Picked up IBM ThinkPad R31 - how do I get into BIOS?

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by Simke, Mar 9, 2019.

  1. Simke

    Simke Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Picked up ThinkPad R31 today (PIII CPU), which doesn't have a hard drive.

    Trying to get into BIOS, but not having any luck. From what Google is telling me, R31 should use F1 key, but that doesn't work. Tried all function keys and delete key but none of them worked.

    After IBM logo is displayed, it loads Intel Boot Agent (assuming this is because there is no hard drive so it attempts to boot from the network).

    Plan is to install Widows 98 and use this as retro gaming laptop. I need to find a suitable hard drive for it, all of the spare laptop ones I have are SATA and I believe I need IDE drive.

    Other than missing hard drive and missing down arrow key on the keyboard, laptop is in a very good condition with no cracks or scratches. Even the battery holds charge.

    Couple of pics -

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2019
  2. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,549
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    Try those special ThinkPad keys near the power button?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Simke

    Simke Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Thanks, holding “ThinkPad” button at startup worked!
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Simke

    Simke Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Looking at the bios settings now, bios setup prompt is disabled, which explains why F1 didn't work.
     
  5. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,883
    Location:
    At a desk
    You don't need the on-screen prompt to get into BIOS. On 99% of all IBM and Lenovo machines, the BIOS setup key is F2 and the boot menu key is F12.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Simke

    Simke Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Brisbane
    You are right, checked this morning by disabling the on screen messages and F1 worked to get into bios. Strange that it did not work when I was trying it yesterday, until I got into bios by holding thinkpad key.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: