Panasonic ST50A: RIDICULOUSLY GOOD value for money

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by csimpson, Jun 29, 2012.

  1. soxsox

    soxsox Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Busselton WA
    Only did a short test.
    Will try some more.
     
  2. soxsox

    soxsox Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Busselton WA
    The power meter is a cheapie from Jaycar.
    These are the readings i got.
    Desk lamp 240v 40w= 32.8 w
    Tv Bug Wars 50 to 80w
    Simsons 60 to 70w
    Random Ad 105w
    Toaster rated 1100-1200 was 1050w.
    Maybe my meter is a bit to cheap :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2012
  3. SnooP-WiggleS

    SnooP-WiggleS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,179
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    Yeah unfortunately the jaycar meter is rubbish/unreliable for anything but a perfect power factor (eg toaster as you've noted). In the modern world of switchmode power supplies in everything they shouldn't sell it.

    http://www.dansdata.com/quickshot041.htm

    A different brand meter eg this one would likely do much better
    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/APPLIANC...Electrical_Test_Equipment&hash=item4157263a43

    edit:
    This reviewer got 150w under normal viewing material. Same as what I measured.
    http://www.avforums.com/reviews/Pan...P65ST50B-50-Inch-3D-Plasma-TV_281/Review.html
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2012
  4. damo2002

    damo2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3085
    Am I right in thinking that if I have my 360/WDTV connected to the TV via HDMI, then optical out to my receiver, it won't pass through a signal with more than 2 channels?

    Can't seem to get surround audio working, and with an old receiver with no HDMI ports, it's making it difficult!
     
  5. SnooP-WiggleS

    SnooP-WiggleS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,179
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    Sounds right. If your getting any sound at all your doing better than most tvs which only output sound on the optical for tv broadcasts.

    Should be able to get optical outputs out of the xbox 360 and wdtv though?
     
  6. damo2002

    damo2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3085
    Thought so! I am getting stereo sound out from the xbox/wdtv though, so I suppose that's something!

    Yeah, both have optical out, but the receiver only has 1 optical in! Not the end of the world, but it means swapping it every time I want to use one or the other. Also means getting a slimline digital audio thing for the 360 because the regular one doesn't fit with HDMI connected!
     
  7. soxsox

    soxsox Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Busselton WA
    Thanks for your reply,very helpful.
    Thanks.
    Just got a Belkin meter from Dick Smith for $30
    It's a lot better than the Jaycar model.
    Now getting a reading of around 200Watts much better.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2012
  8. minushuman

    minushuman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,436
    Location:
    Willoughby, NSW
    I concur. I bought a power meter immeadiately after reading it :p
     
  9. randomman

    randomman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,963
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    *bump*

    This still the best value for money TV on the market?

    Looking into a 55-60" to replace my 42" V20A.
     
  10. enzo_450

    enzo_450 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,561
    I think I'll be in the market soon too, so I'm keen to hear as well. :thumbup:

    Thinking we'll wait until boxing day/new years sales as I won't be moving until January.
     
  11. MoonShadow

    MoonShadow Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Got one on Friday. Buzzes like crazy on bright screens.
     
  12. mareke

    mareke Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,740
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    You shouldn't have to put up with that particularly if you can hear it when sitting at your normal watching distance. If you have to put your ear up close to it to hear it that may be a different matter. I'd insist they fix it or replace it with one that doesn't do it although you may need to be very insistent because they are likely to argue that it's 'normal' and not a fault.
     
  13. randomman

    randomman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,963
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Csimpson any further input RE the above?
     
  14. millhouse

    millhouse Chief Tiger Dentist

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Mount Cotton, Brisbane
    Just checked Big Brown Box tonight, and the prices are very tempting (for the 65"):
    - 50" $1389
    - 60" $2299
    - 65" $2699
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2012
  15. windsok

    windsok Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    377
    I'm looking at getting the 65" from BBB, would I do any better on price if I tried to haggle at JB HiFi or somewhere like that?
     
  16. nico6

    nico6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,683
    Location:
    melb.vic.au
    My easiest in-store haggles happen at the Good Guys
     
  17. Annihilator69

    Annihilator69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,085
    Location:
    Perth
    I have one of these. 50" model


    Very happy with it.
    I have sensitive eyes and can notice flickering sometimes when its on white screens.
    Mine buzzed when it was new, not sure if it's happening now don't notice it.
    You should come over and test it out.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    csimpson

    csimpson Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    7,644
    Location:
    Sydney
    Say what?

    Oh, buzzing. All plasmas can buzz. It's always worst at full-power mode on a fully white screen. Better TVs have a range of options to lessen the buzzing - my LX509A has three power modes which alter the pitch of the buzz (generally accepted that Mode 2 is better than Mode 1 is better than Off, fr'example).

    Not too sure about the ST50A, to be honest, because I don't have one with me here. Try Eco mode or the Pixel Orbiter or different picture presets, YMMV. I can't hear the buzz from my LX509A after a bit of fiddling, and it was notoriously bad when it first came out.

    It also gets better once the TV's a little more burned in (a month, say) and warmed up (half an hour, say).
     
  19. enzo_450

    enzo_450 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,561
    Pretty keen, can't find it on either of good guys or JB websites though so I might wander in-store and have a look around. Might be able to get the 50
     
  20. randomman

    randomman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,963
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Is it still the best value for money TV! :p

    BBQ some time. I didn't notice the time fail on your last one. I'm only really free from the 23rd though lol.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: