phpMyAdmin Unknown Collation Error

Discussion in 'Programming & Software Development' started by h3x4d3c1m4t0r, Jul 9, 2007.

  1. h3x4d3c1m4t0r

    h3x4d3c1m4t0r Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane
    This morning I went to log in to phpmyadmin on my localhost server (running Apache 2.2.4, PHP 5.2.1, MySQL 5.0.27 and phpMyAdmin 2.9.2) and after I logged in I got an error page saying:

    MySQL said:
    #1273 - Unknown collation: 'utf8_un'

    Which looks like a cut-off 'utf8_unicode_ci'. :confused: I also got a PHP error at the top saying:

    Notice: Undefined index: userlink in F:\jack\www\phpMyAdmin\libraries\database_interface.lib.php on line 1189

    And now I can't use phpMyAdmin at all. :( I tried logging in to MySQL using 'mysql -u root -p' in the command line and that worked fine.

    Does anyone know what's causing/how to fix this problem?
    Thanks
     
  2. hyperstyle

    hyperstyle Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,731
    Location:
    Brisbane
    first i'd restart mysql and apache. mysql has been known to do strange things occasionally.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    h3x4d3c1m4t0r

    h3x4d3c1m4t0r Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I tried restarting Apache and MySQL and it gave the same error. I also tried restarting the computer but that didn't help either.
     
  4. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9,782
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    What OS are you running on?

    Can you telnet and start a MySQL session?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    h3x4d3c1m4t0r

    h3x4d3c1m4t0r Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'm running XP Pro.
     
  6. hyperstyle

    hyperstyle Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,731
    Location:
    Brisbane
    There's your problem :p. If your serious about doing some development work setup a dedicated server running a variant of linux. It could be that for what ever reason a file in phpmyadmin has become corrupt. Try reinstalling it.
     
  7. Elyzion

    Elyzion Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,449
    Location:
    Singapore
    I wouldn't recommend running apache/php on Windows for a Web Server... But for development running it on Windows is fine.

    Stop being retarded in suggesting windows is the problem.
     
  8. mordy

    mordy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,100
    Location:
    melb
    dude, php and mysql are the exact same binaries compiled, the error isnt windows its somewhere in mysql settings or in ur db settings.

    mysql has tools to repair its dbs, maybe try invoke it from the terminal and see if that fixes it.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    h3x4d3c1m4t0r

    h3x4d3c1m4t0r Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I downloaded a new version of phpMyAdmin, unzipped it into a different directory and it works fine! I wonder what went wrong with the old one..? :confused:
    Thanks
     
  10. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9,782
    Location:
    Briz Vegas

Share This Page

Advertisement: