Overclocking 5700G

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by aussie7, Sep 8, 2021.

  1. Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,949
    Location:
    Melbourne 3103
    I still have that kit in my collection!

     
    nCrypt likes this.
  2. Mickatroid

    Mickatroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,606
    Location:
    Canberra
    I had a fairly major bios update and though I would revisit this. Thanks for the advice Aussie7 and OCMunkee. I loaded optimised defaults, turned on SPD and bumped the target VDIMM up from 1.35 to 1.49v (mclk fclk and uclk all at 1800 by default). All 32Gig installed.

    It posted and did a run of the Heaven benchmark through twice. Min FPS up by 20%! Max FPS up 5%. Stoked to have the 4x8gig G-Skill DDR3600 CL16 running at the advertised speed.

    I will do some further stress testing to confirm stability but I know what dodgy RAM looks like and there are no signs of it.

    EDIT: It works well but given how long I keep PCs (at least a decade, this one already has a date for replacing my shed/workshop PC when windows 10 dies) I have wound it back to XMP less 400mhz so DDR 3200. A bit of a read around suggests that 1.47v which was the minimum stable) is a bit on the angry side.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2021
    SKITZ0_000 likes this.
  3. OP
    OP
    aussie7

    aussie7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,012
    Location:
    Maroochydore QLD
    here's my best suicide shot :)

    ZenTimings_Screenshot 2.png
     
    Mickatroid and SKITZ0_000 like this.
  4. OP
    OP
    aussie7

    aussie7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,012
    Location:
    Maroochydore QLD
    4733 2367 aida Screenshot 2021-10-21 231607.png
     
    Mickatroid and SKITZ0_000 like this.
  5. Mickatroid

    Mickatroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,606
    Location:
    Canberra
    Far out, that VDIMM is hot never mind the frequency.

    Makes me comfortable I did not stuff anything being at and under 1.5v for an hour or two.

    With some other Overclocking it would be interesting to see just what you can squeeze out of it for 3D graphics
     
  6. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,505
    Location:
    Tas
    Any particular reason for that tRFC/tRC/TFAW or is it just motherboard defaults? There should be some massive gains in latency and bandwidth just by setting those three timings lower. There are a few others there that could benefit as well.

    Should be able to pull some values from this sheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1cJmhO62WHPLNKGBtsJV3BjdL-dcfJJeyhdSAoJmuzJE/

    I run my vdimm at 1.55v, PC on 24/7, while this is near the upper daily limit, it's still fine.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    aussie7

    aussie7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,012
    Location:
    Maroochydore QLD
    thanks for the link :thumbup:
    mem settings were at motherboard defaults
     
  8. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10,441
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    Looking back to my last Intel rig (Asus Z270i, 7700K, GSkill Trident Z [Samsung B-Die] c17-3733), my daily settings were 5200+c12-4000.

    My volts with those frequencies were 1.38v CPU+1.6v RAM with no discernible ill effects, over the 6 months or so I had the rig running as a daily with those voltages. I regularly bumped the RAM up to 2v for hours at a time when benching.

    I would consider all DDR4 to be safe at 1.6v daily personally. RAM is easily RMA'd too (most RAM, if not all, comes with a lifetime warranty AFAIIK), so as long as you have spare RAM to keep your rig running while you wait for your new RAM/refund to come you'll be fine. I wouldn't describe the issue as "I had the voltage at 2v because Ratzz told me that it would cope no problem" during the RMA process if I were you though :lol:.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2021
    SKITZ0_000 likes this.
  9. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,505
    Location:
    Tas
    Generally memory will become unstable due to temps well before running any voltage that could harm it long term. There is of course risk to the CPU IMC, but on current Ryzen CPUs those voltages are still considered safe for the big lazy 14nm IO die, IIRC above 1.6v is where it starts to get a little sketchy.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    aussie7

    aussie7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,012
    Location:
    Maroochydore QLD
    more testing results
    soc @ 1.4v and ram @ 1.7v (not daily, only for benching)
    not sure how stable it is, but passed aida64 test :)
    tm5 craps out almost straight away :(

    adia 4800 2400 55-7.jpg
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2021
  11. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,505
    Location:
    Tas
    Nice improvement
     
  12. OP
    OP
    aussie7

    aussie7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,012
    Location:
    Maroochydore QLD
    more testing, got 1hr pass on occt at 4800 2400 :)
    just needed to drop the curve to -5 and set the VDDP volts to 1.15v
    needs more adjusting, but its a start

    4800 2400 2400 occt pass.png
     
  13. OP
    OP
    aussie7

    aussie7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,012
    Location:
    Maroochydore QLD
    ok, 4800mhz and 2400fclk is no good, too high volts and unstable :(

    so back to 4733mhz @ 1.5v and 2367fclk @ soc 1.25v rock solid :)

    4733 2367 cas 17-18-39-2t tm5 pass.jpg
     
    Mickatroid likes this.
  14. OP
    OP
    aussie7

    aussie7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,012
    Location:
    Maroochydore QLD
    latest zen timings screen shots, both pass TM5 short test, with many thanks to glnn_23 :thumbup:

    ZenTimings 17-18-36-2t-324-206-153.png ZenTimings 17-18-39-2t-312-232-143.png
     
  15. OP
    OP
    aussie7

    aussie7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,012
    Location:
    Maroochydore QLD
    updated post,
    ok went old school and used Memtest86 to test my ram settings
    passed with the following settings :)

    Memtest pass 4800mhz 2400fclk Screenshot.png

    timespy Memtest pass 4800mhz 2400fclk Screenshot.png
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2021 at 1:36 AM
    micsway123 likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: