One tower, many stations?

Discussion in 'Newbie Lounge' started by kha-khees, Jul 12, 2018.

  1. kha-khees

    kha-khees Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Location:
    Melbourne
    So, Ive been toying with the idea of a main PC stationed in the house, but auxillary input stations in the shed and the loungeroom. The idea being that the main station can be most comfortable for games, working with CAD, lounge is Netflix/others, workshop is to stream music or show plans.


    Ive kept an eye open for about a year now but didn't notice a solution yet. My best idea was essentially a chromecast based system, but it's not ideal.
     
  2. darknebula

    darknebula Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    Frankston
  3. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,694
    Location:
    Prospect SA
    It's not worth the effort - it's certainly possible (and doubly so if you need more than one terminal in the same room, as shown above) but there's no practical way to extend the monitor outputs more than ~10m without it getting very expensive or requiring additional hardware capable of video decoding on the receiving end.

    Just use an old/secondhand/refurb PC in the shed, and consider a dedicated Android TV box for the lounge.
     
  4. josh1990

    josh1990 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Albury, NSW
    I use a Steam link to play games at other end of house. Wireless keyboard/mouse are laggy as shit so only really works well with a controller. Minimise big picture for desktop access
     
  5. OP
    OP
    kha-khees

    kha-khees Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Thanks for the replies guys. I think I should clarify: It's not multiple accounts/sessions I want, it's more like Josh with just accessing your PC from the other end of the house. It's beyond normal bluetooth/wireless input range, so I was wondering about an all-in-one solution for i/o and display (still basically chrome/miracast dongle and a keyboard+mouse) so I can see pages/vids i've found while in-depth browsing in the workshop context.

    I am keeping in mind the option of a cheap windows machine capable of remote desktop, but I still think that is more resource intensive than I even want.
     
  6. magius

    magius Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Messages:
    129
    remote desktop sounds like the way to go. shouldn't be that resource intensive. There is also remote desktop app available on Android as well, so a cheap android tablet / phone should work too.
     
  7. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,694
    Location:
    Prospect SA
    You don't need a windows pc to RDP to a Windows PC - there are clients for every conceivable system. You could get something working on e.g. a Raspberry Pi, or an android tablet with an HDMI output.

    I still think it's wasted effort when secondhand PC's cost basically nothing, and it's not like power consumption matters if they're turned off most of the time.
     
  8. Rexzarrax

    Rexzarrax New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    For remoting in i found teamviewerto be one of the easiest to get started with but i can say for sure how secure it is, you could also try with Windows' inbuilt remote desktop but i found it more complicated.
     

Share This Page