[WORKLOG] Phobya Xtreme Nova 1080 Radiator Sealed in Bar Fridge

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by im late, May 24, 2019.

1. im late

im late Member

So I have been toying with this idea in my head for a few years now.

These are the parts I was thinking of using:

- Phobya Xtreme Nova 1080 Radiator
    - EK XTOP Revo Dual D5 PWM Serial Pump Top incl 2x D5 Pumps
    - Some suitable tube res
    - Some used bar fridge from Gumtree

Thinking of:

- Rather than just drill two holes for the lines into the door of the fridge, install bulkhead fittings to pass through the door (with sealant or suitable rubber washers under the bulkhead locking rings for a cleaner finish).
    - Install rad inside fridge without fans

Things to consider:

- Condensation on the lines (can insulate lines if this becomes apparent)??
    - Would mount res and pumps off the test bench
    - Needs to be all compact and all "kid friendly" as my desk if forced to share the family games room space
    - Can sit the fridge next to my computer desk so as little tubing used as possible
    - Might have to source/fabricate longer bulkhead fittings as the thickness from the surface of the door to the inside of the fridge door would be at least 20mm??
    - Ideally for a cleaner look (as it is in my family room so fridge has to look like it belongs there as a spare drinks fridge) I would like the bulkhead fittings at the top towards the back of the fridge. That can only be investigated once I have chosen a fridge.

Any ideas or suggestions to throw my way?

Last edited: May 24, 2019
    mad_mic3 likes this.
  2. shane41

shane41 Member

Use bar fridge to hold beer :D It's not suitable & the heat modern processors can pump out will soon rise the 4c start temp.
    Like the radiator. Small pump & slow speed water circulation is what you need.

An old airconditioner " single stage " converted for your use. Old refrigerant gas is best -50c. New gas not great -25c