on camera monitor screen for filming etc for a canon - good idea?

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by super kermit, Jun 9, 2019.

  1. super kermit

    super kermit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Sydney Pyrmont
    So I had a speech filmed and it is all out of focus.

    I was thinking an on-camera screen would have shown this better.

    Canon 70D running magic lantern.

    Lilliput A7s Full HD 7 Inch Monitor With 4K Camera Assist

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B074SGNC2X/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=A3P9EAC3KD93H7&psc=1

    OR

    Fomito Bestview S7 4K HDMI Field Monitor 7 inch HD LCD Screen (IPS, 1920x1200)

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B072MZD71H/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?smid=A2PI02D35UR00K&psc=1

    Which one for a newbie like me?
     
  2. oculi

    oculi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,491
    Could be useful, but to fix your problem just stop down as small an aperture you can live with them focus manually zoomed in. If you want AF get a different camera.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    super kermit

    super kermit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Sydney Pyrmont
    Can we stick on topic, please?
     
  4. oculi

    oculi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,491
    Buy the second one because it has a bigger hood.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    super kermit

    super kermit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Sydney Pyrmont
  6. oculi

    oculi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,491
    I was going to suggest that one but it wasn't in your list and I didn't want to go off topic. Let us know how it works out
     
    3Toed likes this.
  7. OP
    OP
    super kermit

    super kermit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Sydney Pyrmont
    Thanks, I got sucked in by touchscreen... :)
     
  8. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4,639
    so what powers it? does it go off your camera's batter or has its own?

    my A6300 is in desperate need of an external screen as the screen doesn't flip around for v-logging, but not sure if I want a screen SLURPING down the camera battery as well
     
  9. OP
    OP
    super kermit

    super kermit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Sydney Pyrmont

Share This Page

Advertisement: