1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Power Saving device... Remote control 240v

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by BilboBoggles, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. BilboBoggles

    BilboBoggles Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Hi all,

    After buying a Jaycar power meter I was amazed to see just how much standby power some of my equipment uses. Obviously the best option is to unplug or switch off at the power point. Problem is that it's a pain in the neck to reach the power points in my study.

    Browsing through Bunnings the other day I found this
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    For around $39 (IIRC) you get one remote controller and three plug packs.

    I've now grouped each PC onto it's own power board including all accesories and plugged it into one of the plug packs. The controller is mounted using Velcro next to the light switch. It's very easy now to completely power off each PC and all of it's accessories.

    I beleive the plug packs use some power - but it's less than 1 watt - or right at the lowest level my power meater can measure.
     
  2. BenJ

    BenJ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hey, that is pretty neat.

    I will keep an eye out for them.

    BenJ
     
  3. junglist

    junglist Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Location:
    Launceston, Tasmania
    is that IR? i've been looking for something like that so i can control lights etc with my harmony remote
     
  4. OP
    OP
    BilboBoggles

    BilboBoggles Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    No - It's UHF based - so works through walls etc.
     
  5. Widowed

    Widowed Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    640
    Location:
    Adelaide
    We have four of these aswell.

    2x for computers + Accessories
    1x TV, Stero, DVD/VCR (Entertaining RM)
    1x TV, DVD (my room)

    :thumbup:
     
  6. ir0nhide

    ir0nhide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,471
    Location:
    Adelaide
    That's pretty damn awesome :thumbup:
     
  7. broox

    broox Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,600
    Location:
    Ad'laide SA
    very cool! i mite have to find me some of thems!
     
  8. Meddish

    Meddish Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    803
    Location:
    Newcastle
    there is also the same thing that runs the main's switch on a cable to a sorta lightswitch sorta thingy ive got one of these mounted in the bedroom so it kills PC+TV in one click! (and means i dont have to bend down to get to the stupid switch when there is a storm!!)
    also cuz its a switch it uses 0W when off!
     
  9. Imitation

    Imitation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,861
    That's pretty good.. handy. Good for the elderly or those hard to reach places for example.

    My parents looked at a display home not long ago and the builder put switches at waist height near where the TV would go for example.. so you can easily turn the power off at the switch for maybe two or three power points and turn off all of your AV equipment at once without bending over.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2008
  10. dbgeek

    dbgeek Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    I used to have one of those it worked well.
    Now I have a relay setup with hidden microswitches.
     
  11. Symon

    Symon Castigat ridendo mores

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,722
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD
    I wonder how much standby power those devices use? :tongue:
     
  12. Jay

    Jay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,389
    I think that's what he meant.
     
  13. LethalCorpse

    LethalCorpse Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,760
    Location:
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
    I was thinking the same thing till I read that. Seems they're not so bad. I know the UHF receiver modules do run on bugger all power, though there's probably a bit more draw when it's driving the SCR.

    EDIT: beaten...again...
     
  14. Badooleoo

    Badooleoo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Interference

    Excellent idea I might get a few of these myself.

    I wonder how many of these you can have before you start running into interference problems.

    Also if you know someone with these how easy would it be to spoof it.

    Also whats the range of these?
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2008
  15. LethalCorpse

    LethalCorpse Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,760
    Location:
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
    From the looks of this system, one kit is all you could use within the range of the remote. You could add extra receiver sockets, but they'd still be switched in three groups - ie channel 1 on one remote will switch all the channel 1s. Jaycar have some that you can have up to 255 selectable frequencies, but they're OEM relays, so you'd have to put them in a box with plug and socket, or mount them inside the controlled equipment.
     
  16. Badooleoo

    Badooleoo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Info on the Arlec RC3

    Went to the Arlec website and searched for RC3 and found it, also has the manual in PDF http://www.arlec.com.au/instruct/RC3.pdf


    It uses 433.92 MHz which is in the 70cm (UHF) amateur band and uses "advanced self-learning operation code ability" as the manual says. Still not sure on the interference but I might buy a couple if I can find some.
     
  17. Oosh

    Oosh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    9,280
    Location:
    Adelaide
    What's the limit on the load they can handle?

    And hopefully they're better put together than the Arlec timer I had, it just past 12 month warranty, and plastics inside cracked and fouled the timing gears.
     
  18. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,780
    Location:
    4109
    second photo kinda tells you, but you've got to look really close
     
  19. Suntzu

    Suntzu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,823
    Location:
    Canberra
    I got a cent-a-meter installed the other day after buying off ebay for $155 and its friggin awesome. Tells me my entire household power consumption in real time.

    On of these new gadgets about is just what i need to top it off. You wouldnt believe the power my AV gear draws on standby!
     
  20. Oosh

    Oosh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    9,280
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Damn you for not entertaining my lazy ways. I had the read the PDF! :D

    10A, 2400W, standard stuff, no worries.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: