Official 3 Thread Mk2 - Discuss plans, network, mobiles, etc

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Devices' started by Dan!el, Feb 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Aratama_Bashi

    Aratama_Bashi Iron Photographer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Location:
    Lausanne, Switzerland
    gay. they might refine it. who knows :)
     
  2. Aratama_Bashi

    Aratama_Bashi Iron Photographer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Location:
    Lausanne, Switzerland
    i know it is a bit late to shut the gate after the horse has bolted, but maybe this tidbit of advice could help everybody....

    whenever you are onthe phone with 3 customer care, and get an offer like the one mentioned above, always ask the person you are talking to, to write down the offer in the notes section of your account. the (main) reason why people don't end up getting these deals later on is that the notes are often vague or incomplete, or not done at all. giving the employee that little extra prompting will ensure that all the details are recorded on your account, AND in case anything goes wrong down the track, such as the situation above, you will always have those notes to back you up :thumbup:
     
  3. Pesa

    Pesa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hey there,

    Rather random question.

    I currently have two phones. A HTC Touch pro and a N95. I Currently use the HTC on a day to day basis and for my personal organizer etc etc.

    The n95 i use when I'm out on a job site just since its a little more durable, i dont need to worry about getting dirty and using it. And the cam is a lot better then the HTC for when photos are needed to be taken.

    Is there anyway i can get a cloned sim card? So i only need to turn one phone off and the other one to work? Not sure if this is possible or goes by a different name. Just don't want to have to sit around flipping over the sim card a few times every day and don't really want a 2nd number.

    Thanks for any help or suggestions,

    David
     
  4. L4ncer

    L4ncer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    I tried finding this but the thread is so damn big...
    Is data included in a cap plan, or do you have to pay extra?
    And how much per mb is it?
     
  5. Rollsta

    Rollsta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,546
    Location:
    Sydney
    It is extra. I believe it all comes under "X series" ?
    Link here
    http://xseries.three.com.au/xseries/pricing.shtml
     
  6. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Insert Custom Title Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,121
    Still doesn't quite fit horizontally on the 6280 either.

    -Nick
     
  7. Aratama_Bashi

    Aratama_Bashi Iron Photographer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Location:
    Lausanne, Switzerland
    physically not possible with USIM cards, fortunately.

    that's cause it's a 6280 :weirdo:
     
  8. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,597
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I was in a similar position. Swapped cards annoyed me and it was causing damage to one of my phones (crappy SIM slot), so I picked up a prepaid numbers to use along side my real number.

    If you don't want to miss calls from your real number, it's also very easy to divert it only temporarily to the prepaid number.
     
  9. sab988

    sab988 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    USSR
    well, i just bought a Sierra AC880U modem (telstra branded) of egay to test this. If HSUPA is active, this is gold !!! especially cause ill be needing it for VoIP.

    Can you post the settings u changed for it to work with 3

    Cheers
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 23, 2008
  10. Mshake

    Mshake Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Victoria (Now in HK)
    fark -- i am still on hot for 3 plan! Am I missing out completely on all these bloody new features? shitness
     
  11. sanjay

    sanjay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    16,153
    Location:
    Maribyrnong, Melbourne
    your hot for 3 plan is worth quite a bit to the right person these days...
     
  12. Aratama_Bashi

    Aratama_Bashi Iron Photographer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Location:
    Lausanne, Switzerland
    i heart hot for 3 plans :D
     
  13. bungs

    bungs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Adelaide
    How fkn hard is it for them to credit my bill $10 a month? The store said I had to ring up 3 to get it checked out, i'm on the phone right now for the 3rd time in 3 months explaining why I should be getting credited. Bunch of morons.:rolleyes:

    edit: while i'm in rant mode, it's hard enough to understand the indians on the other side of the line with perfect quality, let alone the shit quality that i'm experiencing, cutting in and out, static . Fucking grr
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2008
  14. FatBoyNotSoSlim

    FatBoyNotSoSlim Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,088
    Location:
    SE Melbourne
    2 Things:

    On the new portal, wheres the MSN/Live Messenger link gone?

    and

    Has 3 Email been broken for awhile now? I havent recieved any emails on my phone for a week now (automatically forwarded from Gmail) and today, Gmail was showing up some problems:

    ----- The following addresses had permanent delivery errors -----
    my.username@three.com.au

    ----- Transcript of session is unavailable -----

    Final-Recipient: RFC822; my.phonenumber@three.com.au
    Action: failed
    Status: 4.4.7
    Remote-MTA: X-Unix; mirapoint
    Diagnostic-Code: smtp; 450 4.2.2 Over quota
    Last-Attempt-Date: Thu, 23 Oct 2008 13:20:29 +1000 (EST)
     
  15. Aratama_Bashi

    Aratama_Bashi Iron Photographer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Location:
    Lausanne, Switzerland

    1. go to the "find" tab. 4th row of icons, first left.

    2. your three.com.au mailbox is full -- most commonly because the trash/deleted items is full. log in to webmail and flush it.
     
  16. FatBoyNotSoSlim

    FatBoyNotSoSlim Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,088
    Location:
    SE Melbourne
    Cheers for that. However that page only links me to Live Hotmail and Live Spaces, not the messenger.

    Heh, thanks for that. I had my phone to "delete also deletes from server" but I guess that never worked.
     
  17. agnostic|front

    agnostic|front Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    BNE
    i'm still on the "first on 3" plan, haven't been following any 3 stuff... should i move to another plan? don't use the phone much anymore besides the odd international calls every now and then; and internet browsing while commuting.
     
  18. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,597
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Keep in mind the AC880U is locked to Telstra...

    I made a new profile in the Telstra/Sierra connection software called "3", changed the APN to "3services" and that was about it. Made it the default connection too.

    Works well :thumbup:

    agnostic|front, if you don't need to keep your number, you could sell your plan.
     
  19. Mshake

    Mshake Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Victoria (Now in HK)
    I think the only thing i dislike about my plans
    - three is not interested in offering me any loyalty / free phones heheh... i tried even though my monthly bills sometimes can go up to 60/70 bucks and that is a lot considering my hot for 3 does not come with any minimum charge ...
    - CSR always say the only way is to sign a new plan ...which I then kindly decline....

    I notice the bulk of my charges - SMS......coz each one cost 15 cents and it's not part of the cap...unfortunately...

    so yea the physical TALK is cheap plan ....hahaha

    But i am envious of these new phones... !!!!
     
  20. sanjay

    sanjay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    16,153
    Location:
    Maribyrnong, Melbourne
    your hot for 3 plan is probably worth up to $500...back when aussie3g was still running there were a few being thrown around the place.

    then you could go on a cap :)

    id recommend keeping your hot for 3 as theres no minimum spend and then just signing up for a cap :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Advertisement: