Old hardware appreciation thread

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by andyroo54, Jul 29, 2011.

1. andyroo54

andyroo54 Member

Hi.

So I searched but I couldn't find any threads dedicated to old hardware talk, I really like old gear as much as I like the new stuff, I think it's great to be able to see how far we've come by mucking around with old computer hardware. So this thread should be a place to post pics and or discuss old computers/servers etc etc if you so choose. I think it's really great to get an old machine running that can take you back to your earlier days, or to try and find a use for it rather than junking it. Macs and PC's it doesn't matter!

It doesn't have to be ancient either! I'm fairly new to this, it's like going back in time, in an incredibly geeky way I suppose.

So the first thing I'm posting, I don't know what it is. I mean it looks like an old motherboard, the RAM looks very strange. It was found (just what you see) at an old school an old server maybe? The processor is an original Pentium I think. Have a look;

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 29, 2011
  2. Kyal

Kyal Member

I have an orig pentium computer in the shed somewhere, dunno if it still runs, def different to the new boards.

3. SLATYE

SLATYE SLATYE, not SLAYTE

We have a whole Retro Hardware forum, so I'm moving this thread there.

The board you've got appears to be an old AT style one for the second generation of Pentium CPUs. The CPU is a Pentium 200MMX. The RAM is 72-pin SIMMs.

4. Reaper

Reaper Member

5. OP
    OP
    andyroo54

andyroo54 Member

Yeah thanks I did see retro but I thought it was mainly for games and arcade stuff I almost did make the thread in there!

6. broccoli

broccoli Member

7. OP
    OP
    andyroo54

andyroo54 Member

That is cool post some pics!

I posted this in the "new gadgets and hardware thread" as a bit of a joke!