Path to web design proficiency

Discussion in 'Programming & Software Development' started by zfind, Feb 6, 2008.

1. zfind

zfind Member

Hey guys,

I've just started getting into web design by learning XHTML and CSS. Before I started I did a bit of research to find out what the accepted standard was and it (to me anyway) seems to be the above. I'm finding it really enjoyable and easy to learn. I've come from a software programming background, mostly in VB.

What I'd like to know is, am I on the right track? I'd like to work through the different programming packages so I can cover all the different aspects of web design. My plan after this would be to tackle dynamic pages and databases - Would it be a good move to learn PHP and MySQL?

I'm really new to all of this so any helpful comments are welcome, thanks!

2. G51

G51 (Banned or Deleted)

i don't see anything wrong with what you're doing. I'd go html>css>php>mysql..

3. cooperx

cooperx Member

it all goes hand in hand really mate..

basically start with a simple site -> complex site

dont worry so much about the technology, moreso concentrate on the solutions to things that pop up.

Easiest way to learn is by doing.

4. Elyzion

Elyzion Member

If your gonna do it as a profession, don't bother with PHP and MySQL.

5. Rezin

Rezin Member

Why not start with something you'd be more familiar with (such as ASP(.NET))?

6. hyperstyle

hyperstyle Member

:shock: WTF. I know your a Microsoft man but I still expected more from you.

7. OP
    OP
    zfind

zfind Member

Thanks for the helpful comments. I've been trying to learn by doing, I agree it is the best way to learn as once you do it for real its much harder to forget. I'm finding XHTML easy, and thus CSS too. I'm not rushing ahead though, when I've created a site I'm really happy with (down the line) then I'll move on.