Post pics of RETRO games you are playing

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by elvis, Aug 25, 2019.

  1. greencamel65

    greencamel65 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Asgard
    Can't tell due to the lighting, but I hope that's not 16:10 squished to 16:9.:tongue:
     
    elvis likes this.
  2. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    60,535
    Location:
    brisbane
    i believe it is a little stretched, might plug into the tele and force the aspect ratio back down.
     
  3. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    60,535
    Location:
    brisbane
    Ok connected to the plasma this time. Definitely stretched on the monitor.

    IMG_20190909_205621.jpg IMG_20190909_205109.jpg IMG_20190909_205124.jpg IMG_20190909_205211.jpg IMG_20190909_205218.jpg
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2019
    breech, pwlm1975, okclock123 and 2 others like this.
  4. nimmers

    nimmers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,204
    Location:
    Sydney
    IMG_20190908_205845.jpg
     
    okclock123 and elvis like this.
  5. treeplant

    treeplant Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    784
  6. bolex17

    bolex17 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,177
    Location:
    Adelaide, 5010
    Took the GBA Player for a solid spin tonight!

    [​IMG]
     
    power and elvis like this.
  7. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38,758
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I always need to turn the colour/saturation way down on my GBC games when I'm playing them on any regular TV or backlit screen. They were really made for reflective LCD (which is fine, that was the tech at the time) and playing them on modern displays is just way too overbearing.
     
  8. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    60,535
    Location:
    brisbane
    scanlines definitely help here. when i plugged the Lynx into the tele scanlines were a must.
     
    elvis likes this.
  9. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38,758
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'm generally playing my GBC stuff on a CRT (either the GameBoy Player on GC, or MiSTer). 240p natural scanlines, and even then, that GBC saturation has to come down.

    A fair few early GBA games are that way too. I notice a lot of emulators and things like the GBA Consolizer offer various "color modes" to compensate as well.

    Things get pretty fascinating for me as an anally retentive "colour accuracy is important" kinda guy when the reference point for colour moves around so much depending on hardware.

    And now Nintendo are bringing out a Switch console with a different white point / colour temperature, so it's happening all over again! Gah!
     
  10. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    60,535
    Location:
    brisbane
    yeah, i guess a lot will depend on the original screen too. Lynx screen was quite poor so alternate screens and vga out are just a massive upgrade.
     
  11. greencamel65

    greencamel65 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Asgard
    bolex17 Do you use the official boot disk or the homebrew gameboy interface? I've heard that the GBi has a lot better image quality etc.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38,758
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It's more the timing/lag. GBI gives you excellent options as to how accurate the GB/GBC/GBA timings are compared to the official software.

    Due to hardware limitations, the original GameBoy ran at 59.7Hz. For backward compatibility this was extended to the GBC and GBA as well. Only a small volume of TVs can handle a sync rate that far removed from 60.00Hz, so if you run those games "perfectly" you get problems.

    GBI lets you select different timing options and ways to handle the conversion (either buffering or re-timing), so that you can get the best experience on your particular display. I believe newer versions also have various upscaling options if it knows you've got some sort of HD or digital display (either the official component cables or recent homebrew digital cables).

    Ironically a GameBoy Player is pretty cheap on eBay, but the official disk will set you back a lot of money. A XenoGC mod (3 or 4 wires from memory, very easy to do) and a SD-card interface memory card will set you back around $30 from China, which is far cheaper than the official second hand disk *AND* a better gameplay experience.

    And bloody hell, I need to write FAQs on both GBA and GameCube!
     
    bolex17 likes this.
  13. bolex17

    bolex17 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,177
    Location:
    Adelaide, 5010
    Using the GBI loader method
     
  14. Utetopia

    Utetopia Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    BNE/TWMBA
    The last level before Jaquio is painfully hard without save states. Been 20 years + since i knocked that one over on the NES console aka Shadow Warrior.
     
  15. bolex17

    bolex17 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,177
    Location:
    Adelaide, 5010
    Got my triple bypass installed for the Megadrive this weekend so it was the perfect excuse to finally finish off Monster World IV

    [​IMG]
    Captured via OSSC at Line4X mode :D
     
    Grant and elvis like this.
  16. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38,758
    Location:
    Brisbane
    My aspect ratio OCD is having a hard time. :)
     
    nimmers likes this.
  17. pwlm1975

    pwlm1975 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    395
    Location:
    Logan, Qld
    Love the idea for this thread. I do a lot of retro gaming (Amiga, C64, PS1/PS2). Stunt Car Racer (1989, MicroStyle) is my favourite retro game of all time. It used to be especially fun to connect 2 Amigas with a null modem cable and race head to head.

    Stunt_Car_Racer.png
     
    Pierre32, Flamin Joe, Grant and 2 others like this.
  18. bolex17

    bolex17 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,177
    Location:
    Adelaide, 5010
    Oh don’t worry I was playing via a CRT, only using the OSSC for capture :p
     
    elvis likes this.
  19. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    60,535
    Location:
    brisbane
    active windows dude (I mean play on native HW!!!)i also used to play a metric butt tonne of Stunt Car Racer on the Amiga. that framerate kills me today, but it was half the experience of the game. It'd be a whole other beast on an accelerated Amiga I'm sure.
     
  20. pwlm1975

    pwlm1975 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    395
    Location:
    Logan, Qld
    Hey if it ain't broke... ;)

    Would love to but regrettably I sold my A500+ to purchase my first GENUINE IBM branded PC in 1997, with Windows 95, twin FDDs (count 'em!) and Netscape, interwebbed with an internal 26.6k MODEM. Simpler times...
     
    Vanne likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: