Oldest production hardware

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by Gecko, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. Gecko

    Gecko Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,716
    Location:
    Sydney
    Spent yesterday afternoon decommissioning an old P3 800MHz that was running our fax->email system (moved it to a shiny new server) and realised how old some of the gear we have in prod is.

    So, what is the oldest PRODUCTION (not test, not spare etc) kit that you have?

    For us, I think it would be a couple of HP P3 1.4Ghz servers that have been working perfectly for years (scheduled for upgrade in the next few months - finally managed to convince those who hold the chequebook that gear really should be upgraded from time to time...) - I'm sure plenty of you can beat that
     
  2. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    35,068
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Up until 2 months back it was three 10 year old HPUX PA-RISC machines. But thankfully that got decommissioned.

    Usual story: management bitched at the support costs. We'd try to decommission them, users would bitch to management, management would bitch to us that we were annoying users. Round and round in circles, until finally we had one manager with the balls to say "enough is enough" and get rid of them.

    When you're paying over $10k per month per server just on hardware support, you have to wonder what sort of kit that could buy you to replace it. :)

    On a few small business client sites there are still mail relays I've built running on Celeron 800's from eons ago. They don't ever seem to die (or get removed, despite constant advice to do so).
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2011
  3. Camm

    Camm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    814
    I have a 2x DP P3 Xeons with 1GB ram running a imap mail server on an ancient version of Red Hat.

    It works, doesn't fall over, and just keeps soldiering on so I haven't seen the need to upgrade it (its a small company of 25 or so employees anyway).

    Best part is as older servers have been decommissioned, I have an ass ton of spare parts (hence the 1GB of RAM... started with 512MB) that I have an extra 2 of these that I keep flashed with current config (not often that I need to as updates are a bit slower, nothing generally needs tweaking and storage sits on the EVA) so at worst I can be back up and running in 20 minutes.
     
  4. dead_man

    dead_man Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,675
    Location:
    melbourne
    ripping a dual 550mhz machine out of the rack later today that was acting as our proxy server.
     
  5. Ashpool

    Ashpool Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    3,352
    Location:
    Ye Olde Melbourne Town
    I was gonna say exactly that. We had a nice old clunker a HP 9000
    [​IMG]

    That was our main billing software...we had no documentation, and were paying some company an ungodly amount for hardware/database support.
     
  6. Skitza

    Skitza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,742
    Location:
    In your street
    Stopped using an IBM Netfinity 5000 box for DNS last year. P3 500 with 512ram haha. Solid box though. <3 IBM.
     
  7. Gumby

    Gumby Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,742
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I have an IBM netfinity at a branch office running apache for our intranet. Pentium 2 400Mhz with 128MB of ram. :)

    No idea what year it was purchased.

    I do give it tender loving care with it's updates. Currently running CentOS 5.5
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2011
  8. FaTs

    FaTs Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,455
    Location:
    Bris Vegas...
    I take it your replacing all this old gear with VMs?
     
  9. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    11,683
    Location:
    Canberra
    All young crap....


    A client I work with still runs an old IBM 4700 series system ('70s sometime) that boots from 8" floppies.
     
  10. Ashpool

    Ashpool Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    3,352
    Location:
    Ye Olde Melbourne Town
    Look into VM'ing the Hp box but its risc architecture... so at the time there was no viable option.

    wow that would suck...how long does magnetic media last anyway?
     
  11. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    24,378
    i have an instrument that runs from an old 486.
     
  12. Brett

    Brett Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,837
    Location:
    Collie, WA
    SGI Octane
     
  13. wellonchompy

    wellonchompy Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    Sydney
    My last employer had a 486 box running Debian as a print server, that was pretty old.

    I used to do midrange support, and encountered a number of 20-year-old IBM AIX boxes. RS/6000 branding, MCA buses, IBM 3480 tape drives, joyous! Needless to say, I'd rather some of them stay in production than some of the crap that passes for "enterprise" in the current market.
     
  14. m0n4g3

    m0n4g3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,606
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Previous company i worked for had a 386 running a plasma cutter. Worked well and nothing wrong with it!

    Currently we have a fair few p1's running telemetry for weather stations and also seismic activity.

    All work perfectly! :thumbup:
     
  15. ktmrida

    ktmrida Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Location:
    Australia
    Last year we finally we able to decommisson some old WANG equipment.

    I think it was quite old, the workstation was running Windows 3.1 and the server im unsure, some unix base i think

    Very old equipment indeed.
     
  16. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    11,683
    Location:
    Canberra
    Too right, not everything needs the latest and greatest to run. For many (most in manufacturing/industrial environments etc.) tasks, a simple reliable bit of hardware and a lightweight operating system is all that's needed.

    "if it ain't broke, don't fix it"

    as opposed to the gamers and benchers amongst us
    "if it ain't on fire, it ain't fast enough"
     
  17. Dragon_191

    Dragon_191 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    304
    Location:
    ACT
    We recently decommissioned 13x NCR 3445 Unix servers that were in production for 17 years.
     
  18. metamorphosis

    metamorphosis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,716
    QFT.

    Really glad to see old hardware getting used. It's ridiculous to throw out something just because it's not the new thing anymore, if it's working just fine.
     
  19. Primüs

    Primüs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,359
    Location:
    CFS
    Our office has an abacus for general use :thumbup:


    In 'production' (at home being used for webserver) i have a dual 933 with 512 ram. Its a huge 4RU server that i havent got rid of yet, it runs my apache and MySQL find on CentOS.
     
  20. newgen

    newgen Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    551
    Location:
    Sydney
    It's not always that black and white in a business environment though. Hardware support and maintenance which affects SLA's would need to be factored in. Sure a lot of businesses have a little old box which just happily chugs away in some corner doing what it's been doing for the past 5-10 years, but from my experience, a lot of techs who inherit these systems don't know enough about them and tend to have an out of sight out of mind mentality.
     

Share This Page