POP UP "Firefox/Chrome" would like access to your contacts

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by shino, Jan 23, 2019.

  1. shino

    shino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    click allow or don't allow....
    is this a trick?
     
  2. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    8,117
    Location:
    Brisbane
  3. OP
    OP
    shino

    shino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    I was using... garageband "garageband like to access your photos" don't allow or allow..


    i scan it with malwarebytes and nothing. superanit it sp y ware is...windows.Thankyou
     
  4. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    8,117
    Location:
    Brisbane
    So Garageband was being spyware?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    shino

    shino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    it was whatever program i was using. first it was firefox. then chrome. now garageband. And I scan it with malwarebytes and saids it's clean.
     
  6. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    8,117
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Ok but Superantispyware found some nasties and cleaned them?
     
  7. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    136,355
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Just say Don't Allow?
     
  8. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,242
    Location:
    Sydney
    You might need to take a step back for a moment. Things like this are why sites and applications have privacy/data collection/TOS policies. Based on your projected uncertainty of this, your question should not be whether to allow or not, but why it wants access. To simply ask whether to say yes or no is a bigger deal than you'd think, however the safest bet is always "No" in any case. Denial of access for an essential service (which you can later rectify) is better than allowing a covert malicious one (which'll create needless work for you to contain).

    Can you provide screenshots of this happening?
     

Share This Page