Oh god what have I done...

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Hater, Oct 6, 2018.

  1. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,539
    Location:
    Canberra
    So in removing the heatsinks from a set of HP Hynix RAM so I can install them, I accidentally obliterated one of these guys:

    [​IMG]

    :(

    I'm running the RAM right now, all 4 sticks are registered and appears to be working.

    About to memtest it.

    What exactly have I destroyed though?
     
  2. Boneman

    Boneman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,693
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Looks like a flux capacitor.
     
    1dongchen likes this.
  3. mr camouflage

    mr camouflage Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    WA
  4. mareke

    mareke Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,182
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    One of those little things came off a stick of ram in my backup computer and it stopped being recognised so I threw it out. In my case the stick was only either 2 or 4 GB so losing it made little appreciable difference to performance of the computer. If it had been 16 GB like the stick in the photo it would have really pissed me off.
     
  5. Jazper

    Jazper Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,413
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    You could just solder another on..
     
  6. fad

    fad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,170
    Location:
    City, Canberra, Australia
    It’s just a decoupling cap. It’s to make the power rails stable. As long as it’s clean, no short circuits it should be fine.
     
  7. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    Did the same thing when delidding my 3700k with a hammer.
    Dam thing was stuck on so well I hit it harder and harder till it tor out of the vise and flew across the shed.
    Thankfully it just took out the IGP.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,539
    Location:
    Canberra
  9. Catweazle

    Catweazle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,904
    Location:
    Sale, Vic.
    Anything of importance being done on that machine means RAM has to be replaced. No way around it.
     
  10. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    11,337
    Location:
    Canberra
    yep, which means you'll get the worst kind of problems - intermittent ones.

    appears to have ECC as well, so that'll help prevent the intermittent errors from becoming actual problems. But still, time to replace it.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,539
    Location:
    Canberra
    Machine ran slow as hell with the two bad sticks installed. Removed them, went from 64GB to 32GB of RAM and the machines back to full speed.

    One stick showed 200,000+ ECC errors, the other one ~7000

    I'm just pissed at myself is all.

    I think the only way to make myself feel better is buy a pair of 32GB sticks to replace the broken 16GB sticks.
     
    elh9 and Catweazle like this.
  12. breno

    breno Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I broke something similar off a PS3 when I was cleaning thermal paste off the CPU, it never ran again... The smallest thing.
     
  13. Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,592
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    why not solder on the thing back in it's place ?
     
  14. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    11,337
    Location:
    Canberra
    you'd have to hope you still had the part, it itself wasn't damaged, you didn't damage the PCB, and were a soldering god, because that capacitor would be about the size of a grain of rice, and re-working lead free solder is fucking terrible.
     
  15. Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,592
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    add in some leaded solder.

    and if the stick is messed up, what has he got to lose.

    shrugs.

    i put in mod chips into playstations without much trouble, just take your time and use the right equipment
     
  16. OP
    OP
    Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,539
    Location:
    Canberra
    Grain 'o rice for scale.

    [​IMG]
     
    cvidler likes this.
  17. Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,592
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    Yeah, it's doable.

    You need a needle tip soldering iron and appropriate sized tweezers.

    use flux.

    put leaded solder onto the pads.

    pick up piece, place right next to pad as you heat it.

    once pad becomes liquid state, slide the capacitor into place and let it cool.

    once it's cooled, apply more flux if needed.

    then heat the other side that's yet to be soldered, once it's liquid it will bond to the other side of the capacitor.

    then disengage heat and let it solidify.

    clean up area.


    plug in and enjoy working ram stick ( unless something else has gone wrong )
     
  18. Munki

    Munki Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,467
    Location:
    Sydney
    The question is, what kind of rice is that though?
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,539
    Location:
    Canberra
    Ruler for scale.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,592
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    Fucking brilliant.


    also, if you were in Brisbane, I'd have a go at soldering this for you.
     

Share This Page