Official 3 Thread Mk2 - Discuss plans, network, mobiles, etc

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Devices' started by Dan!el, Feb 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kenny34

    kenny34 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,150
    Location:
    Boronia
    I know it's obvious, but may be missed by some people reading it.
    Shouldn't the url be three, as in, a double ee?
     
  2. sanjay

    sanjay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    16,155
    Location:
    Maribyrnong, Melbourne
    im not allowed to make typos? :p

    fixed. :)
     
  3. kenny34

    kenny34 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,150
    Location:
    Boronia
    No! :leet: There should also be an apostrophe in the word im, and a capitol letter too. I'm. :p
    See it doesn't happen again. And give yourself a little pat on the back for the excellent work you do here too. :thumbup:

    Back on 3 topics, I may have missed it, as this threads just too big now, but has 3 and apple come to any agreement over getting iphones?
    If it's been answered recently, then feel free to flame like mad. :Paranoid:
     
  4. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,597
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I doubt we'll see 3 carry the iPhone at this stage (maybe the mkIII?) - everyone who really wanted one has already got one.

    I wonder what the churn rate from 3 will be since the iPhone was released?
     
  5. Aratama_Bashi

    Aratama_Bashi Iron Photographer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Location:
    Lausanne, Switzerland
    helluva lot lower now. hype has died down to almost nothing.
     
  6. fc_jai

    fc_jai Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    780
    Location:
    2110
    This is also the case with the N82...it automatically downloads the settings :)
     
  7. Mattip

    Mattip Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Im on the Nokia 6120 cap $29 cap, but i just picked up a N95 8gb at the pub. And was wondering if i unlock the N95 (currently on vodafone) if my 3 sim will work in it? Im not worried about 3g and all that jazz. Just phone calls and sms :thumbup:
     
  8. sanjay

    sanjay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    16,155
    Location:
    Maribyrnong, Melbourne
    im surprised his 6120 classic doesnt do it too...
     
  9. Supremo

    Supremo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    yeah my 6120 doesnt download the MMS and Planet 3 settings automatically.

    I've given up anyway - nothing works. Will just wait till I get my normal handset back from 3. :)
     
  10. groopa

    groopa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Perth, south of the river
    Have you tried using the nokia settings thingo?
    Goto here (you may have to go via this link) and follow the prompts.
    It then sends you a service settings message which does it all for you - and it's free (and works, i use it all the time).
     
  11. godkilla

    godkilla Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,031
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Bah the rumour mill seems to be suggesting that the diamond won't be out until th end of october now. :mad:
     
  12. Aratama_Bashi

    Aratama_Bashi Iron Photographer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Location:
    Lausanne, Switzerland
    late october / early november.
     
  13. Deftone2k

    Deftone2k In the Darkroom

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    15,928
    Location:
    Sydney
    Aratama (sorry my searches may have sucked) but i was going to ask, will there be an update to the free phones available on the 29 cap anytime soon?

    Going to purchase for the gf soon and wanted to know whether there was a device update just around the corner :)
     
  14. Aratama_Bashi

    Aratama_Bashi Iron Photographer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Location:
    Lausanne, Switzerland
    nothing slated atm for the 29 :thumbup:
     
  15. Graphite

    Graphite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    Australia
    This is probably like asking how long a piece of string is, but any idea on any phones that may become free on the $29 before the end of this year?
     
  16. sanjay

    sanjay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    16,155
    Location:
    Maribyrnong, Melbourne
    just as an update, on my recommendation (that i gave before aratama told me not to do so :p) my girlfriend's dad got the nokia 5610 xpressmusic on the $29 cap.

    he's chuffed to bits with it, ive had a brief play with it and quite like it myself - its solidly built, i like the sliding switch on the front to switch between phone - mp3 player - radio, and all in all i can see it lasting him better than a w910i would have.

    on another note, my co-worker bought a red w910i on the $29 cap and he's chuffed to bits with his too. :p

    i still lament the loss of the viewty on the 3 $29 cap, though. that was truely bargaintastic :(
     
  17. vanjastar

    vanjastar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Perth
    Got 4 of these in my family alone in the last month (y)
     
  18. L4ncer

    L4ncer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    I need some advice.
    I'm with Optus on prepaid and I'm not all that happy with them, and I'm also sick of my phone and wish to get a better one.

    I only spend around $30 a month sometimes a bit more.... and I was thinking of getting a 29 cap on 3....but would this be a bad idea? I know you get $150 a month worth of calls etc which I probably wouldn't get the full use out of. But Its also probably cheaper to get a new phone on a cap rather than buy it outright and continue paying 30 a month for prepaid recharge.

    What do you guys think?
     
  19. nerd1

    nerd1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,028
    if you are currently spending more than $29 a month on your optus prepaid, then yes this is a no brainer.... if not then you will have to work out your sums.

    eg, find cheap fone, get $20 isim pack (inc $20 credit) and you can use this for a year or 2 if you never make any calls.
     
  20. josh81

    josh81 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,539
    Location:
    Bellbowrie, Brisbane
    Yeah, a no brainer. Get on a $29 cap, you'll probably end up saving money each month if you spend around $30 on prepaid.
    Plus you get a free handset, which you can keep, or sell the handset and get something else.
    Or sell to subsidise the cost of the payments.
    The best value handset is worth about $250 on ebay, so get that subsidises your monthly payments by $10 a month. So the value equates to $20 a month for $150 of credit, if you cash in the phone.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Advertisement: