Post your Foxtel deal

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by Stooge007, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. OP
    OP
    Stooge007

    Stooge007 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    9,332
    Location:
    The Shire, Sydney
    this was a good opportunity to get more paying customers (by allowing a cheaper price point) and they've shot themselves in the foot

    idiots
     
  2. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    52,009
    Location:
    brisbane
    yeah they can't even keep up with the NRL pass (i know telstra but assume it's all the same shit). Glad there are "other ways" to stream the footy - I wouldn't pay for that shitty pass.
     
  3. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,558
    Location:
    Canadia
    :lol: Talk about some incredibly bad timing! How did you go in the end?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Stooge007

    Stooge007 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    9,332
    Location:
    The Shire, Sydney
  5. FuzwaldQO

    FuzwaldQO Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    889
    Location:
    Near Hobart...
    I certainly hope that borrowed time extends until we have decent internet and decent streaming services. Because right now, Foxtel satellite is unfortunately the only place I can watch all the sports I like and the shows I want. If I collected up memberships for everything I want to watch, and tried streaming them atm... my internet couldn't cope, and it would be dearer.
     
  6. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,558
    Location:
    Canadia
    Oh-oh.....oops! The blame game starts...

    "Game of Thrones: Foxtel points finger at HBO for season premiere bungle"

    http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-07-...ing-game-of-thrones-season-7-premiere/8718624

     
  7. clonex

    clonex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    17,399
    Location:
    north pole
    So only GOT didnt work or was the whole foxtel now service down?

    I wonder how many of these unhappy amateur social-commentators were on the free trial?
     
  8. Mynamewastaken

    Mynamewastaken Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Was only the live stream AFAIK. The On Demand worked fine for me last night. Might be some validity in a HBO problem.

    Unbelievably, it's one of the cheapest now. Costs more the more channels you want of course...
     
  9. bart5986

    bart5986 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,548
    Location:
    Brisbane
    So the foxtel stream uses HBO servers or something?

    Considering its standard definition I don't see how, HBO is 1080p.

    I think its all Foxtel's fault.
     
  10. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    12,667
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2017
  11. kEv_

    kEv_ Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    Adelaide
    i tried to watch the "anytime" at around 10pm but fell asleep, need to be up @ 5:30 for work, am gonna watch it in a minute
    the whole lot was down for me, i couldnt log in so cant use it, well, i could've watched sky news....:sick:

    heaps were i reckon, i love how they were on twitter "omfg i signed up today for 2weeksfree Got, AND I CANT GET IT!!" nerdrage, try having actually paid money for it!
    it certainly does, all the more reason HBO should sign up with netflix, if they had GoT i'd be back there in a second

    $54 per month for GoT & TWD(drama), docos, and sport + adverts, omfg the adverts

    its expensive.
    they need to deliver a much higher quality of service, and may have done too much damage this time
     
  12. Mynamewastaken

    Mynamewastaken Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Well like I said, the more packs, the more expensive. Foxtel Now starts at 10 bucks for the cheapest package. $15 for GOT and TWD.
     
  13. alexb618

    alexb618 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    8,466
    Location:
    adelaide
    i was able to watch the new game of thrones via my HBO account with no problems at all and i didnt hear anything about HBO customers having any problems with it. highly likely that foxtel are making up a story.
     
  14. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,558
    Location:
    Canadia
    That wouldn't be like Foxtel, how dare you.
     
  15. Diode

    Diode Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,710
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Obviously Australia's internet isn't quite ready for everyone. Streaming will become dominant once NBN is "complete" probably 5 years from now. Great improvements in compression also means video quality and bandwidth required to deliver it has been substantially reduced in recent times. As an example a DVD disc can hold a Netflix quality 1080p movie on it. Data links haven't needed to become faster to deliver 1080p video. 15 years ago watching 1080p on an ADSL link would have been considered impossible for the majority.
     
  16. FuzwaldQO

    FuzwaldQO Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    889
    Location:
    Near Hobart...
    Certainly doesn't help that my 25/5 fixed wireless reduces to 3/4 during peak times. Fuck the Liberals and their piece of shit NBN.
     
  17. clonex

    clonex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    17,399
    Location:
    north pole
    Didnt ALP set the cvc pricing originally, pretty sure its gone down under LNP regardless of how crap their strategy is. Lol
     
  18. nico6

    nico6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,332
    Location:
    melb.vic.au
    I'd be surprised if HBO doesn't have separate infrastructure for itself versus its streaming partners
     
  19. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,741
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Yeah but there is a good chance he wouldn't be on fixed wireless under Labor
     
  20. bart5986

    bart5986 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,548
    Location:
    Brisbane
    HBO doesn't stream it to Foxtel, that would be crazy.
     

Share This Page