I play with it is Minecraft, as the minecrift mod works really well and plays on 1.8.3 servers without issue.

    In terms of demos, in addition to what was mentioned above I would suggest:

    *Vox Machinea
    *Neo's The Universe (Came out of recent VR Jam)

    It is also worth spending a few hours downloading a bunch of DK2 ports from the recent VR Jam. They aren't full games as such but there has been some really good content coming out of it.

    Reddit list of DK2 ports:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comments/35wk40/vr_jam_dk2_builds/
     
  3. djdude1010

    djdude1010 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    Melbourne
    has anyone else had issues lately with SDK 0.6??

    I'm having alot of black screen window issues on my rift.. its just a background task running that leaves and overlay ontop of the rift screen which is completely black.

    everything else seems to run in the background and it goes away once i kill the process.. its strange. I didn't get a change to re-install 0.5.0.1 beta again to see if it helps

    Trying to get Dirt:Rally working.. I'll report back with progress incase anyone else is interested.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2015
  4. Suntzu

    Suntzu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,823
    Location:
    Canberra
    I am interested in Dirt Rally but I think the menus and the horizon problem sound a bit shitty to deal with.

    I played assetto corsa in VR on Bathurst and that was sweet! Pity the rest of the VR interface is so broken.

    i want to try the VR jam titles tonight but i not sure what SDk to use!
     
  5. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,054
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Pics aren't showing?
     
  6. Suntzu

    Suntzu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,823
    Location:
    Canberra
    Oculus Rig - reborn from the ashes from the GT5 Rig!

    It was a few years ago. The images have gone..noo.! All home made with an old school arc welder.

    Here's the updated rig - now running Elite Dangerous like a dream (pardon the bad pun). It can be converted to G25 racing rig in about 5 minutes:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,054
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Love your desktop wallpaper.. it looks JUST like a wood heater!! :)
     
  8. roxydog

    roxydog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Geelong VIC
    I tried SDK 0.6 tonight but it stuffed everything up -
    reinstalled the previous one and working better than
    originally haha.
    Only played a bit on Elite Dangerous - absolutely unreal.
     
  9. Suntzu

    Suntzu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,823
    Location:
    Canberra
    Elite D 1.3 is out this Wednesday I think. So I have not installed the 0.6. Though I want to because of the asynchronous time warp and other features which seem very sexy. Including layer for text. So they can have higher resolution text in game sitting on lower resolution images.

    If time warp works then it could also solve station judder. I'm using a GTX 780 and i5 @4.4ghz and I have to run the lot on low. It would be great to have more fidelity.

    I bought this house at the gold coast after moving from Canberra. The woman who built it went nutts installing two wood heaters. I barely gets cold here (esp compared to canberra)

    So I use the wood heater as a mount for my DK2 camera! Luck my i5 is watercooled!:weirdo:
     
  10. djdude1010

    djdude1010 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Well all i can say is get it. get it now.. Dirt Rally, with SDK 0.5.0.1 works out of the box, in direct mode.. There is a slight issue with stutter on head movements, but this may be FPS related.

    Also, you need to have 4x MSAA at the moment for the DK2 to work in game, its strange, but game is beta.

    Physics wise, Dirt Rally is about the closest thing i've seen release to RBR
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2015
  11. roxydog

    roxydog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Geelong VIC
    I maybe stuffed up on the installation of SDK 0.6 - was thinking should have unplugged everything like on
    initial setup of rift - install SDK first.
    After I put the SDK 0.6 in hardware couldn't be found at all.
    Great setup BTW
     
  12. whatdoesthisdo

    whatdoesthisdo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10,171
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Oculus Touch

    Looks awesome, can't wait for this tech to be main stream.

    http://gizmodo.com/oculus-touch-hands-on-so-damn-good-1712031397
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2015

Share This Page

Advertisement: