Post your Rate My Cables here!

Discussion in 'Modding' started by mustkill, Sep 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mustkill

    mustkill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Since the first post, this thread has become really popular. Please keep posting your cable managements! and enjoy on commenting others. Start fixing your cables now!


    My case is Thermaltake Soprano DX

    It does not have many options for cable management... no holes, motherboard tray, and no room on the back either.

    Here is what i have done, please give comments. It took me 2 hours to get to this point. Thanks in advance and please post your thoughts

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2008
  2. jamesl33t

    jamesl33t Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    636
    Location:
    sydney
    I think you've done a really decent job with it, as that case doesn't have many cable management features.
    Also, welcome to OCAU!
     
  3. OP
    OP
    mustkill

    mustkill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Location:
    Melbourne
    thankyou and thanks for your comments

    more comments are welcome!
     
  4. kk1993

    kk1993 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Sydney
    i like it! i was thinking of getting the same case, until i heard about that cable management issue.
    just wondering, how are you holding up the bottom LED fan?
     
  5. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,155
    Location:
    Redwood Park, SA
    very sexy....
     
  6. mshagg

    mshagg Politburo

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    23,090
    Location:
    Adelaide
    You've done well, i have that case and it is a bugger to make the cables look tidy. I certainly never got close to what you've done there... but im looking to replace the case now as water cooling system is about to get a bit more trick.

    Perhaps some round sata cables? The flat ones are nearly impossible to get looking tidy.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    mustkill

    mustkill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Location:
    Melbourne
    lol

    some people asked the same question

    toothpick + blue tack

    i couldnt find stands to fold the fan up in midair and im too poor to afford a pci slot fan so i did this.. a simple temporary mod!
     
  8. fergusb

    fergusb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah I too have that case and it can be a bit of a bastard.
     
  9. hello_goodbye

    hello_goodbye New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    721
    Great job i can't do cable managment even if my case was built for that kind of stuff i just get SOOO frustated. GOOD JOB!
     
  10. Pyro

    Pyro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,682
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Not bad ..try working on it a bit more :thumbup:
     
  11. hotsuma

    hotsuma Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,076
    Location:
    Melb, CBD
    Good stuff, if there was any things i would change:

    Do something to hide that fan cable at the top a bit even if you just poke the loose wire under the motherboard

    If possible get a sata optical drive and piss off that IDE cable yuck

    If possible run the sata cables again and zip tie them in one group there a bit all over the place.

    Just bend that rear pannel usb cable so it follows the back wall of the case as shown in the green line, if you bend it so it follows just under the motherboard it should sit there with nothing to secure it. i mean under not behind the mobo.

    [​IMG]

    but im not trying to be a nazi its still nice work
     
  12. 2red

    2red New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Sydney 2000
    is there any space gap between the mobo tray and the right side panel cover?
    no offense mate..but i cant see any cable management on your case..
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2008
  13. enzo_450

    enzo_450 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,561
    Location:
    Brisbane Southside
    what was it like before?

    work on it some more

    surely you could zip up some of the cables to the drive bay somewhere to reduce the length dangling near the mobo....maybe zip the main power cable for the motherboard a bit tighter
     
  14. 2red

    2red New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Sydney 2000
    my previous built...its Gigabyte 3DAurora(old version)
    i just drilled some holes on the motherboard tray and run
    all the cables behind it,,,ive got only 5mm space behind the
    mobo tray..and i think you have enough space on your Soprano

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Taceo Corpus

    Taceo Corpus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Brisbane
    :shock:. That is all.
     
  16. mvagusta

    mvagusta Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Drilling holes and lining the case with sound absorbing foam is excellent, as seen on the bottome of page one :thumbup:

    If you don't want to put that much into it, then you can straighten the cables, and use cable ties or twist ties to hold all the wires in place. At the moment there's a bit of a spaghetti effect going on, with the random twists and turns. Organizing them all and grouping them together where practical, into straight lines and/or smooth bends, will make it look really nice.

    You must be carefull if you use twist ties however! They are more convient i think but most of them have metal inside so keep them away from the mobo & hdd's, etc and they aren't as pretty as cable ties.
     
  17. dicko

    dicko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Far North Queensland
    I have pretty much the same case and it is a bugger to work in, just so little room.
    Took me ages to rearrange things when I got my HD4870, and I am still not 100% happy. Just about to do some testing on some new Thermal Paste and Fans and will redo it all then.
    But for your job I think it is pretty good, hotsuma made some good points.
    Lastly I LOOOOOOOVE the fan at the bottom on blu tack and toothpicks.:lol:
     
  18. OP
    OP
    mustkill

    mustkill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Location:
    Melbourne
    thanks for ur tips

    great help
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 21, 2008
  19. OP
    OP
    mustkill

    mustkill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Location:
    Melbourne
    no there is no space

    and lets see you do better in this case....
     
  20. samsino

    samsino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW
    doesn't that videocard need an 8pin connector from the psu?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page