REVIEW Plasma Cutting "updated 4/5/15"

Discussion in 'Hobby Engineering' started by Mathuisella, Mar 31, 2015.

  1. Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,592
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    well, today after many weeks of waiting my Cut-50 plasma cutter arrived.

    Sorry to say, but I won't have any time to do a review/demo of the uni until the weekend at the earliest, so this is just a teaser as i have yet to even open the box


    Update. Unpacking and thoughts before use.

    Click to view full size!


    Quite nicely packed, i must say I've seen quite worse.

    Click to view full size!


    Front view

    Click to view full size!


    Rear View of the unit

    Click to view full size!


    Close up of the pressure gauge, which is sorta handy to be on the front.

    Click to view full size!


    rest of the contents

    Click to view full size!


    Click to view full size!


    The pressure regulator

    Click to view full size!


    Spare consumable pieces, these seem to be fairly nice pieces, nickel plated unlike other cheap ones that are bare copper.

    Click to view full size!


    The torch with a preinstalled ( came like this) set of consumables installed

    Click to view full size!


    Regulator in hand. seems to be semi fragile.

    Click to view full size!


    the manual isn't too bad at all, simplified with inages that are helpful for those who haven't set one of these up before, and with little "chinese-english" ;)

    Click to view full size!


    Click to view full size!


    Click to view full size!


    Click to view full size!


    how the air regulator is supposed to look, however, you will need to supply your own 'plumbers tape'

    Click to view full size!


    Needed to replace the inlet with a compression fitting that would connect to the compressors hose

    Click to view full size!


    Quite a hefty power cable is on the unit, 15Amps, although with all chinese made stuff, i don't take it as gospel so to speak. Note: the "earth" is damn big and will have a difficult time fitting in a lot of sockets.

    Click to view full size!


    Click to view full size!



    Just a little something from the manual to help

    Click to view full size!




    update:

    4/5/2015
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=omRwXQtQr-0



    First time cutting 1/2 inch steel. need the 15amp outlet, on a 10 amp outlet i'm good for up to 25 Amps, can trip on 30 Amps
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2015
  2. iNoob

    iNoob Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,767
    Location:
    Sydney
    9/11 review :thumbup:
     
  3. ShadowBurger

    ShadowBurger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,621
    Location:
    Melbourne
    you're going to mount this onto an x/y carriage for automating/perfecting your cuts right? :leet:
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,592
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    use it to cut the pieces to make the cnc portion ;) i like that idea.....

    make it removable of course so you can use it for oddly shaped pieces, or ones that aren't able to be table mounted.
     
  5. mtma

    mtma Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4,801
    Ah plasma cutters.

    Do some practice cuts on some 25mm plate;

    Realise you've cut a face 50mm deep in the concrete of the shed :lol:
     
  6. ShadowBurger

    ShadowBurger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,621
    Location:
    Melbourne
    LOL pics please! :lol:
     
  7. eddahenry

    eddahenry Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    The most important thing with plasma is very clean very dry air ,
    Filter and water trap on your compressor , filbert and water trap on the machine , make sure you drain you compressor tank.
    If not it Will eat consumables like I eat spring rolls at a Chinese all you can eat
     
  8. duong01

    duong01 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    noble park
    get a HF start torch instead of a pilot arc one it'll save you the tears :D
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,592
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    Updated first post. yet to use.
     
  10. cdtoaster

    cdtoaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,695
    Location:
    Tokara forest
    you should call it Dr Cutso
     
  11. Anakist

    Anakist Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,627
    Location:
    Rockhampton CQ
    Clean dry air as said!! It is amazing how much air they actually use too. Make sure your compressor is up to it!

    Get a toilet paper filter on the machine end after your water trap / regulator. Makes a huge difference to longevity of parts. We had to use TP filters on all our hire machines or the morons using it out in the boonies complained about "shitty torches' running them straight off an unfiltered compressor.

    James
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,592
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin

    good tip.

    I have a 2.5 horse power air compressor with a 40 litre tank. doing pretty well with it.

    I've been using it to make a custom one off jewellerybox for the other half. :) Not the best work, but still think she'll love it. "crosses fingers"
     
  13. patto

    patto Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    7,131
    You know that is by design right??? The earth is meant to be big to stop you putting it in a regular 10A socket.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,592
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    ah, good to know :) well she's working fine although trips the powerboards circuit on occasion, but that's ok as i just let the compressor catch up/refill and stretch out my hand/arm to avoid RSI :) :thumbup:
     
  15. ShadowBurger

    ShadowBurger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,621
    Location:
    Melbourne
    lol.. did you just dremel the socket a touch? :lol:
     
  16. OP
    OP
    Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,592
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    no, just pushed it in >.<

    I was using one of those outdoor 20m long extensions with the reel. The reel with the 2 port on it, is made from plastic that can take a beating i guess :)
     
  17. kombiman

    kombiman Dis-Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    11,724
    Location:
    viva brisvegas
    A long extension lead will also increase the chances of a circuit blowing. Nice work Math, keen to see how well it works. Do you have a water trap on your compressor?
     
  18. OP
    OP
    Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,592
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    unsure. I do know that the bottom port on the compressors tank has a tiny leak, so i need to redo the tape on the valve or put on a new valve tap. But have considered it to be the 'water escape :D

    I've cut some pieces with it and it seems to do pretty well. the real test will be when i try to cut some 8/10mm thick steel :)

    in regards to the extension lead, yeah there's more resistance and thus higher current needed to get the 'power' through and thus a vicious cycle, but can't do much about that as the unit has a short power lead and have to do the work outside :(

    I'm happy to just have 'breaks' every now and then when the powerboard's trip cuts out the power on occasion :)
     
  19. NanoDuke

    NanoDuke Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7,306
    Location:
    Sydney
    What he meant was in relation to this:

    The ground pin is larger because it's a 15A source. It's designed that way so that muppets don't go putting it into a standard domestic 10A socket.

    That's what Shadow meant, it should not fit in a standard socket, and suggested that you used a dremel to open up your socket to fit.


    Seriously look at getting an electrician in to fitting you out a proper 15A outlet. Last thing you want is something catching fire. Or your powerboard trip to fail and it takes out the circuit in your wall.


    Also if you're using a long extension lead, make sure you unwind it before using it. Especially with this beast. The coils will induce a magnetic field which can heat up = more resistance = tripped circuits.
     
  20. OP
    OP
    Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,592
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    cheers :thumbup:

    I'll put a power meter onto it next time i use it and see how much current it draws :) then go from there :) :thumbup:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: