Powershell script - creation of VM and install OS

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by Gunna, Mar 16, 2015.

1. Gunna

Gunna Member

I want to automate the process of creating and installing a VM on a hyper-V server.

I'm still learning powershell so it has taken me a while to get to this point and I did end up copying someone elses script for the prompting of the values as I couldnt get it working right.

I have created the script to create the VM:

So I have copied the server 2012 r2 ISO to the D drive of the hyper-v server and created an unattend.xml but not sure how to script that side of it to test it works.

Any help?

Edit: I found this https://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/scriptcenter/Convert-WindowsImageps1-0fe23a8f

It created a VHDX file from an ISO, testing it with my unattend file to see if it works.

Last edited: Mar 16, 2015
  2. PabloEscobar

PabloEscobar Member

Stop thinking of it as a one-step process.

First (which your script does), you define and create your VM (think of it as specing and buying hardware) this is separate from the operating system that will go on it.

Once the VM is created (you have bought your hardware), Then you can perform an unattended installation on it.

http://www.ragnarharper.com/howto_g...d-installation-of-windows-server-2012-r2.html seems like an OK guide for creating an one of customised iso.

Once you've got your iso, you can attach it with Set-VMDVDDRive and boot it up. (Start-VM). It should then finish the install and be ready to rock.

As a learning excersize its great, but would have no real carry-over into real world scenarios. In the real world, you would create and use Templates

3. chewbucca

chewbucca Member

you might be interested in reading up on Powershell DSC

4. OP
    OP
    Gunna

Gunna Member

Ok, decided to use a template VHDX

So I have created a CM that has all windows updates and will be offline.