Post your Foxtel deal

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by Stooge007, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. wolfie81

    wolfie81 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    614
    Finally got around to renegotiation with Foxtel. 55 bucks with the essentials, sport, movies, and HD.
     
  2. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,674
    Location:
    Canadia
    Sounds about right for what you are getting.
     
  3. Radley

    Radley Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,252
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    Is it worth a new customer ringing Foxtel and asking for a deal? I'd go for $50 or $55 a month for HD sports pack.
     
  4. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,674
    Location:
    Canadia
    TBH, outside of the usual new customer promotion deals they do I don't think they will negotiate pricing with new customers. Happy to be corrected but all negotiated deals I see seem to come from existing customers.

    You might need to just sign up for a minimum period and then when that expires, threaten to cancel/leave.
     
  5. Radley

    Radley Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,252
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    Thanks mate, that's what I was sort of expecting. Since there is only a 1 month minimum this isn't too bad. I might give them a call and see how I go.
     
  6. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,674
    Location:
    Canadia
    Please do let us know how you go, especially if you do decide to ditch it after a month and try to negotiate at that point in time. Would be interesting to see how far you got after only one month of being with them and threatened to cancel.
     
  7. holdennutta

    holdennutta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,921
    Location:
    Brisbane
    With my favourite streaming guy not doing F1 again this season I'm half seriously looking at Foxtel...

    I'm on FTTP NBN and trying to make sense of their pricing crap.

    [​IMG]

    I'm presuming the offer period is 12mo? Not the first month only? It says lower down the first month fee is $45 for some reason...

    Do you have to use the Foxtel Hub thing if you have all your own network stuff happily set up already (Ubnt gear)?

    The video streams are over the fibre, right? I can't see anything mentioning sat dishes etc so presumably it's IPTV.

    It'll probably be cheaper/better to go one of the less straight and narrow overseas IPTV services that carry SkyF1 but the fiance wanted me to at least investigate the legal way :p

    Thanks all
     
  8. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,674
    Location:
    Canadia
    The way I read that was that it's $160/month for twelve months (the offer period) on contract i presume, then after that expires you pay month to month, no contract, $180/month.
     
  9. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    17,035
    Location:
    Perth
    that package is for broadband as well, do uyou want to swap providers?
     
  10. holdennutta

    holdennutta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,921
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Cool - that's how I interpreted it as well. But I think last time I looked then had some decent first month price then it sky rocketed after that.

    I have Skymesh atm 600gb @ 100mbit for $90/mo. Foxtel seems to have better Youtube HD stats that skymesh so I'm not opposed to swapping ISP as part of it.

    I just don't want to have to use Telstra's silly hub thing when I got ubnt stuff set up nicely.
     
  11. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    17,035
    Location:
    Perth
    I would think you'd have to use "their" box because it would have their connection info in it. The IQ box has a card in it, perhaps the broadband does too? :confused:
     
  12. xplod140

    xplod140 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,335
    Location:
    Melbun
    I don't really have any issues with YT through skymesh ever.
     
  13. holdennutta

    holdennutta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,921
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I went through about a month where it was impossible for anything above 240p to stream. Was a QLD issue I think. Resolved now.

    I've no issues with Skymesh.
     
  14. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,749
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    https://www.telstra.com.au/broadband/nbn

    ???
     
  15. TheBear21

    TheBear21 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,403
    Location:
    Central QLD
    About this time last year I called* to cancel my subscription. I was moving house and didn't really want to keep it, especially if it involved paying for a new install.

    End result was free install, basic, movies and HD for $36/month.

    This has just expired. Time to cancel again.

    * I called and told the automated system I wanted to cancel my account. Informed of a roughly hour and a half wait. Hung up and rang again. This time said to change package. Waited no more than 1 minute to be served. Lol.
     
  16. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,674
    Location:
    Canadia
    Lol, are you possibly suggesting they are using diversionary tactics to discourage users from not cancelling? :lol:

    No, not at all, that would NOT be how Foxtel operate, thanks.
     
  17. BuD

    BuD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,497
    Location:
    brisbane
    im on the home entertainment bundle and my mate just gave me a spare telstra TV roku box.
    if i activate it there no extra fee does anyone know by actually just activating it
    i basically want to use it for plex :)
     
  18. skymist

    skymist Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,049
    Location:
    S.E Suburbs, Melbourne
    I cancelled my service yesterday after approx 5 years.

    The last 12 months have been on reduced plans that were quite cheap but now I can't justify it.

    I really only had it for formula 1/motogp and there is other ways for that so nice to get rid of. :thumbup:
     
  19. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,674
    Location:
    Canadia
    How much are you now saving per month?
     
  20. holdennutta

    holdennutta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,921
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Haha I just had foxtel installed today. Basically for MotoGP/F1.

    Holy shit the IQ3 is a pig of a device. So fucking slow to achieve anything.
     

Share This Page