Philips BDM4065UC 40" 4K 60Hz

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Frenchpom, Dec 12, 2014.

  1. apsilon

    apsilon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,600
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Just picked mine up :thumbup:
     
  2. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,222
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Paid the surcharge? :D
     
  3. apsilon

    apsilon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,600
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Nope, paid cash as I'd intended, no deposit :)
     
  4. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,222
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Good work! Enjoy the magnificence and welcome to the club : )
     
  5. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,222
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Another review: http://www.trustedreviews.com/phili...c-review-image-quality-lag-and-verdict-page-2

     
  6. oh_noes

    oh_noes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Australia
    Does anyone know if an add-on for Chrome exists that would allow a Youtube video to fullscreen into Chrome windows mode? That way I could run Chrome in a window (top right snapped).

    (I run mine extensively using Windows 10 window snapping into four quarters.)
     
  7. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,222
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    What's chrome windows mode?
     
  8. mojododo

    mojododo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,442
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I think he means with chrome running in windowed (non full screen) an app that makes a YouTube video go full screen inside that chrome windowed size instead of full fulslscreen.
     
  9. sharkmutiny

    sharkmutiny Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Just jumping on the owners club bandwagon. :thumbup:

    I will also mention that I had mine for about 2 weeks before I also purchased the bratek arm mount and 200mm plate from PCCG as mentioned here previously. Having the added ability to adjust its positioning and be a bit flexible has helped tremendously with my user experience.
     
  10. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,222
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
  11. sharkmutiny

    sharkmutiny Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Melbourne
  12. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,222
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Ah ok, thanks shark. Still deciding what/if I'll get one.
     
  13. amisty

    amisty Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,152
    Location:
    VIC 3023
    no ones playing PCars?
     
  14. apsilon

    apsilon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,600
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    I'm definitely going to mount mine on an arm. The stand isn't as bad as I thought it may be but I'd still like the ability to tweak the position and better place my centre speaker under/behind the monitor once the stand is out of the way.

    I know several people here are using those Bratek ones but they seem to adjust height by moving the arm up to a different hole on the pole whereas I want the ability to move it freely from my seat so I'm going for a Humascale one. Not cheap but I've used them before and they're nice, smooth and have lots of adjustment and options.
     
  15. sharkmutiny

    sharkmutiny Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Melbourne
    That's correct, height is definitely fixed on the Bratek one. Also keep in mind the different nuts and bolts you need, you may need a trip to Bunnings.

    Once you get 4 screwed into the tv, and 8 into the bracket, it is fixed to the arm pretty darn securely. Then you fine tune your tilt, and tighten again, although you do get some movement on that front - you still need it pretty tight tho as it is such a big monitor.

    I actually think the weakest link is the one bolt (and plastic bit) used in the height adjustment - if that goes tho I reckon I could always goto town on it with my elite modding skills :rolleyes:
     
  16. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    65,275
    Location:
    brisbane
    Just google, there are tons of screens and vids of pCars @ 4k.
     
  17. m0n4g3

    m0n4g3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,717
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Height is DEFINITELY not fixed..... it's adjusteable. You just need to loosen the grub screw?
     
  18. Little Man

    Little Man Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,604
    Location:
    3147
    Going to ditch my 24 + 27 set up for one of these i think. :D

    If you see any going 2nd hand give us a hoy! :D
     
  19. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,222
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Great move! Let us know when you get set up with one : )

    Actually I think there was one guy but that was a few weeks back, probably gone now.
     
  20. sharkmutiny

    sharkmutiny Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Melbourne
    My bad... mind you I would have thought having to adjust the height regularly would get somewhat annoying.. grub screw in, grub screw out, grub screw in, grub screw out...:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: