Panasonic ST60 component input problem

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by arrow224, Aug 3, 2013.

  1. arrow224

    arrow224 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,889
    Location:
    Outer SE Melbourne
    Hi all,

    I just bought the ST60 plasma, and am having trouble connecting my receiver via component.

    There is nothing displayed on the TV, even though the correct AV (sub selection of component) is selected. I have tried 3 different cables, still not working.

    Any advice as to what to do?


    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,814
    Location:
    4109
    what receiver you got?
    connected a source directly to the ST60 to prove you're on the right input/cables ok ?
     
  3. Fishface

    Fishface Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,612
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Do you have a dvd player with component out that you can connect directly to the TV?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    arrow224

    arrow224 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,889
    Location:
    Outer SE Melbourne
    I have plugged an older Demon dvd player with component straight to the tv and still nothing happened.
     
  5. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,814
    Location:
    4109
    component composite, there is a difference. sure you are using the right sockets ?

    red blue green (Pr Pb Y) are component, no sound with this
    yellow red white are composite with stereo audio

    many people mistakenly connect this together

    edit - add pic

    Click to view full size!


    the white and red on the left are the audio. you would then connect either yellow or the column on the right (green blue red) for the video

    edit#2 - i just had a quick read of the st60 manual, it has a shared yellow/green rca socket
    in the user manual goto page 24 it tells you how to pick the input (composite or component)

    http://service.us.panasonic.com/OPERMANPDF/E-HELP_ST60.PDF page 24 of this might help
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2013
  6. OP
    OP
    arrow224

    arrow224 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,889
    Location:
    Outer SE Melbourne
    I am using component cable, red blue and green.
    I plug from red blue green on dvd to red blue green on tv. I know of the shared input.

    I turn tv on. Select source as AV, then press right to change from composite to component. No picture comes up.
     
  7. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,814
    Location:
    4109
    ummmmmm, other than trying with another source and cable, I'd say the st60 may have a problem :mad:
     
  8. nico6

    nico6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,672
    Location:
    melb.vic.au
    If the same source and cable work on another TV, it is definitely the Pana with the issue.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    arrow224

    arrow224 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,889
    Location:
    Outer SE Melbourne
    Might have to take it back to the store.

    Thanks guys for all your help.
     
  10. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,814
    Location:
    4109
    any updates?
     
  11. OP
    OP
    arrow224

    arrow224 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,889
    Location:
    Outer SE Melbourne
    Replaced by retailer, no problems with new one.
     
  12. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,814
    Location:
    4109
    that's a bizzaro fault, glad its all sorted out for you :)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: