Prob: Tracking share of Net Quota in ADSL sharehouse situation

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Raaagh, May 9, 2005.

  1. Raaagh

    Raaagh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    Adelaide,
    Im in a share house and three of us have gone in for ADSL with Westnet
    10 gig Peak, 10 Gig off peak
    which is
    3.3 Gig peak, 3.3 Gig off peak.

    I want to track my usage so I dont go over.

    All 3 use XP (I use Pro)



    Westnet Usage Grabber is good as it gets to total used from the westnet server.

    I Downloaded CostAware which sums all internet traffic works ok,I could even Deal witht he small amount of adaware IF it allowed for PEAK and OFF-PEAK.

    This is the main problem, maintaining to two seperate totals for peak and off peak that goes through my computer.

    Suggestions? The easier the better



    Also, Westnet claim that we went over out monthly quota in 5 days last month - I doubt it. I suspect it was an admin error, Didnt see any unaccounted traffic occuring on the hub (after we went over and got shaped mind you). What are the chances a trojan is resident and somehow accessed the internet without Cost aware detecting it?
    Taa
     
  2. brembo

    brembo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,785
    Location:
    Sydney
    You could geek out and get a linux box and get that going as a router (IPCop or smoothwall will do) then write some scripts for the built in RRDTools to monitor Peak and Off Peak useage based on IP or MAC address.

    How you'd go about this, is completely out of my depth.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2005
  3. Gumby

    Gumby Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,743
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I use to use a linux box with ipac-ng installed. Could easily do what your needing.
     
  4. charliebrown_au

    charliebrown_au New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,745
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia

    Net meter measures internet data used ..
    Du meter measures internet data used ..

    If you run a smoothwall linux router it will measure data used

    One solution would be limit everyone to 10 kb/sec
    Setup a pc for the house to use for downloading / uploading files and share the data downloaded for the whole house ...

    Make sure you run adware se and microsoft anti spyware to detect spyware ...

    Otherwise why not login to the isps website and check data useage ??

    OR organise a timetable when each person downlooads equal amount ?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Raaagh

    Raaagh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    Adelaide,
    Hmmm, thanks for the suggestions.

    Ill have a ponder.
     
  6. lovepig

    lovepig Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    664
    Location:
    Brisneyland
    ipac-ng is pretty sexy.
     
  7. MDKKnD

    MDKKnD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Netlimiter

    For XP machines, simply use Netlimiter.
    You can set your upload and download rates for each application or just overall net usage. It does all sorts of stats logging, and you can setup a scheduler to set different bandwidth limits.

    In general I mainly leech using eMule and Dap (v7) which both have bandwidth controls, although when I start trying to watch a couple of movie trailers in firefox and it uses all my 1.5Mb/s bandwidth I just use Netlimiter to restrict it allowing other people on the network to do their normal browsing.

    PS: If you run an Apache web server I have found that Netlimiter and most other programs can't detect Apache v2's traffic, where as running v.1.3.3.3 you can monitor and restrict the traffic as required.


    Michael.
     
  8. MDKKnD

    MDKKnD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Ohh yeah, nearly forgot. The website is www.netlimiter.com and the program is made by 'Lock Time' software.
    They are currently running a beta v2 at the moment, but I'm just using v1.30 (with no problems what so ever).
     
  9. wipeout

    wipeout Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,664
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  10. OP
    OP
    Raaagh

    Raaagh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    Adelaide,
    dats teh shit!

    Thanks to everyone also, maybei f I get time Ill setup a proper machine
     
  11. Marek

    Marek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Brisbane
    If you and your house mates visit alot of the same sites you would be better off with a dedicated box set up to cache pages and do what everyone else suggested.
    I know that when i spend a day browsing web pages heavily i go through about 100MB of data so it may save you quite a bit of quota if you have similar interests
     
  12. fad

    fad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,333
    Location:
    City, Canberra, Australia

Share This Page

Advertisement: