1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Philips BDM4065UC 40" 4K 60Hz

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Frenchpom, Dec 12, 2014.

  1. Frenchpom

    Frenchpom Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Hey guys,

    Just been released, people around the world starting to receive them now. Some early reviews from Korea and China coming up. Overall, looks like a very nice monitor. 4K runs at 60Hz, colour reproduction looks to be ok. Its basically a LG 4K TV minus all the TV crap and sporting display port.

    Specs in section 4 of the user manual pdf found here: http://download.p4c.philips.com/files/b/bdm4065uc_61/bdm4065uc_61_dfu_eng.pdf

    Scorptec have them on pre-order for $1050 at the moment. Should see that price come down a bit next year as supply starts to get out there.

    Interesting quick write up here: http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2014/12/04/40-inch-monitors-for-gaming/

    Hardforum have a decent discussion going on with some people receiving imported screens and giving early impressions including a quick video of CS:GO being played at 4k native res:
    http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1838713

    Think I may have just found my next monitor :thumbup:
     
  2. xplod140

    xplod140 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,663
    Location:
    Melbun
    WANT. But holding out for 60+ inches.
     
  3. TRG.dOinK

    TRG.dOinK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,715
    Location:
    Melb East
    Why do you guys think you need 40 or 60" screens in front of your face, unless you're using them from afar? Sometimes bigger isn't always better.
     
  4. xplod140

    xplod140 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,663
    Location:
    Melbun
    Because it would be my TV, I lay on a lounge about 3m away from a 40 inch TV now that is hooked up to my HTPC.

    Why do you think we don't know what we want?
     
  5. TRG.dOinK

    TRG.dOinK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,715
    Location:
    Melb East
    That's fine if your sitting that far away, then why not just buy a normal TV? At least it has a digital TV tuner in it or are you running a TV tuner card in your htpc or you don't care about free to air TV? Just curious, not having a go :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2014
  6. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,727
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
  7. xplod140

    xplod140 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,663
    Location:
    Melbun
    Have a set top box for FTA, normal TVs dont have DP so 30Hz is all you get on HDMI.

    It's only got HDMI 1.4 inputs, so max 30Hz.
     
  8. Kiwicant

    Kiwicant Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Gold Coast
  9. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,727
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    I disagree
    http://www.gizmodo.com.au/2014/12/lg-40ub800t-ultra-hd-tv-australian-review/
     
  10. xplod140

    xplod140 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,663
    Location:
    Melbun
    Link to a dudes setup http://imageshack.com/i/pbmwU9YFj

    For some reason I imagine it's smaller than my 40 inch Sony TV. Maybe because the bezels are big on mine.
     
  11. TRG.dOinK

    TRG.dOinK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,715
    Location:
    Melb East
    How would a 50Hz TV broadcast go on a 60Hz TV though? Wouldn't that possibly introduce stutter trying to duplicate another 10 frames? Wouldn't a 100hz or 200hz TV be better suited? Again, just trying to work my head around it, this place is great to learn a new thing or two :)
     
  12. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,727
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    after deciding children really didn't need presents or food I decided to dive in and get the LG so I,ll report back after I get it....and figure out how to put it on the desk :)
    oh and someone buy my Dell :p or children go hungry...think of it as charity :)

    and just to be a pain in the ass they have a sle on today
    throw in REDNOSE60 up to $999 and save 60 bucks so it drops it to $719... I of course ordered last night being a twat so I,m trying to cancel and reorder
    timing..is.......out :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2014
  13. zehoo

    zehoo Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    The problem with that LG 40" tv is the hdmi 2.0 input can not do 4:4:4 chroma at 60hz, it can only accept 4:2:0 chroma at 60hz. Because of this unless you set it to 30hz text is going to look crap. Games and video content though should be fine. When you do get it let us know how it goes, especially the input lag, I am tempted to get one myself despite the 4:2:0 chroma issues cause the price is tempting.

    TFTcentral is apparently getting their hands on the Philips monitor soon so a review should be out in a few weeks hopefully. Always good reviews out of there. Oh and the Philips is supposed to not have square pixels, so the image is slightly wider than it should be.

    I'm hoping for something good to be shown at CES in January, maybe a 40-50" 4k monitor with gsync. Or 4k televisions with much lower input latency than the minimum 40ms they currently have.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2014
  14. xplod140

    xplod140 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,663
    Location:
    Melbun
    The specs I saw on LGs website said only HDMI 1.4 not 2.0. Where did you figure it was 2.0?
     
  15. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,727
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    the manual
    I am reading
    s4k@50/60Hz upport format is
    3840x2160p
    4096x2160p
    50.00
    59.00
    60.00

    8 bit / ycbcr 4.2.0
    problem is none of the cables I,m using are 2.0
    also on the back one of the hdmi ports is hdcp 2.2
    so going by that is why I *thought* it will 60 hz but damned if I can get it to go.
    any ideas on cheap hdmi 2 cables?
     
  16. decryption

    decryption Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,896
    Location:
    Victoria
    I plugged my laptop into an LG 40UB800T at Good Guys a few days ago with the severe intention to purchase it for computer monitor use - but it sucked. zehoo is correct, it doesn't do 4:4:4 colour over it's quasi-HDMI 2.0 ports and the text is blurry because of it :(

    The Philips BDM4065UC is the best hope for a decent computer display at a reasonable price that works properly at 60Hz and 4:4:4 colour.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2014
  17. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,727
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    it does rgb .4.4 colour just not 60Hz
    so back to dse it goes :)

    but as a small 4k tv I did like it especially video content just no good for what I need
     
  18. OP
    OP
    Frenchpom

    Frenchpom Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yeah that Gizmodo "review" almost read like a paid advert. Never been a fan of Gizmodo's reviews, made me want one bad, but happy I did some research first. The Philips is definitely the one to get if you're after a monitor. The rock paper shotgun link I posted up is an interesting read, has the philips next to the Dell U3008, quite amazing to see how old and crappy it looks next to the philips... (still an amazing monitor).
     
  19. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,727
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    well that is what I have gone back to ol faithful u3011
    as for text, I had no issues with it
    looked fine scrolled fine
    gaming
    no....just no(at least at 30 Hz) so much lag

    and to be brutally honest doesn't look that much more sexy than my 30 so I,ll hang out for something with displayport that someone else throws the cash at.

    As a tv though it is nice little unit but connected to an xbox etx I can see it suffering the same input lag.

    oh well...at least I tried :)
     
  20. zehoo

    zehoo Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Yeah I almost bought one of the bottom end 4k Samsung tvs because of reports that new firmware was supposed to fix the 4:4:4 chroma issue. Turned out the guy was wrong and the chipset most likely can't handle 4:4:4 @ 60hz. Cancelled the order before I picked it up.

    I'm sure next year will be filled with cheap 4k tvs that can do 4:4:4 chroma at 60hz.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: