1. If you're receiving a message that you are banned from the Current Events or Politics forums, it's not you specifically: those forums have been hidden for all users. For more info, see here.
    Dismiss Notice

OpenSolaris/Solaris 11 Express/ESXi : BYO Home NAS for Media and backup images etc

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by davros123, Dec 14, 2009.

  1. flain

    flain Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,925
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yes the latest one is what i meant. Solaris Express just being the continuation of Opensolaris (but in a closed form), ie the free one with no support.

    In Solaris Express 11.0 it's impossible to replace a 512byte sector drive with one reporting 4k physical sector sizes in a ashfit=9 pool. Solaris express 11.1 fixed this (as it was silly anyway, since a lot of us had 512e drives with physical 4k sector sizes anyway, its just the drives weren't reporting correctly).

    I'm hoping to offload all my data to a friend in order to recreate my pool as ashift=12, but since i have 30TB full it's going to take a while. Currently re-silvering drives to 4Ts is taking 50hours per drive :(

    How long before 8K sector drives come out and we need another different optimal ashift?
     
  2. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,903
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Meh..... I just use older 1tb and 2tb drives.....

    If I need more space I add more of them.

    No 4k problems :weirdo:

    Bonus is the more I add the faster it gets....:p

    .
     
  3. flain

    flain Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,925
    Location:
    Sydney
    Except the older vdevs will eventually become more full than the others, mine is unevenly loaded due to how i grew my capacity from year to year. Once i copy everything off and back on again (a painfully long process with 35TB used) i should then have everything striped across evenly.

    Need 10 more 2TB drives by any chance? :)
     
  4. OP
    OP
    davros123

    davros123 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,037
    Thanks to JimG, the old girl got a much needed injection of memory...

    32Gig baby :)

    [​IMG]
     
  5. GoofyHSK

    GoofyHSK Bracket Mastah

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,568
    Location:
    Adelaide Hills
    Niceee, its on my 'one day' list, those 8gbs never come down in price
     
  6. young_einstein

    young_einstein Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,562
    Location:
    Caroline Springs, VIC
    For those of you in the middle of a heatwave at the moment, I'm curious to know how your servers are handling the conditions?!?

    I've got a fully loaded Norco 4224 sitting in a garage (un air-conditioned of course), and most of my disks have been pushing 50 C throughout the day.

    Everything is still running fine at the moment (*touch wood*), but it's definitely a little bit concerning how hot everything is getting!
     
  7. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,903
    Location:
    Adelaide
    HOT?

    Horrible here today in Adelaide:Paranoid:

    Drives got too 56c and system shutdown:tongue:

    Worse tomorrow:sick:

    .
     
  8. OP
    OP
    davros123

    davros123 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,037
    The old girl is looking good thanks to the airco.

    Drive c0t5000CCA228C1D283d0 temp is 37C Health is OK
    Drive c0t5000CCA228C1DB52d0 temp is 38C Health is OK
    Drive c0t5000CCA228C1DD35d0 temp is 38C Health is OK
    Drive c0t5000CCA228C1E0D3d0 temp is 38C Health is OK
    Drive c0t5000CCA228C1EA96d0 temp is 37C Health is OK
    Drive c0t5000CCA228C1FA5Ad0 temp is 37C Health is OK
    Drive c0t5000CCA228C1FBDEd0 temp is 38C Health is OK
    Drive c0t5000CCA228C1FF03d0 temp is 38C Health is OK
    Drive c0t5000CCA228C1EB93d0 temp is 37C Health is OK
    Drive c0t5000CCA228C20D27d0 temp is 38C Health is OK

    It was a hot one yesterday...60 in the roof cavity..thank goodness for insulation! Never been that before...prob. be hotter today/later in the week as it's not returning to base levels overnight.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. GoofyHSK

    GoofyHSK Bracket Mastah

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,568
    Location:
    Adelaide Hills
    I'm cold in the aircon :(

    Drives are between 37 and 40c
    Norco is under my bed, my desktop monitors seem to warm the room up more than it does (Dell 20 / 24 / 20)
     
  10. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,903
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Pfffft:rolleyes:

    Bastards with aircon:thumbdn:

    .
     
  11. young_einstein

    young_einstein Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,562
    Location:
    Caroline Springs, VIC
    Code:
     
    id 	                 diskcap         smart_model 	                 temp 
     c2d0 	 120 GB 	 - 	 - 
     c7t5000039FF4C5C1F5d0 	 3001 GB 	 TOSHIBA DT01ACA300 	         44 °C 
     c7t5000039FF4C67458d0 	 3001 GB 	 TOSHIBA DT01ACA300 	         45 °C 
     c7t5000C5004F76D204d0 	 2000 GB 	 ST2000DM001-1CH164 	         43 °C 
     c7t5000CCA228C15E9Dd0 	 3001 GB 	 Hitachi HDS5C3030ALA630 	 52 °C 
     c7t5000CCA228C19618d0 	 3001 GB 	 Hitachi HDS5C3030ALA630 	 50 °C 
     c7t5000CCA228C1F81Bd0 	 3001 GB 	 Hitachi HDS5C3030ALA630 	 50 °C 
     c7t5000CCA228C1F8C4d0 	 3001 GB 	 Hitachi HDS5C3030ALA630 	 52 °C 
     c7t5000CCA228C1F932d0 	 3001 GB 	 Hitachi HDS5C3030ALA630 	 52 °C 
     c7t5000CCA22EC54115d0 	 4001 GB 	 Hitachi HDS5C4040ALE630 	 49 °C 
     c7t5000CCA22EC7189Fd0 	 4001 GB 	 HGST HDS5C4040ALE630 	         50 °C 
     c7t5000CCA22EC756F3d0 	 4001 GB 	 HGST HDS5C4040ALE630 	         50 °C 
     c7t5000CCA22EC7837Bd0 	 4001 GB 	 HGST HDS5C4040ALE630 	         47 °C 
     c7t5000CCA22EC7C4F9d0 	 4001 GB 	 HGST HDS5C4040ALE630 	         49 °C 
     c7t5000CCA37EC205EAd0 	 3001 GB 	 Hitachi HDS723030BLE640 	 52 °C 
     c7t5000CCA37EC20604d0 	 3001 GB 	 Hitachi HDS723030BLE640 	 51 °C 
     c7t5000CCA37EC20EF2d0 	 3001 GB 	 Hitachi HDS723030BLE640 	 52 °C 
     c7t5000CCA37EC20F38d0 	 3001 GB 	 Hitachi HDS723030BLE640 	 50 °C 
     c7t5000CCA37EC20F69d0 	 3001 GB 	 Hitachi HDS723030BLE640 	 50 °C 
     c7t50025385A012B769d0 	 256 GB 	 Samsung SSD 840 PRO Series 	 43 °C 
     c7t50025385A012B76Cd0 	 256 GB 	 Samsung SSD 840 PRO Series 	 40 °C 
    
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2014
  12. OP
    OP
    davros123

    davros123 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,037
    cookin! what a they usually?

    Tomorrow's 44 degrees should be interesting!

    Let's hope the power stays on...or everyone at least has an ups and a controlled auto-shutdown routine setup....or we could see some posts about lost data tomorrow night :)
     
  13. young_einstein

    young_einstein Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,562
    Location:
    Caroline Springs, VIC
    On most days they usually hover around the low to mid 30's.

    I normally do have the server running on a UPS, but it's disconnected at the moment because I've had it out of the rack in order to make some modifications.

    I'll have to get it hooked up again before tomorrow I think ...
     
  14. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,903
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I think I will shut the lot down....

    Ups as well

    Don't want batteries cooking....

    Ups fan is kicking in and out in and out:tongue:
     
  15. OP
    OP
    davros123

    davros123 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,037
    Good call. Feel badly for you guys...46 is really nasty.

    I found that heat was a big killer for my batteries. I took the sides off the UPS to improve airflow (and took care to cover any exposed components/wires) and run an exhaust duct.

    infact, Surepower UPS site says...
    Ouch!
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2014
  16. young_einstein

    young_einstein Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,562
    Location:
    Caroline Springs, VIC
    Came home this afternoon and the ambient temperature alarm on the UPS was being triggered.

    I don't have anything actually monitoring the temperature in the garage, but I'd be amazed if it was less than 50C in there this afternoon.
     
  17. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,903
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ahhhhh.... Cool Change is here :tongue:
     
  18. OP
    OP
    davros123

    davros123 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,037
    In the interest of currency...I have moved to esxi 5.5.

    Why? I was bored. Was it a mistake...probably.

    I needed to do a fresh install as the last version on there was a custom esxi that allowed use of the unsupported lan port on the board. I have an extra 2 port card in there so opted to go baseline this time. All in all pretty easy install...took about 2 hours to get everything imported back and running (should have been an hour really).

    Getting some glacially slow CIFS transfer speeds from the nas....<1MB...used to be capping out at 111MB...however WRITING to the nas is full speed...hmmmm...need to do the usual investigation...sigh!

    EDIT: Backup server was also "upgraded" and has the same issue

    EDIT2: Changed the nic's to VMXNET3 (from good old e1000) and it's back to normal. e1000's were very stable for me on older esxi's....and vmxnet's crapped out all the time...perhaps it's been reversed :)

    Calling this one solved (for now).
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2014
  19. mike-s

    mike-s Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,876
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    It's funny, it seems to take turns which chipset nic is the problemchild. When I put my NAS together Realtek were the difficult ones and putting in an e1000 nic solved all my woes.
     
  20. mike-s

    mike-s Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,876
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Boot drive for my box died the other day. Wouldn't create a mirror so I could smoothly migrate to a new drive. Ended up using clonezilla under -rescue mode and was able to clone the drive and have everything work just fine once I purged / rebuilt the squid cache.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: