1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Project: DrawPC

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Mistikal, Nov 26, 2008.

  1. Mistikal

    Mistikal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,685
    Location:
    The Forgotten West
    Hi guys,

    The original DrawPC was first constructed around 5-6 years ago, by myself, and used on a daily basis. A time came when I had to retire the "case" (if you'd call it that) and move to a smaller system as the overall size of the DrawPC was too big for the area available.

    The DrawPC was the relegated to the spare room, where it has sat for a number of years, until now.

    Around 6 months ago, my father decided he was going to upgrade his PC to something a little spiffier, but hadn't decided what to do with his existing PC. As mine was very old and starting to show signs of neglect, I asked if he'd let me use it.

    Whilst shopping around on the net for a new case, it dawned on me - why not resurrect the old DrawPC, now that I have the space?

    Well here it is...

    The (slightly dated) system consists of:

    Intel Pentium 4 541J (C2D 3.2Ghz)
    4096MB DDR2-667 RAM
    Asus P5WD2-Premium Motherboard
    ATi Radeon X800-XT 256MB Video Card
    120GB + 300GB Seagate Hard Drives
    Pioneer DVD-RW
    420W ATX PSU
    Few other bits and bobs

    I did have a whole pile of pictures of the draws being modified from their original state, but they were lost in a hard drive crash around 2 years ago and have never been recovered.

    Here's how it sits today:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I hope to tidy things up a bit when I have some spare time, until then, it'll do :)

    andy
     
  2. serioussam10

    serioussam10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    gotta love those wheels...
     
  3. ford ftw

    ford ftw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,449
    That's great better than my attempt motherboard psu hdd sitting in draw with a hole for cables.:D
     
  4. deathsgt60

    deathsgt60 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    952
    Location:
    huntervalley
    that's pretty cool.
     
  5. japes

    japes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,540
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Nicely done.

    Can I ask the point of it though? Looks like a big unit, and for what benefit? To not have a case visible in your room?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Mistikal

    Mistikal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,685
    Location:
    The Forgotten West
    No point really, just wanted something a tad different :)

    Everything actually on it, like wheels, grills, etc etc... all dated stuff. Need to get some new fans for the front, as one of them is dead.

    andy
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Mistikal

    Mistikal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,685
    Location:
    The Forgotten West
  8. kathshan

    kathshan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Medowie NSW 2318
    hey there mate nice mod
    couple of suggestions bit of spiral binding would work wonders on those cables
    and keep an eye on the council clean ups for an old atx and hack it up for the psu backplate and use in yours a fascia panel
    all in all nice mod and plenty of patience something i dont have with my build at the moment
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Mistikal

    Mistikal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,685
    Location:
    The Forgotten West
    The main problem I have with the PSU is that the wood is rather thick, and it's hard to find screws that reach all the way thru to the PSU, which is why the ol' Cable Ties came in handy ;) I used to have 4 screws that reached, but have lost them over the years.

    I'm looking at getting a better PSU over the coming weeks, and I'll be sleeving the cables (if I don't buy one already done).

    I'm also thinking of making the cables really long, so I can put them where I want them to go with no issues on length, just to tidy stuff up.

    andy
     
  10. kathshan

    kathshan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Medowie NSW 2318
    tell me what length screws you need i have some longer ones lying around from previous projects
    cheers shane
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: